SUBMIT ABOUT FAQ
PEOPLE COMPANIES VENUES
LOGIN NEW USER PRODUCTIONS
REVIEWERS SIX DEGREES
A User-Driven Site for Theater in Atlanta, Georgia
The Bad Eggs
a Sketch Comedy Show
CATEGORY : COMEDY
by The Bad Eggs Writers...

COMPANY : Kudzu Playhouse [WEBSITE]
VENUE : Kudzu Playhouse [WEBSITE]
ID# 945

SHOWING : May 28, 2004 - July 30, 2004

[REVIEW THIS PRODUCTION]

PRODUCTION DESCRIPTION

This is a brand new sketch comedy group boasting the talents of Paige Anderson, Andrew Durand, Tad and Nick Arapoglou, Jimi Kocina, Eva Peskin, Amber Moorer, and Dan Weiner. There are spoofs on Lord of the rings, charlie brown, friends...and more, as well as original comedy. This show is Rated PG-15 and starts every friday and saturday night at kudzu playhouse around 10:40...there is NO reason not to come check this out as this is one of the most hilarious groups you will see in atlanta.


CAST & CREW LIST
Cast Tad Arapoglou
Stage Hand Melissa Michele Goodfellow
Costumer Stephan Parms
Cast Michael Isaac Wolmer
Stage Manager Michael Wolmer
Cast Paige Anderson
Cast Nick Arapoglou
Cast Andrew Durand
Cast Jimi Kocina
Cast Amber Moorer
Cast Dan Weiner
Click to Submit Cast & Crew Info for this production
REVIEWS

[REVIEW THIS PRODUCTION]

Good actors, but writing needs work
by boohooyah
Wednesday, August 11, 2004
1.0
I have to say that all the actors in this show have promise, but the writing on this show was not something to write home about at all. I'd actually rate the performance more like a 3 (there were a couple very good sketches in there), but this board seems so packed with friends of the group that I figure I need to do something to draw attention.

Truth is that the writing seemed very, very juvenile, like they're aiming for a middle school audience. The humor was over-the-top and lacking in clever verbal comedy (with the exception of the Matrix sketch). It seemed to lean far too much on the strength of the actors, especially the skinny blonde guy, to carry writing that did not vary much in style from skit to skit. Nearly every skit starts off promising, but then drags on the joke far too long. Many skits have the actors break out of character, killing the momentum of some scenes.

But I want to end on a good note. There were flashes of writing talent in nearly every sketch, and if the writer can focus himself a bit more, he could really make something good. I'm interested to see if they'll be back next year. [POST A COMMENT REGARDING THIS REVIEW]
rate what you think by andy
I have to say that to give a show a 1 when you say it deserved a 3 is a little ridiculous. For you to give a rating of 1 to offset the 5's, is the same as someone giving it a 5 to offset the 1's. I think the purpose of the skits was to draw in mainly a highschool age group. I don't want to start a war, just wanted to say that you should give a rating you think it deserves.
LOL!!! by TedKennedy
LOL YOU ARE SO FUNY AND COOL FOR GIVING THE EGGZ A 1 COZ ITS JUST THERE FRENDS WHO GAVE THEM GUUD REVYOOOOS. WHICH IS FUNY COZ THEY DONT EVIN NO A THIRD OF THE PEEPLE WHO REVYOOED THEM. YOU ARE SOO COOOL. I WISH I COULD BE YOU.
I Agree by Kari Hess
I Agree with everyone: I agree with Brandy that you should rate what you think. I agree with the reviewer (boohooyah) that these actors are extremely gifted & that the writing @ times was not quite up to the same level. Actually I think that most of the time the concepts for the skits were good just that they were carried too far or too long. A great first effort for writing and performing skit comedy on a weekly basis. Something to grow on.

