SUBMIT ABOUT FAQ
PEOPLE COMPANIES VENUES
LOGIN NEW USER PRODUCTIONS
REVIEWERS SIX DEGREES
A User-Driven Site for Theater in Atlanta, Georgia
GaTallOne [ALL REVIEWERS]
Companies Reviewed#
Kudzu Playhouse10
Atlanta Classical Theatre1
Average Rating Given : 3.90000
Reviews in Last 6 months :
REVIEWS

The Odd Couple, by Neil Simon
A Biased Review
Tuesday, June 15, 2004
-1.0
I had the pleasure of seeing The Odd couple last Saturday night. In reading the reviews posted on this site I thought I would add my voice to them. They are by and large all correct. Is it eh best production I have seen at Kudzu? No. Was it awful? No not at all judging by the large house that was there on Saturday, they were laughing their heads of. They were a large group that had not been to Kudzu before. They had a wonderful time and to a certain extent, that has a very large bearing on the show.

Several people have made comments to the production values of the show and they are valid. And to Paul, no they are not picky. I had a good time I enjoyed the show and thought that the cast did a good job. Would I recommend you go to see it, yes it is good entertainment.

Deathtrap, by Ira Levine
Wish it had been better
Thursday, May 6, 2004
0.0
I had the pleasure as a student in London of seeing this show during its London premiere. I will never forget the tension and the "twight light zone" twists in the plot that kept me on the edge of my seat. I was in the opening night house for this production and was looking forward to a wonderful show. I have seen several Productions at 14th and have for the most part thoroughly enjoyed them. I am afraid that I must agree with Paul. This production was totally lacking. The set was bland. References to specific set decorations were made yet the decoration was missing.

The performances were lacking. This is to be a thriller. Sorry but there was no tension whatsoever on stage. I am familiar with the script and the choice of playing up one of the minor plot points was, to say the least, just not needed. The physical action between the characters was very contrived and not realistic at all

I am sorry to say that I cannot recommend this show to anyone

The Foreigner, by Larry Shue
Another wonderful Show
Sunday, January 25, 2004
4.0
I had the pleasure of seeing this production Saturday night. Kudzu has the reputation of putting on very good shows. Their production of "the Foreigner" is certainly one of those. It was a pleasure to see Chuck Pettis, as Froggie. I previously enjoyed his work in "Over the River and Through the Woods".

Mr. Meinhardt filled the shoes of the foreigner very well. His shy self effacing demeanor is a nice contrast for the self assured and confident gentleman. The by play between Mr. Meinhardt and Mr. Meeks’s Ellard is a true pleasure to watch. They are highly entertaining.

Jeannie Hinds is wonderful as Betty Meeks, the Lodge owner. Her sweet smile and kind words make you feel like you would want to spend a weekend in her lodge basking in her sweet southern charm.

Brian Godleski has the right mix of charm and snake oil salesman as Rev. David. His smile and his character make you want to go home and take a bath. He is just right for the wolf in sheep’s clothing.

Andy Meeks is terrific as Ellard. His double takes and timing are near perfect. He knows how far to push the absurd without taking it to buffoonery. He makes you laugh at him and along with him. His portrayal of the simpleton is very well done.

Brandy Rizk is wonderful as Catherine the girl caught in the middle. She is sweet and very attractive. What she sees in Jason Meinhardt, one would have to question her sanity. (Just teasing, they are engaged according to the program)

Mathew Cornwell plays Owen, the villain. He is truly despicable. You almost feel like hissing at him when he comes on stage. He is wonderfully uncultured and few bricks shy of a full load.

All in all a strong production and very entertaining.

Blood Brothers, by Willy Russell
WOW! What a Marvelous Production
Monday, October 13, 2003
5.0
I had the pleasure, on Saturday night, to watch a truly marvelous musical production. Kudzu Playhouse’s production of “Blood Brothers” is a very moving musical experience.

