SUBMIT ABOUT FAQ
PEOPLE COMPANIES VENUES
LOGIN NEW USER PRODUCTIONS
REVIEWERS SIX DEGREES
A User-Driven Site for Theater in Atlanta, Georgia
St. Genesius [ALL REVIEWERS]
Companies Reviewed#
Actor's Express3
Jack In The Black Box Theatre Company2
Pinch n' Ouch Theatre2
Atlanta Lyric Theatre1
Big Top Productions1
Red Clay Theatre1
Essential Theatre1
The New Depot Players1
Offoffpeachtree Theatre1
Kudzu Playhouse1
Average Rating Given : 4.10714
Reviews in Last 6 months :
REVIEWS

Little Shop of Horrors, by Books and Lyrics by Howard Ashman Music by Alan Menken
Very Fun Production
Monday, August 8, 2011
4.0
A lovely little theater that has been very well-kept in the cute downtown square of Conyers, GA.

A solid production of a very popular show to produce. Basically just fun, solid, enjoyable and worth the jaunt to Conyers, GA.

Job well done by the entire cast and crew!

Lobby Hero, by Kenneth Lonergan
Funnier than Due Date
Monday, November 8, 2010
5.0
I give this review that title because this weekend I went to see Lobby Hero and saw the new movie Due Date. After I saw Due Date and realized I didn't really think it was that funny, I wanted to tell my friend about this other movie I just saw where I was literally loling.. and as I thought about it I realized it wasn't another comedic movie it was that play I just saw the night before - Lobby Hero. I don't know why, but I wasn't expecting a comedy, and I'm not sure this was a comedy.. I mean the character Jeff, who was the Lobby Hero, was just so genuinely real and naturally funny. Like a real person who doesn't even know how funny he is.

I love the selection of this play. I doubt any other local theater company would have picked it up which is a shame and a gem that Pinch n Ouch did.

Acting was very natural and superb, stage design a wee bit weak, and I don't love that it was at 14th St. I would have loved a more intimate setting for this play but besides that the play itself is date worthy as in take a date to it. That would be a fancy, impressive decision.

Reasons To Be Pretty, by Neil LaBute
Great Production!
Friday, June 25, 2010
5.0
This production really exceeded my expectations. Pinch n' Ouch is a new, young theater group, but they did an outstanding job with 'Reasons to be Pretty' that I will def come see their next show as well.

Having seen a LaBute play before I was expecting something heavy - which this show does present but I laughed so much from the beg to the end - mostly with Jacob York's natural and honest portryal of a man trying to understand women and be true to himself. The entire cast was outstanding.

Beyond the play something that really caught my attention was how young the audience was. Typically many local professional and community theaters survive off a more mature subscriber base, but this audience had many 20s-30s in the seats - something other theaters would kill for.

Basically - Welcome to Atlanta Pinch n' Ouch - your fresh talent is warmly welcomed and if you haven't seen this show, it will make you love theater all over again and maybe in a whole new way.

caught on the hop , by Derek Benfield
Deliciously Funny
Saturday, June 20, 2009
4.5
This production was sealed nicely together with not many loose ends - kudos to the director and cast. The script was so witty, but as Americans it can be challenging to bring Bristish humor to life - it needed perfect timing and annunication which this cast gave it life. Michael Carroll, Phil, was so dedicated to playing straight off his cast members. He was amazingly natural and did a superb job. His best friend, scape-goat, Phil, played by Greg Fitzgerald, also shared in a natural presence with great one liners and physical action. I was uncomfortable by alot of Maggie's, Dana Barrett, inquisitive facial expressions. It was only until her discovery of Phil's girlfriend that I really felt she settled into Maggie's essence. Julie and Rochelle, Jessica and Greta, are great new young talent.. I think they were marvelous but could be shouted at a bit by a stage manager for not wearing any make-up and looking as pale as a psychiatric wall and hair in face issues. I missed a whole scene w. Greta on the couch because her hair was completely covering her face - also that dress - too current day teen section and could easily add an inch or 2 and not be fiddling with it the entire time. Mr. Brasset was a doll - just want to yell Fire at him. And Christine, Mrs. Puffett, very cute - how do you do that accent - slight overacting at times.

Overall, it was a lovely British production. Well worth going to and recommending for others to see. Keep up the well polished productions Kudzu!

Runaway Bride, by Beverly Cantwell and Deborah Childs
Alot of inside Duluthian jokes
Tuesday, April 22, 2008
2.0
This type of theater gives community theater a bad name. Just because it's community theater does not mean it has to be bad quality - and this show was just that - bad. The script was written with alot of storyline that only Duluthians could relate to. I did feel like I got more insight into how the runaway bride affected the community and it pulled me into that time as if I was a community member...but man was there some horrific script writing. FOR EXAMPLE: There were atleast 2 scenes with a character on the phone who is put on hold, and the audience is literally sitting there in silence until the other caller clicks back over, do you really want to bore me that badly?

