SUBMIT ABOUT FAQ
PEOPLE COMPANIES VENUES
LOGIN NEW USER PRODUCTIONS
REVIEWERS SIX DEGREES
A User-Driven Site for Theater in Atlanta, Georgia
Father of the Bride

a Comedy
CATEGORY : COMEDY DRAMA
by Caroline Francke

COMPANY : Cumming Attractions Theatre Company [WEBSITE]
VENUE : Cumming Playhouse [WEBSITE]
ID# 1010

SHOWING : August 06, 2004 - August 29, 2004

[REVIEW THIS PRODUCTION]

PRODUCTION DESCRIPTION

It's the 1950's and Mr. Banks learns that one of the young men he has seen occasionally about the house is about to become his son-in-law. Daughter Kay announces the engagement out of nowhere. Mrs. Banks and her children are happy, but Mr. Banks is in a dither. The groom-to-be, Buckley Dunstan, appears on the scene and Mr. Banks realizes that the engagement is serious. Buckley and Kay don't want a "big" wedding- just a simple affair with a few friends! We soon learn, however, that the "few friends" idea is soon out....then the trouble really begins.


CAST & CREW LIST
Cast Jacqueline E. Goldston
Producer Jim Severnak
Director Alice Stapleton
Stage Manager Brittany Harper
Assistant Stage Manager Jennifer Liddle
Kay Banks Julie Andrews
Peggy Kate Awtrey
Ellie Banks Mary Becker
Ben Banks Jack Carpenter
Buckley Dunstan Steve Cook
Miss Bellamy Katy B. Cook
Tammy Banks Katie Fox
Tim's Florist Jacqueline E. Goldston
Massoula Chris Goldston
Ms. Pulitski Pat Groman
Buzz/Pete John Heslin
Red Gene Heslin
Joe Adam Levenstein
Delilah Cheryl Rogers
Stanley Banks Bill Wilson
Click to Submit Cast & Crew Info for this production
REVIEWS

[REVIEW THIS PRODUCTION]

Tremendous family entertainment!
by ChuckFoy
Thursday, August 26, 2004
5.0
Father of the Bride is the second CatCo production my wife and I have seen together. Both Brigadoon and Father of the Bride represented the best in wholesome family entertainment. Between R-rated violent, vulgar movies and Eminem-like music with explicit lyrics it can be difficult to find a choice like this one.

The venue is charming! The old Cumming schoolhouse's red brick face is warm and inviting. Inside we got an unexpected treat in the beautiful classrooms adorned with photos and trinkets from the school's history. Very cool. The theatre itself is gorgeous with a warm, intimate atmosphere from the natural wood floor to the open ceiling.

Father of the Bride's set was very cute. The detail was extraordinary and it was evident that a lot of people put a lot of hard work into it.

The costumes and make-up were first-rate. The caterer (Massoula?) looked authentic and Tammy's costumes (the bride's teen-age sister) were precious.

Music? They should have sold the sound-track. People just don't appreciate good music anymore. Sorry, Eminem.

The acting was terrific. I don't think any of these folks will be thanking the academy anytime soon, but you can sure see how hard they worked. The result was just like last year's Brigadoon-- we left convinced that these were not actors, but characters in the story. Bill Wilson is lovable. Katie Fox (Tammy) was cute and fit her role beautifully. Cheryl Rogers (Delilah) was hilarious. Mary Becker (Ellie) was great. Julie Andrews (Kay) was excellent as well. My good friend Steve Cook (Buckley) was great again, but my wife and I both felt that Steve's lovely wife Katy stole the show as Miss Bellamy. We roared every time she took to the stage!

And the crowd was terrific, too. They ranged from well-behaved tots to long-tenured AARP members. Everyone had a great time.

Father of the Bride is closing soon. If you haven't seen it yet, don't miss out! We can't wait to see CatCo's next project!!!