(Dan-settle down)
My opinion by PeteHollis
I was only fortunate enough to catch the first performance of the Bad Eggs, so I'm not sure if the quality of the writing changed (but judging on the reviews throughout I don't see how it could have). Everyone is entitled to their opinion, but from my end I thought that writing seemed very 'in' and what is growing to be popular now. Their spoofs on Charlie Brown and Lord of the Rings are the kind of things that get air time on MTV or Comedy Central. And while that's not particularly channels I would watch, it seems to be what they are striving for. My song loves dumb and dumber, and I think that is the most juvenile writing in the world, but hey, it's funny! And if comedy makes you laugh, any way that it can, I think it's got to be a success.
If I could rate it higher, I would
by JasonMeinhardt
Friday, July 30, 2004
5.0
I am kicking myself for not going to see these guys every weekend. Unfortunately, rent must be paid, so I had to work. But I am very happy I was able to attend their "Best Of" show. I had the privilege of seeing the first installment of "The Bad Eggs" and as you can see in my review, I thought it was amazing. However, seeing this show, makes me wish there was a higher rating than a 5 on here.

I know some of you "cynics" are saying "Look everyone! MORE hype for a show at Kudzu!!" All I have to say is: these extremely talented young comics deserve even more hype and I only wish that they were not all returning to school and so Bad Eggs will have to wait until next year (I hope that is the plan). I laughed harder at these sketches than I have since seeing SNL in NY live. I can't stand SNL on TV. At least not since the most recent glory days with Phil Hartman, Chris Farley, etc. The writing boardered on genius and the performances surpassed it. Yes, these are all friends of mine and never have I been more proud to say so than I was last night.

They parodied everything from The Matrix, Harry Potter, George W., and of course, Lord of the Rings. The characters were well thought out, the timing was amazing, and Andrew, Nick, and Jimmy have to be the ugliest "women" I have ever seen onstage! Folks, if you miss this, you will be missing out on some of the best sketch comedy you will see in Atlanta. I hate it that I have to say goodbye soon to some of my closest friends who are in this show but I know that they will make something of themselves if this show is any clue.

Atlanta, do yourselves a favor and treat your funny bone to "The Bad Eggs". Only two more nights (Fri and Sat @ 10:40) and you will have to wait until next summer. Trust me...don't wait! Come see it before its too late!

To the departing "Eggs": Good luck to you all and congratulations on a job well done.
~J~ [POST A COMMENT REGARDING THIS REVIEW]
OK Jason . . . by cathead67
I'll let you get away with it this time . . .
Thanks cat.... by JasonMeinhardt
I knew you would hop on the "hype" comment. :)
The 3rd time around...
by GaTchFan4
Saturday, July 17, 2004
5.0
I haven't been to the Bad Eggs for a while, but to comment on the last review made, I was fortunate enough to hear the B.O. song by Mr.Durand and Mr.Arapoglou live in show, and it definitely did not dissapoint. I also can't lie that I was a little too excited when I heard they were making a CD out of those songs.

This week wasn't the strongest they've had, but it was still better than the first time I went. The cast seems to have lost a couple of its pieces and added new one's which has seemed to help in some areas. I do agree there are moments of 'dull' time where parts probably could have been cut out.

That being said, I was definitely just as engaged watching the cast as I was when I went last month. I appreciated the Haley Joel Osment sketch and the parody of that kid who fainted during the spelling bee recently. However, nothing was better than Mr.Arapoglou & company's ridiculous spoof on Forrest Gump. I am a huge fan of that movie and can probably recite every line, and every member in the cast had their moments. Forrest really shined though.

I can't wait for the best of! [POST A COMMENT REGARDING THIS REVIEW]
cute, clever, and a little over-hyped
by Okely Dokely
Saturday, July 17, 2004
4.0
I enjoyed this, but it wasn't anywhere near the religious experience that all the buzz has been suggesting. I sat in on a few minutes of a rehearsal they had during the week, and I was saddened that I didn't get to hear the song that Andrew and Nick were recording. It was a poppy, Star 94, Evan and Jaron style song about a girlfriend with bad B.O. Although the show closed with Mr. Durand and Mr. Arapoglou performing, sans shirts, a spirited Green Day style cover of "My Heart Will Go On" from Titanic, I was disappointed by the omission of the B.O. song.

