SUBMIT ABOUT FAQ
PEOPLE COMPANIES VENUES
LOGIN NEW USER PRODUCTIONS
REVIEWERS SIX DEGREES
A User-Driven Site for Theater in Atlanta, Georgia
Hair
a Musical
CATEGORY : MUSICAL
by Gerome Ragni, James Rado and Galt MacDermot

COMPANY : Theatre Arts Guild
VENUE : Georgia Perimeter College - Marvin Cole Auditorium
ID# 1060

SHOWING : February 11, 2005 - February 20, 2005

[REVIEW THIS PRODUCTION]

PRODUCTION DESCRIPTION

This cult Broadway musical of the '60s tells the story of Claude, a young man from Oklahoma who comes to New York City. There he strikes up a friendship with the group of hippies, led by Berger, and falls in love with Sheila, a girl from the rich family. However, their happiness is short because Claude must go to the Vietnam war. Featuring such hits as "The Age of Aquarius," "Easy to be Hard," "Good Morning Starshine," "Let the Sunshine In," and the title track, this tribal love/rock musical never fails to entertain.


CAST & CREW LIST
Director & Choreographer Jeff McKerley
Props Master Elisabeth Cooper
Music Director Patrick Hutchinson
Light Board Operator Emily Jerome
Tribe Vallen Dior
Berger Brian Godeski
Tribe Shaun Gresham
Crissy Gabrielle Herlugson
Margaret Mead/Tribe Boris Hunter
Hud John Jones
Sheila Kristie Krabe
Claude Alex Picca
Jeanie Leslie Ridgeway
Woof Mark W. Schroeder
Tribe Ardale Shepard
Tribe Allison Simpson
Tribe Tory Carissa Steele
Click to Submit Cast & Crew Info for this production
REVIEWS

[REVIEW THIS PRODUCTION]

What a piece of work was HAIR!!!
by mooniemcmoonster
Sunday, February 20, 2005
4.0
This review really should be a 4.5...however, I don't round up. The few things that kept this from being a 5 are really minor, picky things, but I'm of the opinion its those little things that make the difference between a 4 and a 5 show.

The real standouts for me were Valen Doir (WOW! what a voice), Leslie Ridgeway (Great voice!!! And I could listen to her speak for hours on end), Mark Schroeder (Oh my gawd! He made Woof so loveable...Mick Jagger poster and all. Really interesting, great singing voice and he was almost unrecognizable from when I met him briefly last summer post-Nunsense. As an actor that's really the goal, isn't it!?), and Alex Picca (WATCH OUT! I have a feeling we're all going to be seeing a lot more of this guy...so to speak, I mean we've seen a lot already. I absolutely can't believe this was his first show). I'm so happy that I finally got to see Kristie in something. I've been reading about her for the past year now...so it was great to finally see her in action. She rocks! I can't wait to see her in something else. I thought as a group the cast was really, really solid. The music in Hair is really difficult to sing, imo. It goes against pretty much everything you're taught during the copious hours of voice lessons you subject yourself to as a singer. Really...everyone did such an awesome job. One thing that irked me was the sound. The mics sounded a bit tin-y (Meaning like tin. Not sure if that's how you'd spell it...tiny can't be right). It made voices that I think probably would have sounded fabulous sound flat and lacking a richness that should have been there. There were other mic issues too such as popping and whatnot. If you're going to do a rock opera you need to get mics that you'd use if you were actually doing a rock show, imo. I was so happy that the nude scene was kept in. It was done so tastefully and so quickly. I really hate it when directors cut that scene...why do the show if you aren't going to do the show the way it was written? And it was great that it wasn't just a bunch of waify women up there. Rock on you guys \m/!!!


The lights were great. Does the school own all of those lights? The circular moon that was in the middle of the stage was GREAT! Chris Kuroda (Phish's lighting designer)uses a similar white circle in his stage set up and you can do some cool stuff with it. It was nice to see that utilized. The lighting aspect very much was like being at a concert. I wish the sound had as well.

There were two other little picky things that kept this from being a 5...THE WIGS. I know good wigs can get pricey, a lot of the ones used in the show were so bad...it gave it an almost campy feel and I think the quality production didn't warrant that. And why was Alex's wig blonde? When he comes out sans wig at the end he's obviously got dark hair....why not get him a dark wig? I know that sounds silly, but when he came out with brown hair at the end I was like "Why did they give him a blonde wig? UGH!" The other small thing that I found a bit distracting was when the cast was in the audience talking about pot and coming to the party...it was like I was watching an After-School Special. It just didn't seem to me like they really knew what was going it. It was like an undercover cop asking if you have any "pot" to sell. Like I said, I know these things are picky, but they screwed with my willing suspension of disbelief.

All said, I was extremely impressed. It made me wish like hell that I had auditioned. [POST A COMMENT REGARDING THIS REVIEW]
Join the Groovy Revolution
by woahfred
Monday, February 14, 2005
4.0
Anyone who says they don't have anything to do this weekend needs to get off their ass and see this show! GPC's production of HAIR will take you on a "trip" you won't soon forget. While this production isn't perfect, it certainly doesn't disappoint. I was thoroughly entertained from beginning to end. Let's just go ahead and get the negatives out of the way so that the remainder of the review will be all about peace and love, man.