Also the blocking of this show was embaressing. You had lead singers upstage in corners with other actors literally blocking him and the Mayor being blocked that you couldn't even see her...

I doubt the actors knew what they were getting into just as audience members didn't either...It would take a lot to get me back out to this theater..For the same price I can actually see professional theater. But I wouldn't want to see this show even if they were giving tickets away.

PETER PAN, by
Solid Performance..but Nothing New
Monday, February 11, 2008
3.0
Lyric's recent performance of Peter Pan offered solid performances from the cast, but besides the well choreographed dance numbers I was totally bored. If you've seen Cathy Rigby's performance of Peter Pan or Disney's animated film, than you saw the Lyric's performance of Peter Pan. I would have loved some new take on the story - change up the set a bit, new look on costumes, different choreography in flying sequence. It was as traditional as turkey on Thanksgiving. Even the direction of the cast was boring - how many times were the actors told downstage center.

There was nothing wrong with the performance. Actors were flying, glitter was shimmered, costumes were authentic, but if you were over the age of 8 or this was not your first time seeing Peter Pan - I think you might have been bored.

The Great American Trailer Park Musical, by David Nehls (score)/Betsy Kelso (book)
The best voices below the Dixie line!
Thursday, March 29, 2007
5.0
It's like a Southern, non-puppet, version of Avenue Q. The musical revolves around a Flordia trailer park community where everyone knows each other's business. The talent in this show could take it to Broadway too. Not only are the characters Pippi, played by Claci Miller, and Jeannie, played by Wendy Melkonian fighting for the same man, but they're also fighting for who has the most amazing voice. I was mesmerized by them both!

It was sometimes difficult to follow all the words in the songs. The men's vocies tended to start off weak but end strong. There was also this sort of pause between I'm going to talk and then break out into a song about my life. It wasn't as smooth of a transition as musicals have to be.

I absolutley love that Libby Whittemore was the main narrator of this musical and was performing at Actor's Express. Who else can tell a Southern story and sing it than Libby. I have heard about this woman and was always planning to go to her cabaret. I was upset to read in her bio. that she closed the cabaret in late '06. I'm very happy to see her performing. She was the most natural performer on stage. She could slip into the Judds without them thinking once that she wasn't a sister. This woman was probably born on a stage singing a Patsy Cline song.

This show is worth seeing for the talent alone! However, it's a pretty funny storyline as well.

An Infinite Ache, by David Schulner
Hilarious
Tuesday, October 17, 2006
5.0
This was my first time seeing a production with Jack in the Black Box Theater. I was a big fan of the free wine they offer their patrons. I was really delighted with this production. Matthew Myers playing Charles literally stole the show. Man did that guy crack me up. I loved the ending gig dance and the embaressing honesty of his character which is funnier in life than trying to be funny. Lotus Huyhn playing Hope is a less flamboyant character. The playwright definetly gives the funnier lines to the character of Charles. Both actors do a believable job of aging from their mid-20s to their 70s with no make-up and simple costume changes.

The set designer does a great trick with a Mary Poppins style suitcase. I also would like to give kudos to the director Jon Tyler Owens. The script moves quickly as a lifetime passes in an hour in fifteen minutes. His choices of movement around a studio apartment and a bed scene with lights flickering on and off help time progress naturally.

I definetly recommend going to see this play. You just watch this character Charles thinking woah- that is so true, embaressing, and hilarious.

The Pillowman, by Martin McDonagh
A Must See
Thursday, September 28, 2006
5.0
I don't know why I feel the need to profess my favorites, but this is my favorite production I have seen at Actor's Express. Kimberly Akimbo had that title until last night. I am an actress myself and enjoy taking advantage of Industry Nights. Last night sitting in the audience, I had the first experience of gratitude towards the actors on stage. I kept thinking, this is amazing that these actors are doing this amazing job for us- the audience. It was truley a gift, and I thank each and every actor and crew member for sharing their talent.

Mark Kincaid playing the role of Tupolski was drop dead amazing- completely right on- as if he is a detective in real life. Jeff Feldman completely pulls off bad cop and sensitive man. The brothers played by Daniel May and John Benzinger were right on. I especially liked how well Daniel connects with the audience through solid eye contact when he narrates his stories. Can I also say that this is one of the first productions that the minor roles grabbed me as much as the leading characters. Kudos to the ensemble.

My favorite part of the production is when they acted out Katurian's stories- which explains why I liked the ensemble so much.

I think this production truley shows how Atlanta will miss Jasson Minadakis but thank you for The Pillowman.

Shirley Valentine, by Willy Russell
Clearly Amazing
Tuesday, September 19, 2006
5.0
Lynne Jenson commanded the stage in the one-woman show Shirley Valentine. I was worried that I might be bored with it only being one actor on stage, but I was awake and enthralled the entire time.

The direction was also amazing by Adriana Warner. The usage of the stage and actual working appliances tremedously helped the actress's believability.

