SUBMIT ABOUT FAQ
PEOPLE COMPANIES VENUES
LOGIN NEW USER PRODUCTIONS
REVIEWERS SIX DEGREES
A User-Driven Site for Theater in Atlanta, Georgia
Paul [ALL REVIEWERS]
Companies Reviewed#
Kudzu Playhouse6
Barnbuster Musicals2
Onstage Atlanta, Inc.1
Aurora Theatre1
Atlanta Classical Theatre1
Average Rating Given : 3.40000
Reviews in Last 6 months :
REVIEWS

The Odd Couple, by Neil Simon
Realy about a 2.75
Sunday, June 13, 2004
2.0
What can I say, my first disappointment. I hasten to say that it is not a bad show, it is just not as good as other productions I have seen at Kudzu.

I love Mr. Miller and have seen him several productions and have more than enjoyed his performances. I was disappointed this time. First he is a little long in the tooth to be playing Felix. Felix is a middle-aged man facing a middle age crisis. Mr. Miler has to be near sixty or older. He never quite gives us the neurotic edginess of Felix. He remains too much in control of himself. He never quite lets go. This has made other characters he has portrayed great, but is wrong for Felix

Mr. Zuber’s Oscar almost makes it. I cannot put my finger on it but there is something missing in his performance. For one thing his voice tends to grate on ones nerves. It get very high pitched and nasal. Qualities that should be found in Felix. Not Oscar.

As to the card players the are for the most part very good. Speed is perfect. His accent and character are just right/ The accountant is good nice touch with the fan, Murray the cop is great. Good comedic timing. Vinny is the only weak point. I get the feeling I was watching a bad Curly impression. His character was not realistic; I got the feeling I was watching a “performance”.

A major disappointment for me were the Pigeon Sisters. They lacked energy and vibrancy. They were nothing special. Their costumes were appropriate but stood out against everything else that was not 1960’s

As to production values the set was fine. The props and costumes were not right if they were doing a period piece. The can of air freshener was very modern. If I am not correct Lysol is still sold in the same can they did in the 1960’s. Felix’s costumes where too modern and much to colorful. Felix is a white shirt sort of guy. The striped shirt where from the 1990’s
Oscar was ok until he dropped trousers and had on a very modern pair of boxers.

I know this is very picky, but having seen other productions at this venue a was disappointed at such an average production

Love! Valour! Compassion!, by Terrance McNally
From a Staight Man's Point of View
Monday, May 24, 2004
4.0
I will have to preface my review with the comment that I did not have any idea what I was getting my self into. My wife Jill has a friend who had tickets that they could not use and gave them to us. Jill did prepare me by advising me that there were some gay characters in the show, an understatement if there ever was one. Therefore I will advise my review is from that of a middle-aged WASP heterosexual. Did I enjoy the show? Yes I am open-minded and have gay friends. I will say that I am guilty of stereotyping to a degree and for that reason I think I enjoyed the show more so. Here were a group of men with loves, hopes, wants, and desires that are not all that unlike mine. They are plagued with same fears and foibles that everyone is plagued with. And to complicate matters they are also faced with a problem that rears its ugly head time and time again. I agree with woahfred, the scene between Buzz and James was touching and to me heartbreaking. To me it made AIDS very real and not just something that I read about from time to time in the paper. I was also very impressed with the Jekyll and Hyde performance of Charles Green. He was believable as both characters.

As to the nudity, I am a prude it did make me a little uncomfortable, but so have performances of “Equs” and “Hair” that I have seen. I guess part of me feel embarrassed for the actors on stage.

I would recommend this show and hopefully I have not offeded anyone with my review

Deathtrap, by Ira Levine
Deathtrap a yawner in 3 acts
Wednesday, May 5, 2004
1.0
I have never been a negative person; I try to look on the bright side and to find good in all things. It is with great sadness that I write this review, This is one of my favorite thrillers. I was so looking forward to this production, as my wife had never seen the stage play. I had not been to this particular stage at 14th street playhouse. It is quite small. The set for the show should reflect a study of a great playwright. References are made several times to window cards from the playwrites shows on the wall. There are none. On the night that Jill and I saw this show, there were several very long pauses that unless the director was going for something totally different, appeared to be blown lines on the part of the performers.

