SUBMIT ABOUT FAQ
PEOPLE COMPANIES VENUES
LOGIN NEW USER PRODUCTIONS
REVIEWERS SIX DEGREES
A User-Driven Site for Theater in Atlanta, Georgia
g8grrl [ALL REVIEWERS]
Companies Reviewed#
Blackwell Playhouse3
Rosewater Theatre Company3
Holly Theatre3
Coup de Theatre Atlanta1
Actor's Express1
BK Productions1
Polk Street Players1
Kudzu Playhouse1
Theatre On Main1
The New American Shakespeare Tavern1
Center Theatre of the MJCCA1
Theatre Decatur1
Onstage Atlanta, Inc.1
Red Clay Theatre1
Atlanta Lyric Theatre1
Canton Theatre1
Old Alabama Road Company - A Community Theater1
The Process Theatre Company1
Button Theatre1
Average Rating Given : 3.60417
Reviews in Last 6 months :
REVIEWS

42nd Street, by Michael Stewart & Mark Bramble
Sadly disappointing
Wednesday, November 9, 2011
2.0
There are bad nights at the theater, and then once in a blue moon comes a show like the Cumming Playhouse's "42nd Street" ... three hours of quicksand from which you begin to fear you will never, ever escape.

Dancer, comedian and first time-director Honey Larsen takes the helm of this production, and the result is as if it was directed by a dancer, comedian and first-time director. Ms. Marsh's cast is utterly at sea, their limitations cruelly exposed. In particular, the dance numbers, which include senior citizens in roles intended for younger performers, are slow, outdated and uninspired.

A staggeringly miscast Kathy Russell is featured as the one-time star Dorothy Brock. And an equally gifted and ill-used John Provence stars as the notorious stage director Julian Marsh. There are exceptions; Amanda Leigh Pickard as Peggy Sawyer has an appealing stage presence, but her girlish, sometimes squeaky voice cannot do justice to the range of feeling belonging to Peggy.

But in truth the performances in all the roles ... lead, supporting or chorus ... are either inadequate or worse, with the possible exception of Kathy Kuczka as Maggie, who at least provides much needed energy and wit.

The evening truly grinds to a halt in "Lullaby of Broadway", the most famous song in the musical. We are two hours in, and the second act should be as exciting and memorable as it comes, yet here an already tediously paced performance becomes unbearable to watch. As the curtain call finally arrives, it is welcomed by all simply due to the fact that the end has finally come.

Wit, by Margaret Edson
Strong, but needs more emotional intensity
Monday, August 10, 2009
3.0
If you haven't seen it, "Wit" is a touching HBO movie. Originally a play, I never seen "Wit" on stage until this weekend after I attended the showing at the Cumming Playhouse. The version by the Old Alabama Road Company didn't move me as much as the movie, but I really liked the acting. I especially liked the actress who plays the lead, Dr. Vivian Bearing. Her character is charming and her performances is strong, but overall she didn't bring the complexity as the portrayal in the movie. The other performers are also wonderful, but overall the entire show lacks the complex range of emotions I felt when watching the HBO movie. Still, goood job!

The Music Man, by Meredith Wilson
A for Awesome!
Monday, August 10, 2009
4.5
The Holly Theater totally amazed me with their recent staging of "The Music Man". The performance was enthusiastic and super entertaining. The leads, Michael Arens and Heatherly Wanamaker, are very talented and were very lovely together. I loved the Barbershop quartet. But my favorite was Mrs. Paroo, played by Gloria Szokoly, who according to everyone I talked to, stole the show. My only issue was with some of the supporting actors, like the Mayor, who was way too silly to be real, as well as some in the ensemble, who didnít seem to be in character all the time. Also some of the big numbers were not as professionally performed as when just the leads were on stage singing and dancing. Overall I really loved watching this show, and give it an A for Awesome.

Jewtopia, by Bryan Fogel & Sam Wolfson
The Chosen Play
Tuesday, August 5, 2008
5.0
Such a funny show this is! Omg, it was like watching my family on stage! Maybe you need to be Jewish to understand, or maybe not. Chris and Adam are the best ever! So funny! So colorful! Adam reminds me so much of my older brother. Now how scary is that? Dont be scared, you don't have to be jewish to see this play. It really is for everyone! What a great show! You never laughed so hard. Come see Jewtopia! Yay!!!