The play itself has a great meaning to it- self discovery at any age. I could see how the play could plummet with the wrong actress and director, but this play soars.

Loved it!


Jerry's Girls, by Music and lyrics of Jerry Herman
Ladies Galore
Monday, May 8, 2006
3.0
This show was set in a quaint cabaret style environment. Girls in every corner, waiters, and candle light tables for two. In the cast of women, there wasnít a hidden individual Barbara Streisand talent- as a whole they harmonized quite well. The show lacked in flattering costumes and choreographed dance numbers. In one tap scene, two ladies entered the stage with an enjoyable break from solely singing. However, they were soon accompanied by three ladies that looked like they were pushed out there as novices to dancing. Stronger scenes were when the ladies brought forth their acting skills- like in the reenactment of a silent movie- it was hilarious.

I just wanted to see these women fight for the stardom. They all seemed a bit timid. Youíre the only one on stage with a piano- Own It!

Kimberly Akimbo, by David Lindsay-Abaire
Love Seeing Comedy at Actor's Express
Thursday, April 6, 2006
5.0
It was so refreshing to see comedy at Actor's Express. Mary Lynn Owen did a superb job of playing a 16yr old in the body of a grandmother- very believable. I'm sorry I didn't give you a standing ovation. Plus I loved watching the awkward teenage chemistry between the characters of Kimberly and Jeffrey. Not too mention that Jeffrey played by Jeremy Aggers was easy on the eyes to watch on stage.

I loved the energy of actor John Alcott playing the dad. The mom- Tess Malis Kincaid- was hilarious and I loved her NJ accent. And the criminal aunt Rachel Roberts really fit the part.

I love the Dungeons and Dragon scene. It is a comedy but gosh I felt so bad for Kimberly- what a rotten family, thank god for friends.

Leaving Limbo, by Valetta Anderson
I didn't get the point.
Friday, January 6, 2006
2.0
The opening sequence of this play was awesome. The rest of the play was not.

I want to say that I think these are good actors with a bad script. In particular, the lady who played the dead Aunt did a really good job- very strong actress. Part of the storyline has a hip-hop artist who plays on his keyboard and the song he is writing for his dead "Aunt" is awful. I hope we aren't to belive this character is a professional songwriter because the music and words didn't match--way off. Also, I found his visit to Africa to be totally unbelieveable. Why wasn't he curious that he randomly awoke in another country in a totally differet time period. More importantly why were they all speaking English in Africa way back in the day? On a positive note, the story does travel from timeperiod and location and that was easy to follow and believeable.

During intermission, I turned to my friend and said, "Is it just me? Or I am totally missing the point of this story?" She said it wasn't just me. In fact, I'm still not really sure what the point was. Reincarnation of the soul? I'm glad that there are local writers work being performed, but I missed the point of this story. It might of just been me, and I hope it was. It was just really disappointing because I thought the first 5 minutes of the show was amazing.

Animal Farm, by George Orwell Adapted by Ian Wooldridge
Go See Animal Farm
Friday, December 9, 2005
4.0
Iíve recently started going to see more local theater this month, and I must say that this has been my favorite one so far. Maybe because I love the storyline, but it was great seeing it brought to life. Unfortunately, I donít know the specific names of the actors, but this was a well cast playÖvery professional, strong actors.

Besides the pigs and horses, the other animals required a bit more imagination from the audience. I didnít immediately figure out what they were until I heard some animal noises.

Although, not a major character in this play, I got excited every time Moses flew to stage. The Sugar Mountain candy song was very catchy. I donít know how well I liked the itty bitty plastic animal scenes because it just looked too fake and too small. I really enjoyed seeing the humans portrayed through puppets. It set a nice barrier between the humans and the animals.

Between the shot gun Mr. Jones and authoritative Napoleon, I felt just as scared in the audience as the other animals on the farm.

This play had a lot of effort put into it, and as an audience member I thank you. I really enjoyed it and plan on telling others to go see it.

CLOSING SOON
Crossing Delancey
by Susan Sandler
Alliance Theatre Company
Laughter on the 23rd Floor
by Neil Simon
Lionheart Theatre Company
NOW PLAYING
Another Naughty and Nice Holiday Cabaret
by Lynna Schmidt
Academy Theatre
Cardboard Piano
by Hansol Jung
Actor's Express
Crossing Delancey
by Susan Sandler
Alliance Theatre Company
Laughter on the 23rd Floor
by Neil Simon
Lionheart Theatre Company
Midnight at the Masquerade
by The Murder Mystery Company
The Murder Mystery Company in Atlanta
Miss Nelson Is Missing!
by Joan Cushing
Georgia Ensemble Theatre
Murder on 34th Street
Agathas: A Taste of Mystery
The Gift of the Magi 2.0
by N. Emil Thomas
Actors Theatre of Atlanta

©2012 TheaterReview.com. All rights reserved.