[POST A COMMENT REGARDING THIS REVIEW]
This is a Great Show
by C. Smith
Thursday, August 19, 2004
5.0
I just want to thank Cumming Attractions Theater Company (CATCo) for putting on another wonderful production. It would be a shame if anyone missed the opportunity to see it. The cast, set, costumes, and music are all top notch and certainly worth the trip to Cumming to enjoy. The new Cumming Playhouse is beautiful and a perfect venue for this fine troupe. As "familymom" has said, it is rare today to find wholesome, family entertainment which I have found out is CATCo's stock and trade.
This show does date itself, however, it brings to mind a time when life was simpler and the problems the Banks family have to face are timeless.
Kudos to the lead actors, Bill Wilson (Stanley), Mary Becker (Ellie) and Julie Andrews (Kay), and to the rest of the family, including Jack Carpenter (Ben), and Katy Fox (Tammy). They bring the Banks family to life and do it with energy and fine comic timing.
The supporting cast is equal to their tasks as well: Steve Cook as the clueless groom, Buckley; Kate Awtry as the "eager to be married" Peggy; Katy Cook as the organized but frustrated secretary, Miss Bellamy; Cheryl Rogers as the "in charge maid" (Delilah), Adam Levenstein as Joe, the dead pan "circulation expert" and last, but certainly not least, Chris Goldston who IS Massoula, the exotic and flamboyant caterer.
I laughed from the opening scene to the last, (and even cried a little) as did the rest of the audience. This is a great show and I certainly look forward to seeing more CATCo productions in the future. Thank you again, CATCo.
[POST A COMMENT REGARDING THIS REVIEW]
an atrocity to mankind
by cumming2u
Wednesday, August 18, 2004
0.0
This production is an atrocity to mankind. The concept that men and women feel it's appropriate to wed without extending the same right to same sex partners is totally hypocritical. It brings home what a preposterous life is without the joys of homosexuality.

I gagged all through the play. All the acting was disastrous. Bill Wilson, as Stanley Banks, gave a betraying portrayal of a middle-class father. Actually pretending to care for his little girl on her special day is so outside the mainstream it’s laughable. The scene where Steve Cook comes in as Kay’s fiancé Buckley, and Wilson doesn’t even look twice at Cook’s hunky figure, is so unrealistic it’s like listening to George W. Bush talk about his policies in Iraq. I mean, any normal warm-blooded American male would do practically anything to join Steve in the sack.

Jeez. What a farce! [POST A COMMENT REGARDING THIS REVIEW]
False Reviewer.... by jegoldston
Yes, it is OBVIOUS that this is another false posting. Why? Because there is a homosexual reference.
It's too bad that this anonymous individual who is posting false reviews is that bent on wasting his time on a computer when he could be doing something productive. ...
And, fyi, family entertainment is actually popular :-) Thanks to everyone else for your kind words of encouragment.
bitter by andy
I have to say your comments are a little bitter. I am all for same sex marriage but what on earth does it have to do with this show? It is for entertainment purposes, not to make a political statement. And as far as the pretending to care for his daughter on her wedding day.....I think you must be the only one who thinks that. I was married 2 months ago and I know my dad was very happy for me and cared for me. You may be bitter about something, but why are you taking it out on the show? Just to note, I have not seen the show or been to the theatre before, just wanted to add my 2 cents.
Get a life by woodyallen
You sir, need desperately to find a hobby. And by the way, Bill Wilson kept the play alive and the cast on their toes.
A Wonderful Show for the Family
by familymom
Wednesday, August 18, 2004
5.0
Do you know how rare it is to find a show that entertains mom, dad, an elementary and middle school aged children? Father of the Bride fits the bill. We laughed (ok, I cried a little too) and we had a wonderful discussion after the play about our wedding day. My favorite kind of show - rated G, highly entertaining, and followed by stimulating conversation! A must see! [POST A COMMENT REGARDING THIS REVIEW]
Laughed, Cried, Applouaded
by sameoldkira
Tuesday, August 17, 2004
4.0
In my 50 some years I have seen many plays and musicals. Professionnal and non. One can tell when when the actors are giving it all and when they are not. When the lines click and when they do not. Last Friday, the 13th, I was one of many who saw the Catco production of Father of the Bride. I laughed so hard I thought I would cry, my sides hurt. Everyone on stage was giving their all and it showed, even down to the facial expressions. Thank you for a wounderful performance. I am looking forward to seeing more. [POST A COMMENT REGARDING THIS REVIEW]
must see!
by nscumplj
Tuesday, August 17, 2004
5.0
This is a wonderful production. The concept that men and women think differently about many things, including weddings, is timeless. It brings home what a boring world it would be if this weren't true.

I laughed all through the play. All the acting was tremendous. Bill wilson, as Stanley Banks, gave a particularly accurate portayal of a father, naturally concerned about finances and logistics, but who just can't say no to his little girl on her special day. The scene where, when asked why only 150 people can come to the reception, and says because the house won't hold more than 150, is particularly effective. So is his constant mantra, when asked for a backup plan, that 'it won't rain'.

CATCO's new venue, Cumming Playhouse, is a great theatre, and a wonderful addition to the area.



[POST A COMMENT REGARDING THIS REVIEW]
Old School
by StageHiker00
Tuesday, August 17, 2004
1.0
This is the kind of show in which all men share a certain no-nonsense approach to life, and all women share certain romantic desires. The whole story hinges on the assertions that all women want big weddings; all men oppose them, and that weddings are barbaric rituals in which women come before their tribe to stake a public claim on their men, so that when the men inevitably stray, someone will send them back where they belong.