As we where sworn to secrecy, having to sign that we would not discuss the plot of the show, it makes my review difficult, but will try to be true to my word.

One of the supposed plot twists that are not suppose to be obvious was let out of the bag as soon as the young male visitor opens his mouth. His demeanor is painfully obvious. The suspense's that is supposed to build during the first act never does. The actors may have made some choices, but quite frankly I can only lay fault with the director. The physical confrontations are so badly staged they can only be laughable. I realize that falling on stage might be painful but slow motions collapsing up the stairs was a bit much.

Several parts were questionably casting. Strange casting with Helga ten Dorp. It just didnt fit here costume, and hair style seemed inappropriate for the part. The playwite was a bit weak.

To say the least we were very disappointed and cannot recommend this production
Paul Forrester
Paulforrester1958@yahoo.com

Maggie's Getting Married, by Norm Foster
WOW! what a great show
Sunday, May 2, 2004
5.0
What can I say! I think Jill and I are just now catching our breath. I must say we had a grand time Saturday watching this production. Jill and I have seen many productions over the years and I must say this was a true delight!

First let me clear the are with advising that neither Jill or I are affiliated with Kudzu Playhouse or any other theater other than our love for live theater.

That having been said, this is a remarkable show. First, the set. It is by far the most elaborate and finely dressed set that we have seen in many a year. Jill wants to know the color used so that she can repaint our dining room.

The second great boon is the cast. This is the second time that we have enjoyed a tight knit ensemble cast that worked as one well oiled machine. The last was “Caught in the Net” Their timing and pacing were impeccable. Literally they had me gasping for breath at times.

Amy Rundbaken was wonderful as Maggie. The insecure younger sister who we meet on the eve of her wedding day. She was marvelous. It is a delight to see a variety in performance. having just seen her in “Caught in the Net”. It was refreshing to see a totally different character on the stage.

Brandt Rizk was also marvelous. She played Wanda the slightly nymphomaniac sister that has always stolen Maggie's boyfriends. She played the role extremely well, giving us a “real” person with their own self-doubts and problems. She could have easily turned it into a caricature.

Patty Siebert was the quintessential mother. Always knowing what is best for her children and long suffering husband and yet with a few little tricks up her sleeve. Her lectures and advice where truly heartfelt and delivered with warmth and caring,

Brink Miller was great. His bio says that he has a lot of experience of being father of the bride. It shows through in his performance. His middle age crisis is played to perfection and not over done. His concern for his daughters well being is genuine and very belivable.

My favorite character was Axel, played by James Sutton. His timing, facial expressions and body mechanics left me laughing my head off. He does have some of the best lines in the show and delivers them with absolute precision. In a part that could have been over blown and over acted, he chose the underplay it, and by doing so it made it stand out that much more.

Richard Omark had the thankless job of playing a part that the audience isn’t sure they are suppose to like or not. He does it admirably. He first comes across as a true salesman. Yuck but as we learn more about him our opinion changes

As the plot device mention by previous reviewers. Did it bother me? Not really. Was it implausible? Maybe. Did it detract from the show? Not really.

Go see it and laugh your heads off

Guys and Dolls, by
You reached for the stars but fell short
Friday, April 9, 2004
3.0
THis was our first venture to the Cobb playhouse. I must say that we almost pasted it. Jill and i were looking forward to this production as it is one of our favorite musicals. I know that it is hard to find men for musicals but I was disappointed in both male leads. There was something missing. Both the the female leads were good and their numbers were some of the highlights of the show.

All in all we were less than pleased with our evening.

And as always neither I or my wife our affiliated with any theatre other than the guise of patron

Paul Forrester
Paulforrester1958@yahoo.com

Guys and Dolls, by Frank Loesser and Damon Runyon
you reached for the Stars an almost made it into orbit
Monday, March 29, 2004
2.0
THis was our first venture to the Cobb playhouse. I must say that we almost pasted it. Jill and i were looking forward to this production as it is one of our favorite musicals. I know that it is hard to find men for musicals but I was disappointed in both male leads. There was something missing. Both the the female leads were good and their numbers were some of the highlights of the show.

