SUBMIT ABOUT FAQ
PEOPLE COMPANIES VENUES
LOGIN NEW USER PRODUCTIONS
REVIEWERS SIX DEGREES
A User-Driven Site for Theater in Atlanta, Georgia
GCherry [ALL REVIEWERS]
Companies Reviewed#
Onstage Atlanta, Inc.8
Dad's Garage Theatre Company1
Average Rating Given : 4.00000
Reviews in Last 6 months :
REVIEWS

Mindgame, by Anthony Horowitz
They got me.
Wednesday, February 3, 2010
4.0
I have not reviewed a show for Onstage for a while. The quality has been a bit of a roller coaster. I did not see the 2nd version of Urinetown and I missed Wild Party. I wish I had skipped Harvey Milk, but that is another story.

I did not plan to see Mindgame, but a friend wanted to go and paid for the tickets. Can't say no to that! Turns out that Mindgame is a lot of fun. Great cast, especially Darrell! Really good set/good production values. A few really minor glitches the performance I saw, but in a complicated show like Mindgame, it is forgivable.

Just about the time you think you have the plot figured out at intermission, Act II sends you down several different paths. Since this is a mystery, I don't want to spoil it.

Act I appears to start off a little slow, but by intermission the actors are almost exploding. Climax, duh! You also need to pay attention, because what you think you see may not be true.

Go see for yourself. I hope they can work out the quality issues and stay more consistant on the higher level that I have seen in the past. This show is a step in the right direction. Go see Mindgame.


Social Security, by Andrew Bergman
A fun show!
Monday, February 5, 2007
4.0
I didn't know anything about this show in advance, but Social Security turned out to be a very fun comedy. Of course, with Kim Salome in the cast it was bound to be good!

The set was quite nice (except for that bar, same one used in Virginia Wolfe, and I hated it there too). But overall, the set was spot-on for a mid-80's urban loft. Well done. As said, Kim Salome is in her element in comedy, playing the sophisticated urban art dealer. Shelly Barnett is also quite good as her opposite straight-laced stay-at-home empty nester. The guys really have to work to keep up with the ladies, and I mean that in a kind way. I wish the roles for Bill Hajdu and Bobbie Elzey had more stage time.

There have been some big hits, and some misses, at Onstage in the last few seasons, but anyone who enjoys a light comedy will really like Social Security. I certainly recommend it.

Urinetown, by
Run, don't walk
Monday, March 13, 2006
5.0
If you are a fan of big musicals, go see Urinetown. If you are not a fan of musicals, go see Urinetown any way!! This is not your typical sappy show with love songs being crooned by silly lovers. This is satire at its best, although my guests did not catch all of the 'theatre humor' in the show. Allie, Michael, Eric, Scott, Jenna, and Robert are among the best I have seen, but the whole ensemble is great. The choreography is quite good, especially for a small stage. I especially enjoy seeing the band on stage, and boy do they sound great! The only possible negative is that one song seems to be in a key too low for Michael as that is the only time he does not belt it out over the audience. This is a terrific show. Make sure you make a reservation, people have been turned away because they were at capacity.

Love! Valour! Compassion!, by Terrance McNally
not just a "gay play"
Sunday, May 9, 2004
3.0
I usually don't like to see a show opening weekend, but I have a friend in the cast of LVC! so off I went. I would have given the performance a 3.5 rating if the format of this site would allow but I just couldn't label it a "4" and feel honest about it.

I had never seen the show and didn't know what to expect. I was surprized that the set was so minimalist, very different from what one usually thinks of for a Rousseau design, but after the first 10 minutes I forgot about it. Typical to an opening weekend performance, there were a few of line problems and bad lighting goofs. However I was completely charmed by the actors playing Buzz and John/James. Both were a delight to watch and kept my interest throughout. I really hate shows with two intermissions, but I guess there is no way around it with the way this show was written, but I do have to say that I never looked at my watch and I was not aware how late it was when the show was finally over. The actor playing Ramone was quite good but the script did not allow for as much character development as Buzz or John/James. I had prepared myself for lots of nudity, but I never felt uncomfortable about it. It was not gratuitous or fake. Same for the language- it was strong, but realistic.

Mostly, I had feared that this would be a dated "gay play" which it is not. It is really more about love and friendships and maintaining a bond. Sure, there are some moments that are strictly '90's in theme, but the central message is timeless. It is my prediction that the show will tighten up post-tech week and become a delight for audiences. If I am wrong, then I expect to hear about it here. Now that is really taking a chance!

Ragtime: In Concert, by Book by Terrence McNally, Music by Stephen Flaherty, Lyrics by Lynn Ahrens
Ragtime in Concert is Wonderful!
Saturday, July 26, 2003
5.0
Onstage Atlanta has done it again with another wonderful "concert" version of a major musical. Perfectly cast, well directed and with a terrific quartet, Ragtime was a terrific evening of entertainment without being a "butt-buster" of a musical. Jeffery Brown did a great job getting the right people for this show and in making a story come to life with only the music to guide us. I have never seen the full musical, so that is important. The cast works very well as an ensemble and never did I see anyone that did not appear to be having a great time on stage. The chorus blends beautifully and the opening number was worth the price of admission. The audience loved every second of this performance and I totally agree. The only thing I can think of that is even remotely negative is that there were a few slow lighting moments, but even those were forgivable. I highly recommend Ragtime to every and anyone.