The Music Man, by Meredith Willson
I Feel Good Now!
Monday, July 21, 2008
3.5
I had a fun attending The Music Man at Blackwell. The leads are fabulous. Harold Hill and Winthrop are, like, the best ever. Not exagerating here. Harold carrys the show and Withrop is so cute he made me cry. Rest of the cast arent in the same league, but I did like Marcelleus, the Mayor and his wife. And I cant forget Marion. She was good too. On the down side, the set and lightening was rough and not consistant, but this was all made up by the acting and singing. And the keyboardist was fantastic too. It all made me Feel Good.

Hedwig and the Angry Inch, by John Cameron Mitchell; music and lyrics by Stephen Trask
Almost perfect!
Monday, June 23, 2008
4.5
What a killer show! Musically its perfect. The band totally rockz out. I loved the walkway. Criag is a fabulous and gives everything he has. A minor issue is the choice to make Hedwig obviously transgenerdered. I'm not sure if this is because of Criag or a choice by the director. Keeping Hedwig's sexuality a mystery is more fun. The same thing can be said about Yitzhak. Both are fab performers, so this is a minor issue. I agree with the other reviewer that the band needs to go on tour. They are totally fab! Go see this show!

Steel Magnolias, by Robert Harling
Missing energy
Monday, June 23, 2008
2.5
This is the first non-musical I have watched at Rosewater, previously seeing a really good Chicago and a flat Nunsense. Its also my first time at their new gigs in Roswell. I am impressed. The lobby is unbeleivable, and they served me wine, which is always nice. I wish I could say nothing but nicities about Steel Magnolias. There are some positives. Erin Greenway is fabulous as Shelby. She makes this show watchable. The other ladies need an injection of energy. Their characters are fine, but they need to bring up the intensity to match the script. There needs to be more comedy, and more chemistry. The end of the play is lackluster, when it needs to be moving experience.

Anything Goes, by
All that and then some!
Monday, May 5, 2008
5.0
I'm not that crazy about the book, but omg what a show! What performances! What dancing! The directors and cast have made an overdone and very old show into a way phat-phree experience. The cast is great, but Criag Meyer is da bomb! The rest of cast rocks too, but Craig is totally spun imho. Omg he's now my fave actor in Atlanta. I'm in LOVE!

Hold Me!, by Jules Feiffer
Illusions
Wednesday, April 23, 2008
-1.0
I debated if I should write this review. Its uncomfortable being so judgemental when I'm not even there myself. A student of theatre, who am I to critize? There is so much for me to grow as an performer and many more things to learn as an actress. As a senior, why should I judge adults? Well, like my teacher is challenging me to see and critique as many plays as possible this year before leaving to college. And its been a trip. I have seen wonderful shows, bad shows, and many inbetween. Most of all my eyes have been opened to how hard it is to bring art to on stage and how hard it is to convey life realistically before an audience.

Well imho I hated Hold Me! at the Relapse. Maybe I'm not old enough. Maybe I'm not smart enough. But its not funny at all. Its dark and sarcastic. And most of the time, except for the dancer, its really boring. At the same time, I like this troupe and hope they keep going. So instead of writing a review tearing a hole in everyone, I'll offer advice instead. Okay, like, coming from a high school senior, laugh at me all you want. But in case youre interested, here it is.

1. artistic director - pick plays you can handle. Its kewl you picked a show nobody heard of, but until you move up to a higher level, don't select stuff thats too artistically challenging.

2. actors - bring energy and urgency to your acting. this isn't a film. subtley works when building up a character. This makes everything one-demensional and similar, causing bordem in the audience. and most of all, have more fun with the material.

3. director - don't think everything has to be black and white. take some chances. let the scenes flow in and out. make the blocking less boxy.

4. playwright - Omg how depressing. you challenge our society's values. you have everyone walking around as life is an illusion. if life was really disillusional like this nothing remarkable would ever happen. Omg, what an elitist view you have. Your scarcastic humour is not kewl -- ITS DUMB. i've never seen your comic strips, but after seeing Hold Me, I don't think I ever will.