This sort of thing plays better to older folks who grew up taking these comic gender tropes for granted. People under 30, however, unless they grew up in very conservative households, will probably be puzzled or put off by these too-easy stereotypes.

And at this distance from the story's origin, they may also be unnecessarily irked by Bill Wilson, playing the title role of Stanley Banks, an his apparent cheapness. Wilson describes himself as a "thrifty and frugal man," and yet nearly has a coronary every time a bill comes in. He seems like a jerk and a tightwad, much like the entire production.

Yuck. [POST A COMMENT REGARDING THIS REVIEW]
Please clarify by jazzz
I understand that you did not like the play, or its premise. If you wish to see a more modern take on the original play (which is set in the 1950's), may I recommend the movie version, starring Steve Martin. Stagehiker, could you offer a bit of CONSTRUCTIVE criticism so that we don't all feel like "jerks and tightwads"?! This criticism was hardly helpful to the cast, and makes it seem as if you have an axe to grind, either with Cumming Playhouse, or conservative society at large. I'm sure that was NOT your intent! Thank you for your honest response!

same old same old by mark
i'm sure it's a person who has nothing more than an axe to grind. i haven't seen your show, but i'm sure--after reading the other two reviews--it's just fine. so it's obvious the last review is yet another instance of someone on this web site tearing apart a talented troupe with a total disregard for people's feelings. perhaps for no reason other than petty jealousy (let me guess; was this person not cast as the father?) or is it competitive positioning (is that infamously tall box-office guy with funny teeth still posting with numerous false pseudonyms?).
such negative postings have wrongly marred quality shows recently at both cobb and kudzu, and now it appears the negativism is spreading to other nearby companies.
Please don't plagarize someone else's review by dsnylover
StageHiker, did you even come see "Father of the Bride?" I noticed there was something that didn't seem quite right about your review, so I did some research and found much of your review, word-for-word, lifted from the Tucson Weekly news from Jan. 22, 2004, which can be found at the following web address: http://www.tucsonweekly.com/gbase/arts/Content?oid=oid:52945. I am a journalist myself, and I am pretty sure that writer James Reel from Tucson, Ariz., would not be very happy to know that you plagarized his review of their local production of "Father of the Bride." (And the subhead stated that the Tucson show was "an enjoyable production despite the dated script" by the way.)

As a member of the CATCo production's cast, I know firsthand how hard this cast and crew worked to make this the best show it can be. People who have come to see the show seem to have really enjoyed it, as is evidenced by the peals of laughter coming from the audience. Obviously, good word of mouth is spreading because our audience has gotten steadily larger as the show has progressed. Perhaps you would have had nice or at least constructive things to say here had you seen the show personally. If you actually DID see the show and didn't like it, couldn't you at least say why IN YOUR OWN WORDS? Give us suggestions for how we can make it better for the remaining audiences we'll be showing to. The fact that you couldn't tell us what we need to do better and that you had to rely on someone else's review to form your opinion makes me think you did not see the show in the first place and that you DO have an axe to grind.

I am not trying to start anything here... I just wanted to blow the whistle on your very suspicious review. I just don't think your opinion should be able to influence anyone's decision whether or not to see the show, since it was obviously not your opinion in the first place. It's not fair to all the people who have worked so hard on this production.
I can't stop laughing! by jazzz
I had to see for myself... Here's a paste from the "real" article : (from another STATE!) .............................................................

"And it's the kind of show in which all men share a certain no-nonsense approach to life, and all women share certain romantic desires. The whole story hinges on the assertions that all women want big weddings; all men oppose them, and that weddings are barbaric rituals in which women come before their tribe to stake a public claim on their men, so that when the men inevitably stray, someone will send them back where they belong.

This sort of thing plays better to older folks who grew up taking these comic gender tropes for granted, and indeed, the Catalina Players' opening-night audience included a whole vanload of people in their 70s, 80s and 90s who seemed to be enjoying themselves. People under 40, however, unless they grew up in very conservative households, will probably be puzzled or put off by these too-easy stereotypes.

And at this distance from the story's origin, they may also be unnecessarily irked by Stanley's apparent cheapness. Stanley describes himself as a "thrifty and frugal man," and nearly has a coronary every time a bill comes in. He'll seem like a jerk and a tightwad unless you remember that Stanley's generation was traumatized by the Great Depression, and money was not something for them to part with lightly.