Five Women Wearing The Same Dress, by Alan Ball
Three and a Half
Saturday, February 15, 2003
3.0
Sometimes you just get tired of seeing the same people every time you see a show. It makes you wonder about the company. Did they intend to do that or do they not have a choice?

If I had only seen Act I, my review would have been a 4. The set, the ensemble, the believeable banter between characters, even the costumes.....the audience was really rolling. Everything snapped together and I was hooked. The actors were having a great time and so were we. Some of the script is a little rough, but I am told this show is older and the 'language-for-the-sake-of-language' like a lot of shows from the 1980's or early 1990's always bothers me, not because of the language but because after a point it no longer seems natural. Of the characters, Meredith is the spoiled and jealous little sister, Frances is the sweet little innocent the others can't stand, Trisha is the jaded older woman, Georgeanne is the wanna-be who settled for less and regrets it, and Mindy is (thankfully) not the stereotypical black sheep. Anyone who has ever been in a wedding will recognize most of these characters and remember who they know will fit those types.

Then there was Act II. It started off well and then dropped like a stone. The scene between one bridesmaid and the lone groomsman (who pops up from nowhere) is terribly long. The main problem is the script. Again, the scene is outdated. No one talks or behaves like that any more. And even though he does very well, it seems unfair that the author sticks this guy in the end of the show almost like an after thought. The two actors just never seemed comfortable or believeable in the situation they were trying to portray. That is not to suggest that either is not a good actor. When the others come back into the room towards the end of the show it is as if these two had been holding their breath during that terribly long scene and they come back to life. Maybe the age difference is too great to be believeable. Maybe they were just having a bad day. Unfortunantly, that scene brought the high energy of the show to a grinding hault and the audience could not recover, nor could I. If I had seen Act II first, I probably would have left at intermission. I left the theatre wondering WHY did the author do that to his script? WHY did the director not cut some of that stuff out or find a way to fix it? This is why I give the show an overall 3 score.

Jekyll and Hyde in Concert, by Wildhorn / Bricusse
Most Excellent!!!
Sunday, November 10, 2002
5.0
I didn't know they had it in them! Onstage Atlanta has pulled off quite an amazing "In Concert" version of 'Jekyll & Hyde' that you MUST SEE! Danny Cook (I saw him in CHESS, Eden & Fiddler) is superb. His voice is better than ever. (He is way better than the soundtrack!) Alli Simpson and Maura Carey are terrific. The entire ensemble is wonderful, with many faces & voices you have seen before. I expected a piano and maybe drums, but they had a small band, with was an extra treat.


Sadly, this is a limited engagement with only six performances scheduled. I strongly recommend that you postpone what ever you may have planned for next weekend and get tickets to 'Jekyll & Hyde: In Concert' before they sell out. You WILL thank me!

When The Devil's Be Callin', by Stephen Peace
Wishing for more
Sunday, August 25, 2002
3.0
I saw "Devils'" last week, hoping for a really twisted drama, but was somewhat disappointed with the story. Don't get me wrong, the cast is pretty good, especially Allison, but I never could decide what the play was really about. There is the voodoo stuff and sex and the slave's backstory stuff, but there was not enough to tie things together.

The set and the costumes were pretty good for a theatre this small. The language in the show was not believable- and I don't mean the 'N' word- I mean that some of the language is too modern/Historically inconsistant. There are some funny moments in the show, but I think the audience is not sure if it is appropriate to laugh, because of the 'N' word, which really IS correct for the time of the play, but hard for our generation to listen to.

Knowing that "Devils'" is a new play, I can certainly see its potential, but it needs a little tweeking to make it correct for the time period and give it a little more gusto.

Carrie White: The Musical*, by Sean Daniels, George Faughnan (adapted), Joel Abbott (Music)
Is it just me?
Saturday, June 29, 2002
4.0
Maybe I'm getting too old? Maybe it is because I never cared for the movie. Than goodness for George Faughnan. He is always worth seeing. I'd better stop there.

OPENING SOON
Midnight at the Masquerade
by The Murder Mystery Company
The Murder Mystery Company in Atlanta
CLOSING SOON
"Fallout"
by Laura King
Onion Man Productions
Glengarry Glen Ross
by David Mamet
Pinch n' Ouch Theatre
Shakespeare in Love
by Lee Hall, based on work by Marc Norman & Tom Stoppard
Alliance Theatre Company
NOW PLAYING
"Fallout"
by Laura King
Onion Man Productions
August: Osage County
by Tracy Letts
Lionheart Theatre Company
Bengal Tiger at the Baghdad Zoo
by Rajiv Joseph
7 Stages
Glengarry Glen Ross
by David Mamet
Pinch n' Ouch Theatre
Shakespeare in Love
by Lee Hall, based on work by Marc Norman & Tom Stoppard
Alliance Theatre Company
The Dixie Swim Club
by Jesse Jones, Nicholas Hope, Jamie Wooten
Onstage Atlanta, Inc.
The Spy Who Murdered Me
by Kevin Gillese
Agathas: A Taste of Mystery
Throw Me on the Burnpile and Light Me Up
by Lucy Alibar
Aurora Theatre

©2012 TheaterReview.com. All rights reserved.