There. I did it. That was hard dyk. Maybe its my last review until college. Eod.

Nunsense, by Dan Goggin
Fun ladies but not so fun production
Wednesday, April 16, 2008
2.5
This is the 3rd time I've seen Nunsense and while its good its not great. I like the ladies, all are cast well and sing good. Best of all is Sister Mary Regina (SOOOOO funny), Sister Amnesia (SOOOO sweet) and Sister Robert Ann (WHAT VOCAL CHOPS). They are all fine. My big issue is the fun factor. Other than the script and the acting by the ladies, there isn't much here. The other Nunsenses I saw had more funny bits and more clever concepts. No such luck here. Then the directing isnt as polished and as well timed as I'd expect. Don't say it can't been done up in the burbs. Musicals I've recnetly seen at the Kudzu and the Button had the wow factor. Not here. Final verdict - the ladies are fun but the production is not.

Runaway Bride, by Beverly Cantwell and Deborah Childs
Runaway idea
Monday, April 7, 2008
2.0
I'm sorry cast members for sounding harsh. Your performances are very good and I really like your energy and enthusiasm. I liked the dancing and esp the rap song. You all make the best of your time on stage, and I like you all. So don't be mad. Your show is disappointing not because of you but because of the music and the script. The plot doesn't even deal with the runaway bride herself, like wouldn't that be a great story? Yes, but you don't go there. Instead you focus on the Duluth community, which is boring. Omg, who cares about the neighbors? But thats not the big problem. The big problem is the book and music aren't fully developed yet. Its like were watching the first draft someone's pretty clever but half-baked idea. The story is disjointed, the songs are weak, and the scenes are VERY silly. The lighting and props are good, but there is no set to speak of. But what really makes me mad is the show is as short as a one-act play. I drove 50 miles and paid $15 to see an hour long show? Like, wow, no wonder people flee Duluth. Okay, okay, maybe that was below the belt. Hehehe. I congratulate the theater for trying something original, but for the money is it wrong for me to expect more?

You're A Good Man, Charlie Brown, by Clark Gessner, Andrew Lippa
Button makes me happy!
Friday, March 28, 2008
5.0
By far CB is the best show I've seen ever in the burbs. What a cast! What a theatre! By far this is the best ensemble I've seen otp. The singing and acting is pitch-perfect. Much has been said by other reviewers, so let me add that everyone must go see this! It makes me so happy. And it'll make you so happy too!

Little Shop of Horrors, by Howard Ashman and Alan Menken
Wonderful
Monday, March 24, 2008
4.5
I so much love this Little Shop and want to come back again! It is very wonderful and creative. The music is stunning and the dancing is hilarous! And there isn't a bad singer in the house. The two leads are perfect, they made me cry. I also like the ho and ohhh the dentist. Sexy! The dowop girls are great too. The one thing I didn't like is the audrey two puppets are messy. Other than that this show is perfect. I had a wondrous time and recomend it to ALL!

Bathhouse, the Musical, by by Tim Evanicki and Esther Daack
Mr. Goff's Gayborhood
Monday, March 17, 2008
3.5
Bathhouse is a real grower. Starts out small, but it soon gets hott, firm and fun. Purely taken as musical theatre, its limp and flaccid. But you don't come see Bathhouse for purified reasons. You "cum" see the hott men, for there's hott sexy booty all around. What sitelines! what manscaping! what devilish tasty twinks! oh my! Wonít you be, wonít you be mine, won't you be my gaybor?

Into the Woods, by Steve Sondheim
Great job Blackwell!
Wednesday, February 27, 2008
4.0
Yeh, ok. I realize this review won't be be read by anybody, but here I go trying to post it anyway. LOL. Hands down, this is Blackwell's best show ever. It is energetic, funny, touching and beautiful. Most of all< I really think the Baker's wife gives a Broadway quality peformance. Most of the remaining cast is great too, like the Witch, Rapunzel's Prince, and the Baker. Others sometime sing flat and flub their lines, but everyone has fabulous energy and all hit their mark with characterizations. The direction is top-rate. Rob Hardie is commended for a top-notch show. Awesome!