As Stanley, Dan Baerg clearly draws more inspiration from the exasperated Spencer Tracy than the manic Steve Martin, and nicely conveys Stanley's inner conflicts. He doesn't want to empty his bank account, and he wants even less to let go of his beloved daughter, but he also grudgingly signs check after check, because what's most important to him is making his daughter happy. "

Plagiarized Trout Casserole by Minotaur
4 large wild Alaskan trout fillets
Salt and flour
1/3 cup butter
1/2 pound fresh mushrooms
2 tsp parsley flakes
2 tbsp olive oil
2 cups plus white wine

Salt and dust trout with flour. Sautee with butter in skillet until golden brown. Place trout in casserole dish and pour pan drippings over fish.

Add mushrooms, parsley and olive oil. Pour enough wine in casserole to half cover trout. Cover casserole and bake at 350 degrees for one hour.
people do dumb things by andy
I have never been to this theatre. Or seen a staged production of this show. I think it's really funny that someone took another review and claimed it as his/her own. Isn't there a book about people who do dumb things? As for the other commenters, we have dealt with this before on this site, just give up because the the people with bad reviews generally don't have constructive criticsm to give. They will just keep coming back with really immature comments to give.
Plan on Attending This Wedding
by ThruHiker99
Monday, August 16, 2004
5.0
Cumming Attraction Theater Company’s (CATCo) production of “Father of the Bride” is one of the best performances I’ve ever seen. I do not consider myself to be a theater aficionado, and until meeting my arts-loving wife, I had viewed a total of two professional live productions (we are now approaching our fourth anniversary, and that number has gone up to around 25). While my appreciation for the theatre has grown substantially, some shows still tend to test my patience. This was not one of them. There was never a dull moment in the entire two-hour production of “Father of the Bride.” In fact, I barely got the chance to catch my breath between all of the laughs.

Bill Wilson, playing the title role of Stanley Banks, had the audience rolling in the aisles from the very first scene. I have seen Wilson in past CATCo plays “Brigadoon” and “The Sound of Music,” and while he did very well in each of these roles, I must say that he has found his perfect role in this most recent production. Not only are his facial expressions and deliveries hysterical and right on time, but he does an excellent job of epitomizing every father’s reaction to hearing that he’s about to lose his first baby girl to a complete stranger and that he’s fully responsible for bankrolling the blessed union.

The rest of the Banks family seem made for their roles as well. Mary Becker as Ellie Banks strikes the perfect balance between loving mom and exasperated wife. Julie Andrews (yes that’s actually her name) does a wonderful job of playing the very anxious and very emotional bride-to-be, Kay. Katie Fox (playing the youngest daughter, Tammy) and Jack Carpenter (playing Ben, the lovestruck son) did an excellent job of making the entire affair as chaotic as possible, and they clicked in such a way that I would not have been surprised to find out that they were siblings off the stage as well. (I WAS surprised to find out that this was Fox’s first stage performance; you would never know it to see her so at ease on the stage.)

Kay’s fiancé, Buckley, is played by Steve Cook, who serves as the perfect steady and sensible groom to Andrews’ highly emotional bride. The pair epitomizes the “Mars and Venus” man-and-woman relationship, and Cook particularly shines in a comical scene in which his future father-in-law attempts to explain this “Mars and Venus” concept to him.

The show was rounded out by an incredible cast of hilarious supporting characters, such as maid Delilah (Cheryl Rogers), secretary Miss Bellamy (Katy Cook) and “circulation expert” Joe (Adam Levenstein). And I would suggest you bring a box of tissues, as Chris Goldston’s portrayal of flamboyant wedding planner Massoula will have you laughing until you cry. (You’ll need those tissues at the end anyway, after you witness a very tender scene between daddy and daughter.)

All the little details, such as the music, costumes, and set added to the high quality of this production. As a side note, the brand new Cumming Playhouse is gorgeous. The Playhouse, in combination with excellent CATCo productions, is sure to make a huge contribution to the advancement of theater in North Georgia. I loved this play, and I look forward to seeing whatever is next on the CATCo line-up.
[POST A COMMENT REGARDING THIS REVIEW]


[REVIEW THIS PRODUCTION]

CLOSING SOON
Steel Magnolias
by Robert Harling
Academy Theatre
NOW PLAYING
Crossing Delancey
by Susan Sandler
Alliance Theatre Company
Midnight at the Masquerade
by The Murder Mystery Company
The Murder Mystery Company in Atlanta
Steel Magnolias
by Robert Harling
Academy Theatre
The Spy Who Murdered Me
by Kevin Gillese
Agathas: A Taste of Mystery
Three Ladies of Orpington
by Daniel Guyton
Onion Man Productions

©2012 TheaterReview.com. All rights reserved.