The intimate setting is perfect for this story. Set in Liverpool, England, it tells the story of fraternal twin brothers separated at birth when their mother, in fear of her children (7) being taken from her by the state gives one to her wealthy childless employer. She signs a pack with the Devil and is forever plague by her actions.

We see the boys grow up one in poverty the other in affluence. They have a chance meeting and finding out that they are born on the same day, believe that they are destined to be “Blood Brothers” including the childhood ritual of pricking each other’s fingers.

The truly remarkable thing to watch is Andy Meeks and Shaun Whitley as the brothers. When we first meet them, they are 7 almost 8. Mr. Meeks and Mr. Whitley truly have captured the facial and body characteristics of that wonderful age. After a very short time you don’t see the men on stage but the child. Soon we see them as pre-teens. They are joined, by the stunning Ms. Paige Anderson, as Linda the young who will complete this triangle of friends. Ms. Anderson Has a stage presence beyond her years. Her smile and her warm performance truly enhance this production.

When next we see them they are teenagers full of adolescent angst. We see the beginning of the triangle, a shape that is not very stable in relationships of the heart. The true irony is the duet sang by the brothers, each wishing they were in the others shoes.

One cannot overlooking the performance of Shelly, playing the part of Ms Johnstone, the mother who must watch these boys knowing the true relationship. Her voice reaches down to your heart and makes you feel her pain. You want to reach out to her and comfort her. Her performance is subtle and understated providing the perfect balance of the energetic performance of Mr. Meeks.

Mr. Meinhardt is very good as the Narrator. At time he is almost satanic in his taunting of the characters for the choices they have made.

The one weak link is the choreography. It is a little rough. Hopefully this can be attributed to opening weekend jitters.

Don’t miss this show!!!

Dial "M" for Murder, by Fredrick Knott
Dail "M" for a Marvelous time!!!
Saturday, January 11, 2003
4.0
Once again Kudzu Playhouse has done it again. The classic tale of betrayal, is beautifully staged in their intimate venue. The theater seats 120 people and this production is sure to have you on the edge of your seat. Tony Wendice, very aptly played by Jim Roberts, has a problem. He loved the High Society life style that being a professional tennis star provided him, and now that his professional tennis days are over, he planned to settle down with his beautiful rich wife, Margot, played to perfection by the stunningly beautiful Andrea Grieco, but he has one small problem. She fell in love with someone else and he almost lost her. He solves the problem by planning to eliminate the uncertainty of her affections. He plans to murder her.

What unfolds is a wonderful evening of twists and turns as the “perfect murder” goes wrong. The audience knows the who, what, and why of the murder but now gets to watch what happens when it goes awry. The rest of the cast is filled out with wonderfully talented actors. Jason Meinhardt is wonderful as the American ex lover who gets caught in the middle of the marital discourse. Chris Thomas is equally great as the con man sufficiently “influenced” by Tony to commit the “perfect murder”. Larry Fairall is terrific as Chief Inspector Hubbard who puts all of the pieces of the puzzle together.

The set is beautiful The 1950’s costumes and hairstyles make you feel transported back in time . This is one not to miss

Over The River and Through the Woods, by Joe DiPietro
Tengo Familia!!
Saturday, October 5, 2002
4.0
“Over the River and Through the Woods “ lives up to its name. It is a journey through life. We see both ends of the spectrum. First we meet Nick Cristano, a young man with a future that is looking brighter everyday. He has it all. Good looks. A promotion to a job that he loves. In essence, his whole live ahead of him. He then introduces us to his Grandparents. Aida, Frank, Nunzio, and Emma. Four of the most loveable, irascible, sweet people you could want to meet. They are at the other end of the spectrum. They are facing their twilight years. Frank has difficulty driving. Nunzio is retired and being dragged on endless excursions by his wife and Aida thinks the whole world is undernourished and in need of fresh pasta and Crumb Cake. And Emma will always be there to provide you with a Mass Card to heal your tortured soul. But both Nick and his grandparents are connected by a common bond. Their common bond is love of Family. Throughout the show they demonstrate this love over and over. They are of a different generation and this is the source of the humor of the play Nick has difficulty in bridging the generation gap. We watch as he tries to explain that he, the last of the younger generation, is about to move, and it is not out of the city (New York) but to Seattle, Washington. The fun begins as the Grandparents begin to plot on how to keep him there. Including a Blind Date with beautiful single catholic girl.

