SUBMIT ABOUT FAQ
PEOPLE COMPANIES VENUES
LOGIN NEW USER PRODUCTIONS
REVIEWERS SIX DEGREES
A User-Driven Site for Theater in Atlanta, Georgia
Godspell
a Musical
CATEGORY : COMEDY DRAMA IMPROV CHILDREN MUSICAL
by Conceived by JOHN-MICHAEL TEBELAK. Music and New Lyrics by STEPHEN SCHWARTZ

COMPANY : Big Top Productions
VENUE : Big Top Theatre [WEBSITE]
ID# 1226

SHOWING : April 08, 2005 - April 30, 2005

[REVIEW THIS PRODUCTION]

PRODUCTION DESCRIPTION

The show takes place here, and now, at the place you need to be. The story is based on the Gospell according to Matthew.


CAST & CREW LIST
Musical Director Annie Cook
Director Robert Hadaway
Choreographer Jennifer Smiles
Lighting Operator John Carucci
Lighting Design Jon Liles
Costume Design Stephanie L. Riehle
Guitar Norm Ficke
Bass Guitar Paul Grav
Keyboards Megan Hodge
Percussion Danny Paschall
Hunter Hunter Aldridge
Susan Susan Brown
Izzy Izzy Hedges-Goettl
Brennen Brennen Holcombe
Melissa Melissa Manning
John The Baptist/Judas Iscariot/David David Short
Ralphy Ralph Stinehelfer
Austin Austin Tijerina
Jesus Chad Tindale
Click to Submit Cast & Crew Info for this production
REVIEWS

[REVIEW THIS PRODUCTION]

Great job!
by lady_bugga_boo
Thursday, May 5, 2005
4.0
I have seen Godspell a number of times, and have also been involved in a lot of theater productions. I think it is unfair to be so judgemental of this show with comparisons to the top dollar productions of Broadway-Across-America. Those who are so negative should remember that this is a small theater, and in my opinion, did a lot with the limitations that a small theater has.

My absolute favorite actor in the production was Chad Tindale. It was so great to read his bio and see that this was his first production! I hope he reads this! You were fantastic---great job for a first production. I'm glad that your friend encouraged you to share your talent with the community. You're definitely not difficult to look at either! ;)

There were many great actors in the production, as well as a few that need to work on their skills, but being involved and learning from each other will make them better! Keep up the good work! [POST A COMMENT REGARDING THIS REVIEW]
Great Show
by Gumshu
Thursday, April 28, 2005
0.0
Great performance! I totally enjoyed this show. I might be a bit biased because I have enjoyed the Godspell music for years. I liked the high energy, bright colors, the songs, the dancing and the audience interaction. This is one of the better perfomances that I have seen, and I have seen quite a few. The actors do a great job making it look like they are having as much fun as the audience, but this show involves a lot of hard work. If you forget they are working and forget they are actually "characters" then they have done their jobs. For the person who was annoyed and suggested drugs to one of the actors, all I can say is great job to that particular actor. She apparently forgot that there is a difference between the actor and the character! Too bad the showing is closing soon as it seems to have sparked alot of attention on this website. [POST A COMMENT REGARDING THIS REVIEW]
It Was Just Alright
by Molly
Wednesday, April 27, 2005
3.0
I'm with Katydid on this one. This was not that good of a show. And Theatre-Fan's raving review makes me question either who they know in the show or whether they see much quality theatre. I also hesitated to review this show because I have seen quite a few really good quality shows at Big Top and feel that this one was a fluke that it was a little poorer quality. This theatre is run by very professional and talented people, and I really want this theatre to succeed and don't want to deter patrons from seeing future Big Top shows. I have seen Godspell performed many times, including one with "Okely". Although this is not the worst production of this show I have seen, it isn't the best by far either. The flow of the show was off. It seemed to me like the actors were just going through the motions and saying lines rather than really living their characters. The vocals with the exception of Melissa Manning were just OK, a few kind of bad. However, I was also very impressed as to the improvement of Ralph's voice from previous productions. One of the other actors though annoyed me to the point that I could barely stand watching. Someone needs some Ridilin. And as to the whole Godspell controversy, get over it! If it offends you, don't go see it. And also to Theatre-Fan, Little General/Cobb Playhouse is not under new management. They moved to Acworth. Big Top is a totally separate theatre from Little General/Cobb Playhouse. They just happened to move into the space that was previously occupied by LGP/CPS. [POST A COMMENT REGARDING THIS REVIEW]
to Molly by Biddy
I don't agree with you at all as to the quality of this show, but I do respect your opnion because it is obvious that you actually did see the show. Not the case for the person you "agree" with. Once again, I have to say that the quality of this cast and their vocals far exceeded my expectation or the expectations of the other audience members that I spoke to, when I saw the show. There will always be somebody that doesn't like a show and hope they won't change anything because of your remarks.
One of the most entertaining community shows I've seen
by theater-fan
Sunday, April 24, 2005
5.0
I went to see this show on 4/23/05. I had not been to this theater location since it changed nanmes and management (from Little General). I was expecting to see the same accomodations and sporadic show quality I saw in prior Little General years. I was stunned.