All in all we were less than pleased with our evening.

And as always neither I or my wife our affiliated with any theatre other than the guise of patron

Paul Forrester
Paulforrester1958@yahoo.com

Caught in the Net, by Ray Cooney
Sorry I was so Late
Monday, March 29, 2004
4.0
I am sorry that my wife and I waited until the last weekend to see “Caught in the Net”. I would have liked to have had the opportunity to have seen it again. I laved so hard the I had tears in my eyes. I think I embarrassed my wife with the volume of my laughter. But I was not the only one. The theater seemed packed and everyone was having the times of their lives.

This is truly one of the funniest shows Jill and I have had the pleasure of watching, The pace was nonstop. Mr. O’Rourke and Mr. Garrett never stopped. Once the show got up and running it was fast and furious. It took me a moment to determine that I was watching two different families in 2 different apartments that seemed to overlap on the same set. Once I recognized this it was easy to follow.

Both wives were marvelous, especially Amy. she brought down the house.

Mr. Fairall was good as the senile father if his performance did tend to be a little too much caricature and not enough character.

The only weak spot was the two kids. Their level of energy did not quite match the feverous intensity of their “parents”

Kudos to Kudzu. And for those interested. Neither my wife or myself are affiliated in any way with this theater or any other theatre in Atlanta other than in the guise of patron

Paul Forrester
Paulforrester1958@Yahoo.com

Moon Over Buffalo, by Ken Ludwig
Great show
Wednesday, February 11, 2004
5.0
Guess I will try this again. First reveiw seems to be lost in cyber space.

My wife and I had the pleasure seeing this production. It has been a long time since I have laughed so hard that I cried.

THis was truluy an ensemble cast. THe performance was seamless and we truly had a great time

Sorry to be breif but this is my second time writing and I wanted to make sure my comments got posted

The Foreigner, by Larry Shue
A good strong production
Wednesday, February 11, 2004
4.0
This is the third show that my wife and I have had the pleasure of attending at Kudzu Playhouse. We are new to the Roswell area having previously lived in Gwinnett area. AS previously stated both my wife and myself are avid theatre goers having attended performance in NY and London' West End. We also enjoy local community theatre productions. It was thru Theater Review that we found Kudzu Playhouse. We are not affiliated in anyway with this or any other theater in the metro Atlanta area.

Once again I see that personal vendetta's have reared their ugly heads.

1) We did not feel that we had wasted our $36.00

2) We felt that it was a strong production. I nice ensemble cast. Good performances were give by the entire cast. And Ms. Hinds, you have a very sweet stage persona. And are very talented.

3) This person, Taylor, obviously is jealous, most likely has limited talent, and few friends. He/she must have some horrible inadequacy that compels him/her to lash out in such a personal manner.

I will agree that the set was not as attractive as others that I have seen, but a rustic lodge it was passable.

Would I recommend this productions to my friends? YES and have.


A Christmas Carol, by Adapted by Wally Hinds
Kudzu Playhouse's "A Christmas Carol"
Monday, December 22, 2003
4.0
I title my review such that it will not be confused by the many reviews of other productions.

This is my second review of a production seen at the Kudzu playhouse. My wife and I had the pleasure of seeing Sunday's production to a sold out house.

WE were curious to see just how 48 people could fit on such a small stage. They did it and did it well. By and large we had a wonderful time. Was it a great production? No, there were some missed light cues and some of the scene changes were on the noisy side, but there were some very notable performances that stood out. First that of Bob Cratchit, for a first time performer he gave a heart warming performance as the much put upon clerk of Scrooge. I was pleased to see that a good number of his families were cast as his children. I was very touch when Tiny Tim sings the song he learned in church. Mr. Cratchit sat there watching and like all proud fathers silently partially mouthed the words along with his son. I was a very natural reaction and I am sure helped along with the fact that Tiny Tim was his own son.

Tiny Tim was probably the best I have seen. At six years old young Andrew gave a captivating performance. He was consistent with the use of his crutch. He was not afraid to be heard and his accent was excellent. And to top it off he had a smile that would brighten any hardened heart.

