SUBMIT ABOUT FAQ
PEOPLE COMPANIES VENUES
LOGIN NEW USER PRODUCTIONS
REVIEWERS SIX DEGREES
A User-Driven Site for Theater in Atlanta, Georgia
voyager [ALL REVIEWERS]
Companies Reviewed#
Pumphouse Players9
Average Rating Given : 3.87500
Reviews in Last 6 months :
REVIEWS

Barefoot in the Park, by Neil Simon

Thursday, October 20, 2011
4.0
It was a great production. *I* remember it well.

Hmmm..Didn't read anywhere where you could not review something old.

Dearly Departed, by David Bottrell
A redneck romp
Thursday, October 13, 2011
3.5
You can really tell the difference between seasoned theater vets and the weekend warriors- and it's very obvious in this production. A word to the less seasoned: timing, timing and timing.

This is however a good effort by the Pump House and made me laugh out loud. There was rednecks, food, love and a mullet!

DARK MATTERS, by Roberto Aguirre-Sacasa

Wednesday, October 12, 2011
4.5
This creepy little thriller was well done and on a double-bill with a quirky and much too long production of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde.

The cast was right on the mark except for maybe Will Brooks as Michael Cleary. He looked and acted a little uncomfortable, but maybe that's part of the role. Could be.
I was always looking around the corner waiting for something. The ending is abrupt, but you can blame the writer for that.

Dark Matters is compelling at every moment, it certainly is a new way to look at old material, be it the supernatural existence of aliens or the natural right of children to determine their own fate. In this case, we’ll never know which.

'Til Beth Do Us Part, by Jones, Hope, & Wooten
Beth etc...
Wednesday, October 12, 2011
3.5
This was a fairly nice, if uneven production.

The problem was that Kip Henderson (Gibby) and Rene Voige (Suzy) were supposed to be married but had no chemistry. The actress playing Beth was very quiet to the point of barely being heard.

The 2nd act was where things got better. Funny, running around 'Three's Comany' like slapstick that made me laugh.

Tradin' Paint, by Catherine Bush
Racing and Life
Wednesday, October 12, 2011
3.5
Tradin' Paint tells a couple of stories in one small amount of time.

The Pumphouse Players give this production it's just due, with just a few kinks in the armor.
The racetrack set was funny and effective. And having the racers go by in office chairs was cute.
3.5 out of 5.0

Bad Dates, by Theresa Rebeck
Bad Dates is Great!
Monday, February 28, 2011
4.5
And Stacy Vaccaro is awesome in this one woman show!

Please get out and see this production form The Pumphouse Players up in Cartersville. it will be well worth it! Listening to and watching her on stage as Hayley Walker is a delight and very funny!

The Trip to Bountiful, by Horton Foote
Bountiful falls a little short
Wednesday, August 4, 2010
3.0
Many things are lacking in this production. Mostly the performances.

Sandy Cunningham as Mrs. Watts seemed to be trying but comes off as maybe a little more confused and forgetful as the character she portrays. Brad Corbin as Ludie does an okay job, but seems stiff and lacks some most needed depth. Then we have Carolyn Choe as Jessie Mae. She seems to dominate the stage for the better part that she is on it, which is fine but she's not the star and the focus. This may have been the fault of the director. Who knows? As for everyone else the southern accents come and go or are just not there at all.

Now for the good parts. The set was really well done. We go from a home setting to 2 different bus stops and then the end outside in Bountiful at an old shack complete with birdsongs. The set changes were fluid and smooth. Another plus was Aliya Hutcheson a small jewel on the stage. She was charming and totally believable as the young Thelma. She appeared to be plucked right from the 1950's.

I've attended several productions at the Pump House and enjoyed many of them.

Rabbit Hole , by David Linsay-Abaire
Some great cast but not enough...
Wednesday, February 10, 2010
-1.0
I expect a lot at the Pumphouse and usually get it.

Rabbit Hole is just a weak written play that kind of plods along at a snail pace.
But this does not mean bad performances. The stand out here are
Stacy Vaccaro and Kara Duke.
Both are actresses that rate much higher than your run of the mill
community theatre offerings (especially Vaccaro).

Five stars on their performance while only 3 stars for the play itself.

Misery, by Stephen King, Adapted for the Stage by Simon Moore
Misery at The Pumphouse Players Inc
Monday, October 29, 2007
4.5
While sitting in the historic Legion theatre in Cartersville, I didn't know what to expect from this play. It's been around for a few years and adapted by Simon Moore from the Stephen King book. We've all seen the film unless you've been living under a boulder.
My last play I saw at the Pumphouse was Davd Auburn's Proof which was okay, but that play isn't very interesting anyway.

As the lights dimmed some brooding music began and then a television sprang to life on stage which was a complete surprise and was very clever for the scene in which it was used.

As we progressed into the story of Annie Wilkes' disturbed mind, I found myself forgetting it was a stage play, no really. And knowing how the story turns out I found myself being surprised by several twists and details found only in the stage play and not in the film.

That's it, that's as far as I'll go. You need, no, you have to go see this play. It's a first rate production in Cartersville that will be worth whatever drive you make to get there.

Trust me.

CLOSING SOON
Split in Three
by Daryl Lisa Fazio
Aurora Theatre
NOW PLAYING
August Summer Harvest 2016, The Lakeside Plays
by jpbeck
Onion Man Productions
Father Comes Home from the Wars (Parts 1, 2 & 3)
by Suzan-Lori Parks
Actor's Express
God of Carnage
by Yasmina Reza
Pumphouse Players
Improv Monster
by Jackpie Theatre Workshop
Jackpie Theatre Workshop
Murder and Stranger Things
by John Babcock
Agathas: A Taste of Mystery
Split in Three
by Daryl Lisa Fazio
Aurora Theatre

©2012 TheaterReview.com. All rights reserved.