I've always had a bit more of a soft spot for improv then sketch comedy. I did a show with 2 of the cast members in this, and I know they are incredible comedians. The stuff that happened backstage was funnier than anything I saw from the Bad Eggs last night. Not to say I didn't like this. I applaud them for writing their own stuff (I think), trying stuff out, and spending their whole summer weekends getting out there and seeing how it flies. There were many impressions done, most of which were dead on. They can do Michael Jackson, Haley Joel Osment, John Lennon (once I realized Andrew was doing John Lennon and not Elton John), and one performer in particular made the best argument for getting hired as one of the guys in Queer Eye who helps out the straight guy. I have admired and have been a fan of the work of Paige Anderson, Andrew Durand, Jimi Kocina, and Nick Arapoglou for a couple of years now. They don't know it, but they are an inspiration to me as an actor, and are 4 of the few that make me feel like I'm a better performer because I've seen them. These Bad Eggs have a couple of dull moments and skits that go on a little too long, but I encourage you all to go to their final week, which is The Best of the Bad Eggs. You owe it to yourself to see some of what the young, up and coming talent has to offer. [POST A COMMENT REGARDING THIS REVIEW]
Just my 2 cents as usual . . . by cathead67
A Kudzu production a little overhyped? Whatever could you mean? Okely, I appreciate that you call 'em as you see 'em! ; )
WOW
by LDO
Saturday, July 3, 2004
5.0
I am really impressed with all of the actors in the bad eggs they all were hilarious i have see some of them in other productions and it is hard to tell it is the same person, they can go from serious to hilarious in seconds my only question is how did they keep from laughing themselves the stuff is so funny so i say keep it up to the writers and actors of the bad eggs!!! [POST A COMMENT REGARDING THIS REVIEW]
Very Nearly All They're 'Cracked' Up To Be
by Rizzo
Thursday, July 1, 2004
4.0
I stayed at the Kudzu Playhouse after viewing A Midsummer Night's Dream to see the sketch comedy show, not at all knowing what to expect. The ticket price was a little high, but I later learned that it is less for students, whom I would guess are the Egg's target audience. The Bad Egg's show went very well; each performer seems to be talented in many different areas, which made it especially funny. However, I did have one complaint: just a small amount of the material seemed familiar, something too like a skit on MadTV or an episode of Southpark. Maybe coincidence, however, and the show was very funny nonetheless. [POST A COMMENT REGARDING THIS REVIEW]
AWESOME!
by MuchLuvBB
Monday, June 14, 2004
5.0
One of my friends asked me to come see these kids because she had seen it a couple weeks ago. So I went last weekend and it was absolutely HILARIOUS! They did a great scene that made fun of all the Mentos commercials that had me rolling, and they also did a mockery of the new Harry Potter movie. This was one of the funniest shows Ive ever been to and now that I know what its about Im DEFINITELY going to see it again. Come check these Bad Eggs out if you havent already, you will love it! [POST A COMMENT REGARDING THIS REVIEW]
Awesome.
by GaTchFan4
Tuesday, June 8, 2004
5.0
Hey, honestly I'm not a huge theater person and never have been. The only reason I'm on this website is because my roomate is and told me this would be a good way to help out these guys. I saw the Bad eggs on Saturday night. I've never been a fan of all those weird improv shows. But someone ;-) convinced me it was SKETCH comedy and wouldn't be such a drag. Someone was right. I was doubling over from laughter the entire time. I lost it right from the beginning when they did a spoof on oprah. That girl was HILARIOUS! The other highlight had to have been the Oasis spoof. And if what I hear is true (that the show changes every single week,) I'm definitely coming back. This show is better than paying 8 (freakin') 50 to go to a movie that sucks. Take it from me, this is real entertainment. [POST A COMMENT REGARDING THIS REVIEW]
My stomach still hurts....
by JasonMeinhardt
Tuesday, June 1, 2004
5.0
I know this is a “biased” review and normally, I would give my reviews an “NR” rating, but I felt that it would be unfair to the members of “Bad Eggs” if I did. Not only does this troupe deserve a high rating, it deserves many, many words of praise. I’ve known most of these talented actors for a long time. One, Andrew Durand, is practically a little brother of mine and every time I see him do something else, I get prouder and prouder. This show was no exception. I haven’t laughed that hard at a comedy troupe since I was fortunate enough to see SNL in New York a few years back. With no set, minimal costumes, etc. these talented actors performed everything from a twisted version of “The Peanuts” that would make Charles Schultz spin right out of his grave. Tolkein would be joining him if he saw the Eggs’ take on the unsaid relationship between Frodo and Sam. They even topped the evening off with a song, which I was lucky to hear at my b-day party, but still laughed my ass off when I heard it again.