All 4 ghosts were very good. Marley was excellent with his howling and chain rattling. This ghost of Christmas past with her sarcastic digs at Scrooge were wonderful. The Ghost of Christmas Present was a mountain of a Man. His makeup added to his unearthly appearance and his rich booming voice and heart felt laughter was a real plus. I only wish that the ghost of Christmas Future could have been a little more mobile and foreboding.

This production employs the use of a narrator to move the story along and I must Say, Mr. Dickens was just right for the job. His rich baritone voice unfolded the story for the audience and provided the right touch of humor.

But most of all there was Scrooge. I must say that I did not see an actor. I saw Scrooge. He took control of the role and became immersed in it. I can see why he has done this role so many times. He was a pleasure to watch and truly looked as if he was having the time of his life.

All in all it was a very entertaining production . I would recommend it to everyone.

Paul Forrester
Paulforrester1958@yahoo.com

Blood Brothers, by Willy Russell
Is "Blood Brothers" a "5"?
Thursday, November 6, 2003
-1.0
I feel that I must make a comment about this show and it’s many reviews. I went to see this show because of the “controversy” that seems to be playing out on these pages.

First, I would like to lay some groundwork. I am a veteran theater fan. I have had the opportunity to attend performances on Broadway in New York and the West End in London. I have also had the pleasure attending performances at Professional Regional Theatres, as well as, Community Theater and High School productions. That having been said I feel I am qualified to weigh in on the “discussion” about “Blood Brothers”

Is Blood Brothers a “5”? That is in the eye of the beholder, therefore, everyone that has written a review of this show has the right to make his or her comment about the show and the performance of the actors in the show.

In my opinion no it was not a “5” there were some noticeable flaws that could have been better. Choreography, for one, if the cast is not capable of executing complex steps then modify the choreography. If not it appears that the cast hasn’t rehearsed enough. Was the Choreography all that bad? NO! But it was not up to the other levels of the show.

Were all the actors great and wonderful and terrific? No some were and others were a little weaker. Was their performance’s a detraction to the show? No. Overall they gave good, solid performances.

Overall, I felt that the provided me with a great night of theatre. I did not feel cheated, nor did I feel disappointed. I felt entertained and that I believe is the essence of what Community Theatre is about.

As to the many reviews, as I have previously stated, the ratings and the reviews are in the eye of the beholder. But I do agree with Ms Hinds comments. Personal accusations against the character of an actor has no place on these pages. It only shows the pettiness and the immaturity of the writer. Some of the statements made border on libel. Some of these reviews are obviously written with a certain amount of bias both positively and negatively slanted. I think anyone with a certain level of intelligence would be a to discern which is which

My personal recommendations? GO SEE THE SHOW and formulate your own opinion. I don’t think you will be disappointed


Paul Forrester
Paulforrester@yahoo.com

OPENING SOON
Midnight at the Masquerade
by The Murder Mystery Company
The Murder Mystery Company in Atlanta
CLOSING SOON
"Fallout"
by Laura King
Onion Man Productions
Glengarry Glen Ross
by David Mamet
Pinch n' Ouch Theatre
Shakespeare in Love
by Lee Hall, based on work by Marc Norman & Tom Stoppard
Alliance Theatre Company
NOW PLAYING
"Fallout"
by Laura King
Onion Man Productions
August: Osage County
by Tracy Letts
Lionheart Theatre Company
Bengal Tiger at the Baghdad Zoo
by Rajiv Joseph
7 Stages
Glengarry Glen Ross
by David Mamet
Pinch n' Ouch Theatre
Shakespeare in Love
by Lee Hall, based on work by Marc Norman & Tom Stoppard
Alliance Theatre Company
The Dixie Swim Club
by Jesse Jones, Nicholas Hope, Jamie Wooten
Onstage Atlanta, Inc.
The Spy Who Murdered Me
by Kevin Gillese
Agathas: A Taste of Mystery
Throw Me on the Burnpile and Light Me Up
by Lucy Alibar
Aurora Theatre

©2012 TheaterReview.com. All rights reserved.