The entire facility was comletely redesigned. Very clean and inviting.

I can honestly say that this is the most fun show for the audience of all ages probably from 5 to adults. It is filled with constant movement, bright colors,
astounding choreography. To top it off the qualtiy of almost every cast members performance was outstanding.

Somehow, they seem to have attracted the perfect actor/actress for each position.

The most amazing thing is the quality of the music and vocal singing. There is a live band and as most everyone knows numerous solo and choral numbers. I have not encountered this professional level of musicians and singers in any community production before. It compared favorably with shows (and even better than some) that I've seen professionally produced at the FOX theater

If ever there was a musical community play that could be called an unexpected "sleeeper" (i am sure most of you know this ternm means somdthing or someone who you would never expect to excel to such a degree) this has to be it.

I am thankful that I took a chance to see it on a whim. I almost missed it as the program shows only 2 more shows next Friday and Saturday night.

If you miss this show, you will miss one of the all-time entertainment values and one of the nost fun theater experiences you could have.

My only criticism I find perplexing. Despite the amazing show quality the audience number was surprisingly small. Only 20 to 30 I would guess. A full house would have added even more to the festive environment provided by the cast. Perhaps like me, most people are not aware of the theaters existence and location or were put off by the less than inviting accomodations when I last saw a show at that spot a year or so ago and left extremely disappointed in the show quality (I last saw Wizard of Oz). At that time the set design was extremely poor, the acting was somewhat less than you would expect even at a community theater, and the singing vocalists were weak and frequently off key.

I can only hope that this show is representative of their future productions in terms of quality. If so, I have found a new entertainment source in the community and will be back often.

I can't speak to the future but at least for this show my advice is:

DON'T MISS THIS VERSION OF GODSPELL.

I have seen other Godspell shows at community theaters, schools, and theFOX theater. I thisk probably a total of 6 or 7 different times.

To my surprise, I can honestly say that this one was the most fun and entertaining. I promise if you can go before it closes, don't hesitate to take your kids. In a musical that I generally don't think of as fun for all ages. The kids in attendance were completely enthralled and having fun. No talking, squirming, or cries to go home.

Good luck to the theater and to this cast in particular. Thanks for a great evening. [POST A COMMENT REGARDING THIS REVIEW]
I can't see this, but I so wish I could by Okely Dokely
I am in mourning that I won't get a chance to see this. Godspell is my 3rd favorite musical, and I have no doubt that Mr. Hadaway and crew have gone all out with this production. Know that you all have my best wishes for a great rest of the run, though.
On the Other Hand .... by Dedalus
... I find "Godspell" to be one of the most unpleasant and offensive pieces of theater ever created. I've started to watch 3 different production over the years (as well as the movie) (I keep going back because I like one or two of the songs), and, no matter how well produced and performed, it comes to that point in the second act that judges any non-Christian and finds them wanting. It's at this point I usually walk out in a huff. I would find it a lot more palatable if the characters weren't all such blithering non-entities, or if anyone showed a doubt that there was anything more to Christianity than finding happiness and having mindless faith in "the savior." I love "Superstar" for these very reasons -- it's all about doubt and questioning and understanding what a "Christian" Value Presupposition is all about. I'd be interested in hearing how other non-Christians react to this play...

Brad
Brad... by mooniemcmoonster
This show is based upon the Gospel according to Matthew I believe. Of course its going to have that effect. This is a Christian show...unlike "Superstar" which points out the flaws in Christianity. Its not how the production is done...its the way its written. When you have a show based upon a specific chapter of the Bible that's about Jesus and his life and his crucifiction this is what you get.
godspell by movintoofast
you have to understand, godspell is just a piece of theater. not everyone likes every show. And as theatre people, we all tend to have strong opinions (heh), but it is over all still a fun show. And as a previous commenter pointed out, its only one book of the bible.