These kids are some of the most talented comedic actors you will see in Atlanta. They put a lot into coming up with these sketches and it shows. The only thing I can say that needs to be worked on is the tech. Michael Wilmer did a great job running the tech, but the sound had a lot of static at times and the music was a little low. But I’m sure it will be fixed and it is a VERY minor problem.

Do your funny bone a favor and go see these guys! You will not be disappointed, in fact, you will be surprised at how funny these young, local actors can be and you will continue to come back. I promise!
[POST A COMMENT REGARDING THIS REVIEW]
Alot of Laughter!
by andy
Tuesday, June 1, 2004
5.0
Like Dani, I also know the majority of these people, but since I am in no way involved with the Bad Eggs I believe it is OK to review. I had so much fun watching these actors and my stomach hurt when I left from laughing so hard. My favorite skits had to be the Charlie Brown spoof and the Lord of the Rings as well. I have always thought these actors worked well together and I was also impressed by Amber. I have only seen her in 2 shows, and I did not know she had such comedic timing. These actors put alot of time and effort into this show and it showed. Everything from the costumes to tech was impressive. I especially liked how they had voiceovers that kept the audience laughing even during blackouts. Go see the Bad Eggs, they are a very talented bunch of people! [POST A COMMENT REGARDING THIS REVIEW]
GO SEE THIS!
by Dani
Saturday, May 29, 2004
5.0
Ok, I know what you're thinking... Dani is friends with everyone in The Bad Eggs, so she should have put NR instead of a 5. Well, I'm sorry- they deserve a 5. The Bad Eggs is quite possibly the funniest and most entertaining sketch comedy group I've seen in GA. The cast is incredibly strong and their material is hilarious. After seeing their performance last night, my stomach hurt from laughing so hard and I'm really upset that I won't be home the rest of the summer to see their group grow and come up with even more hilarious skits!! Y'all did and amazing job and I wish you the best with it! [POST A COMMENT REGARDING THIS REVIEW]
Where Did These Kids Come From??
by PeteHollis
Saturday, May 29, 2004
5.0
I went to see the opening of "The Bad Eggs" tonight, and let me tell you, Kudzu Playhouse really has something working for them here. While I felt like I was the only person there who had no idea who the people on stage were, I was completely impressed. I don't know the individual names of the actors, but whoever played the hobbits/gollum in the "Lord Of the Rings" sketch, nailed each character perfectly. All three girls in the cast were a joy to watch: they were cute, hilarious, and showed amazing versatility. There were dead on impressions of George W Bush, a hilarious spoof of charlie brown, and a surprise ending when one of the actors came on as a warped superhero. There are no weak members in this cast, and I could not get over how great these guys were for being just kids. I'm sure no one in the cast was over 20. This is a truly awesome show these guys have put together and it's completely worth watching. Keep up the good work guys, and Kudzu had a good idea when they stuck you in that slot. I hope you get larger audiences to come!

Peter Hollis [POST A COMMENT REGARDING THIS REVIEW]


[REVIEW THIS PRODUCTION]

CLOSING SOON
Baby
by Sybille Pearson (book), David Shire (music), Richard Maltby, Jr. (lyrics)
Act 3 Productions
Swell Party
by Topher Payne
The Process Theatre Company
NOW PLAYING
Almost, Maine
by John Cariani
Centerstage North Theatre
Baby
by Sybille Pearson (book), David Shire (music), Richard Maltby, Jr. (lyrics)
Act 3 Productions
Daddy Long Legs
by John Caird (book) and Paul Gordon (songs)
The Legacy Theatre
Downstairs
by Theresa Rebeck
Actor's Express
Midnight at the Masquerade
by The Murder Mystery Company
The Murder Mystery Company in Atlanta
Swell Party
by Topher Payne
The Process Theatre Company

©2012 TheaterReview.com. All rights reserved.