David Kronawitter is outstanding as Nick. He has the difficult task of having to show tension within the family as he makes his announcement as well as the frustration in dealing with his Grandparents total lack of understanding as to why he has to make this move. The actor walks the fine line but always lets the audience see the love that he feels for these people, even if he doesn’t always understand them.

The remainder of the cast is wonderful as well. Each brings a wonderful richness to their parts. They each make you want sit down and have dinner with them.

The production values are, as usually for this intimate theater, outstanding. The set is wonderful. You feel like you are right there in their living room.

Don’t miss it.



Godspell, by John Michael Tebelah
Written by Friend of Mine
Friday, September 20, 2002
5.0
Don't miss this amazing, hip hop, hilarious, moving and uplifting new take
of the 70's
musical Godspell in its final weeks at the Kudzu Playhouse in Roswell.
Remarkably
and hiply directed by Andy Meeks with witty, brilliant and beguiling musical
direction by Nathan Hughes, this profoundly moving and often outrageously
funny production is lead by a masterful ensemble cast with more than a few
flashes of genius throughout. At the heart of this big hearted musical
based on the uplifting Gospel According to Mathew, is a powerfully acted
Jesus performed by the versatile and convincing with an exceptional
emotional range - Keith Dykes. The cast is chock full of brilliance, whimsey
and exceptional talent with stand out performances by all. Their singing,
dancing, hi jinks, vaudevilliant slap stick, energy and depth of performance
is rarely seen in this town...never mind the streets off and on Broadway and
beyond. Expect for a number of these shooting stars to go far.....Special
mention to the hip and powerful Kyle Price as Judas/John the Baptist; the
sexy and marvellous Robyn Gurin - her dancing, singing, finesse and prowess
were awesome; the absolutely roll in the ailes comedy and humanity of Chris
Skinner; the endearing and self effacing charm of Keith Waldrop; the lovely
singing and wild take and mirth as a physically-challenged joker of Kelly
Grady, the beauty and spiritual purity of Kristen Keating and more! The
singing, the dancing, the emotionaly roller coaster! This Godspell takes you
on a a wild and bawdy hip and happening journey that is full of heart and
soul! Not to miss!

Cathy H. Burroughs


Godspell, by John Michael Tebelah
WHat a SPELL they Cast
Monday, September 16, 2002
5.0
What can I say but WOW!

On Sunday I had the privilege of watching Kudzu Playhouse’s production of “Godspell”. Quite frankly I was astounded. IT WAS THEATER AT ITS BEST.A true ensemble production a stellar talent.

I first saw “Godspell” in 1974 and was blown away by the concept and the music. It stuck with me all these years. I was looking forward to seeing it again. I wanted to see just what this intimate theater would do with this production.

From the causal way in which the actors enter the stage and begin to interact with each other, the audience is slowly drawn into the action. We see the common person on stage’ from the slightly drunken street person to the street vendor, shop owner, customers policeman, and waitress. All walks of life can be seen mirrored in front of us. As “John the Baptist’ (Kyle Price) admonishes us to “Prepare ye the way of the Lord”, in a very warm and rich baritone voice, we are introduced to a young man that had not been seen earlier. In some ways he didn’t seem to fit in with the rest of the people. He appeared to be at first and observer and then leader.

Keith Dykes displayed a remarkable ability to both be a part of the group and yet still maintain a certain air of difference, yes, a paternal feel about his demeanor. His “Jesus” was compassionate, as well as, strong willed. You saw the “man” in the Son of Man. He seemed to let himself get caught up in the moment with his fellow men, but at the end would always return to the vision of inner peace.