Austin
Smug Smug Smug by Dedalus
Actually, it's not as much an adaptation of Matthew as it is a "celebration" of the mythology of Christianity at the expense of its true philosophy and value. And any show which, in affect, constantly screams at you "I'm Okay But You Suck" is not a "Fun Show" -- it's an exercise in self-righteous smugness that glorifies Brainlessness.
I have to agree....for the most part by JasonMeinhardt
As a theatre lover/performer, I enjoy Godspell for its music. That's it. I have been involved in 2 productions of it, however, would never pay to see it for the reasons Brad has mentioned. I find it a bit offensive as well (as a "non-Christian"). I usually try to keep my personal feelings out of things when I see a show, but its made hard when the show shoves it in your face, as Godspell does. It is definitely LOW on my list of musicals, but that's just my opinion. It is obviously a VERY popular show and when done well, for a few moments, you can just sit back and enjoy. But as Brad stated, the second act hits and hits you hard.
To "Brad" by Biddy
I find your comments on the musical Godspell to be amuzing at the very least. You are not just a "non-Christian" you are a practicing athiest. There is a difference. An non-Christian just does not believe, whereas as athiest spends his whole life trying to "disprove" Christianity. Don't you know many have tried over the last 2000 years, men and women much more articulate that you and they have failed to stamp out Christianity. A non-Christian would just take the show for its entertainment value or not see it at all. An athiest will see it over and over again and make comments on the theater review page. Give us all a break and just don't see it again. I'm sure there is another song out there that you can enjoy! Obviously, you did not see this performance you just feel the need to comment on the musical itself. Do you go around looking for places to voice your opinion on this play? Move on.
by JasonMeinhardt
Wow Brad, now you're an atheist! I haven't even been called that one yet! :) Biddy, I don't recall Brad saying he does not believe in God or a higher being than himself. You may want to check the definition of the word before calling someone a harsh word like that. Neither he or I said that we did not believe in a higher being, etc. We just stated that in the case of a particular musical, it has a tendency to be thrust in your face. No disrespect to you at all. I just thought it was a bit of an assumption and a harsh one at that to say that Brad is an atheist.
lighten up by andy
I think some people may be missing the point of good theatre. Sure it can deliver a message and make you think. I personally see theatre for the entertainment. I don't go out thinking, " I want to be intellectually challenged", no, I go thinking, "I want to do something fun tonight". I am born and raised catholic, am I a good catholic? Not so much. I don't think Brad was saying he was an atheist, after all, aren't atheist just people who don't know what they believe? I think we should just lighten up a little and enjoy live theatre instead of analyzing it so much.
A Parallel by Dedalus
I appreciate Jason's defense of me, but the fact is, I am an Atheist, and don't consider it an insult to be called one. As more and more is discovered about the universe, both at the "Macro" level (cosmology) and the "Micro" level (Quantum Physics), it gets harder and harder to see a "guiding hand." Once I let go of my belief in God, an interesting thing happened -- life suddenly became more precious and more beautiful, and my values and choices became more important, not just a reaction to "authority" or "revealed truth."

But, to rationalize why I brought this discussion up in the first place (and it may be a good idea to move it to the forum), consider this parallel -- Someone creates a lively, "fun" musical about how wonderful it is to be white, or male, or "non-handicapped." Although it may not express explicitly the "You Suck" part of the equation, imagine watching that musical from "outside." Then you may see why this touches such an emotional button in me.

That's why "pride" is included in the "7 Deadly Sins." Yes, it seems right when it is associated with an accomplishment of some sort, but it always and inevitable carries that "you suck" subtext. I certainly fall victim to this "blindness" myself. Which is why I appreciate it when my practicing-Catholic wife calls me on it. :-)

Anyway, thank you all for your comments!

Brad
isn't this what theater is for? by mark
theater is successful when it compels us to reflect about ourselves and our culture. theater is meaningful when it forces us to reconcider who we are and what we value. theater does this in many ways and in many levels. but sometimes the best theater makes us uncomfortable.

i remember seeing 'the late henry moss' earlier this year at the essential playright fesitval. i had an alocholic father like the one portrayed in that show. it literally made me uncomfortable to watch. but i haven't stopped thinking about the play ever since.

and isn't this what theater is all about? if you're uncomfortable, than the playright, the lyricists and the performers have all done their job.
Yes and No, Mark by M Rydzynski
You make an excellent point. However, the primary mission of theatre is to entertain. Everything else is secondary.
To M Rydzynsky by JasonMeinhardt
I know this has nothing to do with Godspell, but thought I'd put it here next to your comment. "Forum" has only a couple more weeks left and would love for you to see it and **gulp** see what you think of it. :) Ends May 7th. Hope to see you there! :)
One of the most entertaining community shows I've seen
by theater-fan
Sunday, April 24, 2005
5.0
I went to see this show on 4/23/05. I had not been to this theater location since it changed nanmes and management (from Little General). I was expecting to see the same accomodations and sporadic show quality I saw in prior Little General years. I was stunned.

The entire facility was comletely redesigned. Very clean and inviting.