The Boys Next Door, by Tom Griffin
Worth the drive
Monday, February 11, 2008
4.5
This is a troubling play. And it makes you think. And for this reason alone I think this play is excellent. At first I liked it, then I didn't, and then I couldn't stop thinking about all weekend. Isn't this what art is all about?

The humor of the script and the numerous gags of the cast and director cannot hide the underlyin g darkness and sadness of the characters. The Boys Next Door is about the emotionally and mentally disabled, and although there is no clean resolution at the end, it doesn't ever sugar coat the subject matter.

The acting is real good. None of the leading actors stand out above the others, but together the actors work as a strong ensemble. With the supporting cast, I was most impressed with Barry's father. This actor sent chill bumps down my spine.

There are two bigtime musicals I can't wait to see this month. But this little show maybe jsut as good, if not better. It makes you laugh, it makes you cry, and it makes you reflect on humanity. The Holly theater is a long trip up Georgia 400. Who cares? Its worth every last mile driving up north Georgia to see this show.

Postmortem, by Ken Ludwig
Size doesn't matter - small can be fun!
Monday, January 28, 2008
3.5
Okay, this isn't the best play ever performed, but its fun and has many good qualities. Let me knock out the bad stuff first, then I'll tell you the good.

Now this theater is really old and super tiny. So no surpise that the set and lights are super simple. I can imagine tons of tech ideas that can be added to this show, but almost nothing can be added in this small space. Then there are moments where the acting gets in dreadful lulls, making the play just plod along. Most irritating is the lead actor, who imnsho drags down the show. The plot of the show revolves around him as he tries to find out who killed his fiance. He's not all that bad of an actor, but he doesn't have much range, so as a lead he drags down the play. I think he can learn from this and become a better actor.

Now for the good. The script is fabulous. Even with the problems, I had fun watching this play. I especially liked the guns and the whodoneits. I also like how the director and actors worked around the space. Does size matter? Not if you use all you got! Cast and crew got past their limitations fairly well. And even if some action becomes more obvious and corny without the tech, its pretty fab to experience such gunfire in a tiny theater.

Oh and I need to give a shout out to Bobby and Louise. Both gave much needed zip to the play. Bobby, you're soooo fab and cute. lgbn&f! jjwy. And Louise, you made me smile at every turn. ilu!

Arsenic and Old Lace, by Joseph Kesselring
Disjointed and confused
Monday, January 21, 2008
2.0
I was real disappointed seeing this show this past weekend. I have friends involved with the show, so I really wanted this to be good. And there are some nice performances with Arsenic, but not enough to save the show. Two reasons why this show fails. First, the direction seems very immature to me. People walked around stage with no sense of purpose. The blocking was disjointed and confused. The scenes didn't really click together, and I felt I was watching the first run thru, complete with actors not knowing their lines Second, the lead actor just doesn't have the energy and comedic chops to pull off the demanding role of Mortimer Brewster. I really liked this same actor last year in Mockingbird, but here he is very miscast, completely over his head. Still I liked some of the supporting performances enough to give this a C grade, especially Jonathan Brewster and Elaine Harper. But pleeeez aunts, learn your lines already.

Scrooge: The Stingiest Man In Town, by
Not terrible but expensive
Wednesday, December 19, 2007
2.0
This review will be tough from me cause the ticket prices are so high. The audience liked the performance, but many brought flowers, so alot were friends and family of the cast. I thought it show was fair, but not terrible. The acting was fine overall. I like scrooge, although he could be stronger with his voice. I liked the ghost of Past and the Ghost of Present. And I loved the children. what I didn't like was the scene changes, the pace, the costumes, and the set. And most of all I didn't like the singing. You can tell the music wasn't well rehearsed. Songs were rushed and many performers just sang flat. If this was just a community show like at Blackwell or at Rosewater, I might look the other way. But for what I spent to see this show, I expect much better production values and much better singing..