By in large, to me, the most notable performance was by Kristen Keating. Her performance of “By My Side” was hauntingly beautiful. Her voice filled the theater and reached down into your very soul and made you feel her emotion. I am still haunted by her voice.

Andy Meeks is to applauded for his skillful direction and careful updating for this timeless story.

All that I can say is that if you can find someway to get yourself to see this show. It shouldn’t be missed

Social Security, by Andrew Bergman
A true Mothers Day Gift
Friday, May 10, 2002
4.0
Excellent show by a talented cast. This engaging comedy is handled quite deftly by a talented cast. The timing and pacing is marvelous. We are transported to a trendy Eastside apartment (kudos for the set) of Barbara and David Kahn, very successful art dealers. There is trouble afoot. From the very opening line we are treated to a fast paced comedy with touching moments. Not to spoil the plot, but trouble is in the air when Barbara’s sister and brother-in-law drop by to drop some troubling news on the unsuspecting Kahns. From there the show takes of giving us a comical view of the problems facing a lot of baby boomers, what to do with aging parents. The humor is handle quite well and I think the audience will be surprised by some of the twists and turns this comedy employs.

All in all it should not be missed.

Kudzus intimate setting is perfect for this show.

Steel Magnolias, by Robert Harling
They put the Steel In the Magnolias
Thursday, March 14, 2002
5.0
Once again this new playhouse is full of suprises. Steel is one of my favorite shows. And Kudzu does not disappoint. The quality of actting is just simply wonderfull. You see the laughter and the pain that these women experience. And you get to feel like you are living it with them. I must say that I have yet to see a show that hasnt been great and more than worth the value. Go see it and laugh and cry. It is truly great entertainment.

Clue, by Based on the Motion Picture
Ambitious Undertaking
Monday, January 14, 2002
3.0
Trying to squeeze a large gothic mansion onto a small intimate stage is an ambitious undertaking. Kudzu Playhouse, an up and coming new theatre in Roswell, has decided to make this their opening production for their 2002 season.

The adaptation of the movie of the same name is currently running through February 23, 2002. The set is quite impressive if a bit on the cramped side when 8 major characters have to be in the same room. There are the usually twists and turns of the farcical whodunit. Plenty of finger pointing and the usual array of weapons, the lead pipe, wrench, candlestick, etc…. The local adaptation follows the movie very closely and the cast is by and large very up to the task of making us guess the murderer. I was particularly impressed with Mrs. Peacock, Janie Lawson, she was very fun to watch and had a most memorable character.

All in all it was a fun night out and full of laughs.

OPENING SOON
Murder and Stranger Things
by John Babcock
Agathas: A Taste of Mystery
CLOSING SOON
Nobody Loves You
by Itamar Moses (book & lyrics), Gaby Alter (music & lyrics)
Horizon Theatre Company
Pie in the Sky
by Lawrence Thelen
ART Station Theatre
The Daisy Princess
Onion Man Productions
Urinetown
by Mark Hollmann (book & lyrics) and Greg Kotis (music & lyrics)
Act 3 Productions
NOW PLAYING
A Few Good Men
by Aaron Sorkin
New Dawn Theater
August Summer Harvest 2016, The Lakeside Plays
by jpbeck
Onion Man Productions
God of Carnage
by Yasmina Reza
Pumphouse Players
Improv Monster
by Jackpie Theatre Workshop
Jackpie Theatre Workshop
Nobody Loves You
by Itamar Moses (book & lyrics), Gaby Alter (music & lyrics)
Horizon Theatre Company
Pie in the Sky
by Lawrence Thelen
ART Station Theatre
Split Second
by Dennis McIntyre
Academy Theatre
The Daisy Princess
Onion Man Productions
Urinetown
by Mark Hollmann (book & lyrics) and Greg Kotis (music & lyrics)
Act 3 Productions

©2012 TheaterReview.com. All rights reserved.