I can honestly say that this is the most fun show for the audience of all ages probably from 5 to adults. It is filled with constant movement, bright colors,
astounding choreography. To top it off the qualtiy of almost every cast members performance was outstanding.

Somehow, they seem to have attracted the perfect actor/actress for each position.

The most amazing thing is the quality of the music and vocal singing. There is a live band and as most everyone knows numerous solo and choral numbers. I have not encountered this professional level of musicians and singers in any community production before. It compared favorably with shows (and even better than some) that I've seen professionally produced at the FOX theater

If ever there was a musical community play that could be called an unexpected "sleeeper" (i am sure most of you know this ternm means somdthing or someone who you would never expect to excel to such a degree) this has to be it.

I am thankful that I took a chance to see it on a whim. I almost missed it as the program shows only 2 more shows next Friday and Saturday night.

If you miss this show, you will miss one of the all-time entertainment values and one of the nost fun theater experiences you could have.

My only criticism I find perplexing. Despite the amazing show quality the audience number was surprisingly small. Only 20 to 30 I would guess. A full house would have added even more to the festive environment provided by the cast. Perhaps like me, most people are not aware of the theaters existence and location or were put off by the less than inviting accomodations when I last saw a show at that spot a year or so ago and left extremely disappointed in the show quality (I last saw Wizard of Oz). At that time the set design was extremely poor, the acting was somewhat less than you would expect even at a community theater, and the singing vocalists were weak and frequently off key.

I can only hope that this show is representative of their future productions in terms of quality. If so, I have found a new entertainment source in the community and will be back often.

I can't speak to the future but at least for this show my advice is:

DON'T MISS THIS VERSION OF GODSPELL.

I have seen other Godspell shows at community theaters, schools, and theFOX theater. I thisk probably a total of 6 or 7 different times.

To my surprise, I can honestly say that this one was the most fun and entertaining. I promise if you can go before it closes, don't hesitate to take your kids. In a musical that I generally don't think of as fun for all ages. The kids in attendance were completely enthralled and having fun. No talking, squirming, or cries to go home.

Good luck to the theater and to this cast in particular. Thanks for a great evening. [POST A COMMENT REGARDING THIS REVIEW]
Huh by katydid
I'm sorry. This show is not that good. I won't review because it is so poor, but I am having trouble letting such great comments be the only ones posted.
katydidn't by mark
thats a total cop-out. if you really saw the show, shware your thoughts. and be constructive.
katydid by movintoofast
i would honestly love to know your opinion of the show. feel free to email me at nevergrow07@aol.com. and like I have said before, everyone is entitled to their own opinion.

Austin
Godspell by Biddy
I absolutely loved this show. While Godspell has never been my favorite musical, this production is absolutely fabulous. The cast is very talented. They sound better than the recorded version of the original cast. The show is fun and upbeat and you will find yourself signing all the way home. It is truly amazing to see a small community theater put together a totally professional show that compares to any Broadway version. I will be watching future markees for the names of these cast members! Great Job!
to Andy by bellsplayer
No, an atheist believes there is no higher power, no god (or God)--as a monotheist believes in only one god (or God) and a polytheist believes in many.

Agnostics believe that one can not know if there is a higher power.

Jews, Muslims and believers of many other religions believe in one or more higher powers but are not Christians. This certainly does not make them atheists.

jd
a beautiful production
by Nettie
Saturday, April 9, 2005
4.0
The bright costumes, the seemingly unending amount of energy on stage, the constant quick pacing of the play, the music, the interaction with the audience, the message--- wow. Words just fall short when I attempt to describe it. It's a beautiful show.

I did not know what to think of the grape juice passed out at intermission, but this is the only thing I truly can say I wasn't sure that I liked. It was an incredible, moving, beautiful performance handed to the audience by a talented cast that never seemed to rest for a moment, not even at intermission. (actors were out and about seemingly in character speaking to guests during intermission!)

Great job big top! :)

[POST A COMMENT REGARDING THIS REVIEW]


[REVIEW THIS PRODUCTION]

CLOSING SOON
Crossing Delancey
by Susan Sandler
Alliance Theatre Company
NOW PLAYING
Another Naughty and Nice Holiday Cabaret
by Lynna Schmidt
Academy Theatre
Cardboard Piano
by Hansol Jung
Actor's Express
Crossing Delancey
by Susan Sandler
Alliance Theatre Company
Midnight at the Masquerade
by The Murder Mystery Company
The Murder Mystery Company in Atlanta
Miss Nelson Is Missing!
by Joan Cushing
Georgia Ensemble Theatre
Murder on 34th Street
Agathas: A Taste of Mystery
The Gift of the Magi 2.0
by N. Emil Thomas
Actors Theatre of Atlanta

©2012 TheaterReview.com. All rights reserved.