A Christmas Carol, by Charles Dickens, adapted by Tony Brown
a joy
Tuesday, December 11, 2007
4.5
This production warms the heart. I envy the actors who sing and play multiple parts and instruments. I love the music and joyous singing. The acting is strong and funny. The Tavern's take is more narrative than most, but it helps add depth and understanding to the story. This is the third year my family has seen wonderful show, and we'll be back next year. God bless us everyone!

The Turn of the Screw, by Henry James, adapted by Jeffrey Hatcher
Good acting but oh so boring
Wednesday, November 14, 2007
3.0
I saw this show with my father, who is a fan of american literature. He doesnt usually like theatre, and I usually don't like old books. So seeing this together was a compromise. It turns out my dad loved the show, and I thought it was terrible. Me, I was bored out of my mind. I never read the book, so it was hard for me to follow the storyline. And the actors played different people, so I didnít always know who was who. But Iím telling you, my father really enjoyed himself. Yay! He thought the acting was great and the adaption overall was well done. I will agreed with him about the actors, they are talented. But to me they were stuffy and didnítí seem real, like the acting in an old video shown in a boring american lit class on a rainy day. Dread. I give it a 1.0, my dad gives it a 5.0.

Southern Baptist Sissies, by Del Shores
hOT bOYs
Monday, October 29, 2007
4.5
This is SOOOOO fun., And queer!!! OMG how these boys flame. And yes they are HOT boys too! The story is okay, not too well written. But the actors make it come to life (did I say HOT?) with strong performances by all. The end is very, very touching and it has a strong message. What I didn't like (and understand) was the bar scenes. And the ending was a little too predictable and overdone. But overall very HOT and very FUN!!!

Chicago, by Kander and Ebb
A Tale of Two Chicago's
Wednesday, October 10, 2007
3.5
I've seen two Chicago's in recent weeks. One was at the Cumming Playhouse and one is currently at the Holly in Dalonaga. I'm combining my reviews by comparing the strengths and weakneses of both.


^^ Strengths ^^

Both theaters are gorgous!

The ensemble is stronger at the Holly. And overall the Holly's acting and singing is so much better.

The leads, with one exception, were so much stronger at the Cumming Playhouse.

The direction at the Cumming Playhouse was very creative and exciting.

The chorus singing and dancing is so much stronger at the Holly.

I loved the Velma at Cumming.

I loved the Roxie at the Holly.

The Billy Flynn at Cumming was HOT!

Whoever the cute guy is at the Holly who did those fab tricks is sooo amazing!

I really like the Amos in Cumming.

I really liked the Mama at the Holly.

The band was very exciting at Cumming. Yea!

I loved the costumes at the Holly. If you got it, flaunt it! Oh yea baby!


^^ Weaknessess ^^

I didn't like the Roxie at Cumming at all. She stuck out so bad she almost ruined the show for me.

I didn't care for the Velma at the Holly. Although not bad like the Roxie at Cumming, she didn't have the flair and pizzaz I wanted to see.

I didn't care at all for the ensemble cast at Cumming.

I was soooo dispointed in the Billy Flynn at the Holly.

The supporting men in the cast were mostly lame in Cumming.

I didn't like the Amos at the Holly.

The chorography at both shows was very lame. I guess its hard to do Fosse in community theater. It really shows.

The show ran 30 minutes longer at the Holly. Sometimes it drags like molasis.

I was disgusted by the costumes at Cumming. If you ain't got it, hide it. Jelly bellies are gross!


^^ Conclusion ^^

Both shows get a B-. I liked how the Cumming show looked and feeled. But the Roxie in Cumming made an A production into a low B. The Holly show is not well directed, but the cast and energy is better overall, and makes the show just as enjoyable. Good job both Chicago's! Woot!!!

Chicago, by Kander and Ebb
A Tale of Two Chicago's
Wednesday, October 10, 2007
3.5
I've seen two Chicago's in recent weeks. One was at the Cumming Playhouse and one is currently at the Holly in Dalonaga. I'm combining my reviews by comparing the strengths and weakneses of both.


^^ Strengths ^^

Both theaters are gorgous!

The ensemble is stronger at the Holly. And overall the Holly's acting and singing is so much better.

The leads, with one exception, were so much stronger at the Cumming Playhouse.

The direction at the Cumming Playhouse was very creative and exciting.

The chorus singing and dancing is so much stronger at the Holly.

I loved the Velma at Cumming.

I loved the Roxie at the Holly.

The Billy Flynn at Cumming was HOT!

Whoever the cute guy is at the Holly who did those fab tricks is sooo amazing!

I really like the Amos in Cumming.

I really liked the Mama at the Holly.

The band was very exciting at Cumming. Yea!

I loved the costumes at the Holly. If you got it, flaunt it! Oh yea baby!


^^ Weaknessess ^^

I didn't like the Roxie at Cumming at all. She stuck out so bad she almost ruined the show for me.

I didn't care for the Velma at the Holly. Although not bad like the Roxie at Cumming, she didn't have the flair and pizzaz I wanted to see.

I didn't care at all for the ensemble cast at Cumming.

I was soooo dispointed in the Billy Flynn at the Holly.

The supporting men in the cast were mostly lame in Cumming.

I didn't like the Amos at the Holly.

The chorography at both shows was very lame. I guess its hard to do Fosse in community theater. It really shows.

The show ran 30 minutes longer at the Holly. Sometimes it drags like molasis.

I was disgusted by the costumes at Cumming. If you ain't got it, hide it. Jelly bellies are gross!


^^ Conclusion ^^

Both shows get a B-. I liked how the Cumming show looked and feeled. But the Roxie in Cumming made an A production into a low B. The Holly show is not well directed, but the cast and energy is better overall, and makes the show just as enjoyable. Good job both Chicago's! Woot!!!

TEACHERS, the Musical!, by Robin Seidman
Woot!
Tuesday, August 28, 2007
4.0
TEACHERS is a HOT, HOT, HOT musical! Everyone must come see this! Robin Seidman is my hero! And what a great show. The set and tech is gay, but I loved the acting and singing. I'm sooo in love with the principal and the clerk. Barry and Joyce, you two are sooo phat and make TEACHERS even more amazing! In the words of the immortal Feather: FABUTASTIC!

CLOSING SOON
A Little Room at the Inn
by Henry W. Kimmel
Onion Man Productions
An Atlanta Christmas 2017
by Ceccato, Fuller, Strickland, Butler, Bodhaine
Atlanta Radio Theatre Company
Another Naughty and Nice Holiday Cabaret
by Lynna Schmidt
Academy Theatre
Merry Little Holiday Shorts 2017
by Daniel Guyton, Steven Kobar, Mark Harvey Levine, Greg Freier, Ron Burch, Stephen Kaplan, James C. Ferguson
Onstage Atlanta, Inc.
Miracle on South Division Street
by Tom Dudzick
Live Arts Theatre
NOW PLAYING
A Little Room at the Inn
by Henry W. Kimmel
Onion Man Productions
An Atlanta Christmas 2017
by Ceccato, Fuller, Strickland, Butler, Bodhaine
Atlanta Radio Theatre Company
Another Naughty and Nice Holiday Cabaret
by Lynna Schmidt
Academy Theatre
Another Night Before Christmas
by Sean Grennan, with music by Leah Okimoto
ART Station Theatre
Christmas Canteen 2017
by Brandon O’Dell
Aurora Theatre
Dickens Christmas Carol: A Traveling Travesty in Two Tumultuous Acts
by Mark Landon Smith
ACT1
Merry Little Holiday Shorts 2017
by Daniel Guyton, Steven Kobar, Mark Harvey Levine, Greg Freier, Ron Burch, Stephen Kaplan, James C. Ferguson
Onstage Atlanta, Inc.
Midnight at the Masquerade
by The Murder Mystery Company
The Murder Mystery Company in Atlanta
Miracle on South Division Street
by Tom Dudzick
Live Arts Theatre
Miss Bennet: Christmas at Pemberley
by Lauren Gunderson and Margot Melcon
Theatrical Outfit
Miss Nelson Is Missing!
by Joan Cushing
Georgia Ensemble Theatre
Murder on 34th Street
Agathas: A Taste of Mystery

©2012 TheaterReview.com. All rights reserved.