As others have mentioned, the sound was a problem. There was a lot of crackling and static coming through for some actors while others were so perfectly tuned that they sounded way too "canned." Others voices just simply disappeared into thin air. Despite all of the problems for the soloists, when the entire Tribe would sing the big choruses they would simply blow you away. The sound was incredible. Back to the soloists--some were simply not as strong as others. The only unbearable moment in the show comes during the number "Don't Put it Down." The 4-part harmony was terribly off key, causing me to cringe at times. Other than that, the pacing was a little slow, but it wasn't anything that really distracted me...just made the first act a little longer than anticipated!

OK--on to the good stuff! There were several stand-out performances in this show that must be recognized. The very first one that grabs you from the get-go is Alli Simpson singing "Aquarius." This girl can sing just about anything she's given flawlessly. Simpson also doesn't disappoint on the final number "Let the Sunshine In" where she wails somewhere above the stratosphere while the Tribe continues to sing around her. Her "Aretha Franklin" is a nice bit of hilarity thrown in amongst the serious moments.

Kristie Krabe as "Sheila" was awesome. Krabe really captured all of the emotions this character should experience throughout the show. Her rendition of "Easy to Be Hard" was so gut-wrenching and gorgeous at the same time. Not easy to do. Krabe also stands out during "3-5-0-0" while she stands about as far downstage as she can be singing the sh*t out of the song...her facical expressions were incredible.

Leslie Ridgeway as "Jeanie" was brilliant. This girl was perfect--her monologue near the beginning of the show is genius! The way she describes her love for Claude gave me chills. Her performance of "Air" is also amazing--hilarious.

I also have to mention Mark Schroder as "Woof." All I can say is "WOW" after his scene with the Mick Jagger poster. He had me in the aisle screaming uncontrollably--you just have to see it to believe it! He also really shines on "What a Piece of Work is Man." He glides through those upper notes with such ease he makes it seem effortless.

Alex Picca is "Claude." I never doubted for a second that he was anybody else. For his DEBUT performance, I was impressed. If his performance is any indication of things to come, look out kids! Rita Thomas totally rocked out on "White Boys." Awesome voice. Gabrielle Hedugson's "Frank Mills" is another moment that seems so far removed from the pace of the show that it stands out as one of the more poignantly "cute" moments--which are few and far between.

Well I feel like I have rambled long enough, so I'm just gonna have to wrap it up and say that overrall I would've rated this show a 3.75 based on EVERYTHING, but since we don't have the luxury of fractional ratings, I've given this show a 4. A totally groovy experience!! [POST A COMMENT REGARDING THIS REVIEW]
Did you mean Vallen? by Okely Dokely
She's the one with the White Boys solo, not Rita.
Yes I meant Vallen Dior!!! by woahfred
Yes Okley, I meant Vallen...Rita and Ardale were fabulous back-ups as well.
Hair ... what a "trip"
by justentertainment
Monday, February 14, 2005
5.0
And what a fun and satisfying "trip" it was. Other than a few little problems I thought this was a terrific production. My biggest complaint was with the sound. There seemed to be a short in one of the speakers that caused a lot of static and the voices at times faded in and out. Hopefully next weekend this will be better.

All of the actors did well in their parts. Some stood out more than others. While Brian Godleski did a fine job acting as Berger he needed to anunciate better and in comparison to the other singing voices he fell a little short.

Alex Picca was Claude. I didn't come out thinking "Wow, he as amazing" but rather "Claude was so real" which I think is the greatest compliment ... to be completely believable as the character you are playing.

Kristie Krabe was amazing as Sheila. Her voice is beautiful and the strength and vulnerability of her character was played close to perfection.

Mark Schroeder was just too memorable as Woof. You just have to see the "love scene" to understand what I'm saying here. He also gave stong vocal performances in Sodomy and What A Piece Of Work Is Man.

John Jones gave a terrific performance as Hud. I could have listened to more of him and Vallen Dior. What strong and beautiful voices they both have.

I don't think there could have been a better way to open the show than with the voice of Alli Simpson singing Aquarius. Wow!

And Gabrielle Herlungson gave such a touching and sweet rendition of Frank Mills.

The set was perfect, the lighting was unbelievable and the directing seemed flawless.

I would highly recommend seeing this show. There are thing that would be offensive to some like the sex, language, drugs, nudity ... just to name a few. So, with keeping that in mind take a "trip" to see Hair.
[POST A COMMENT REGARDING THIS REVIEW]
What a Piece of Work is Man by Tonyreal
This song is totally Shaun Gresham's. Woof only did the most of the harmony with a little solo part.
WAPOWIM by KristieKrabe
Thanks so much for the positive comments. We as a tribe really appreciate that. And as a tribe, while we enjoy when folks liked individual performances, this really has been a collaborative effort on everyones part. I think the friendships we have formed translate well to the audience also. An audience member approached Shaun after the show and said, "It meant so much to me seeing a black guy and a white guy together singing in perfect harmony."

Yay - That's what we are trying to get across to the audience...

Beads, Flowers, Freedom, Happiness!!

-Kristie
justentertainment, tonyreal and Kristie by pjerome
The love, respect and friendships of the cast members for each other is obvious. I think that most people who see Hair will agree that the cast is amazing and that they collectively "own" the show ... not one song, one moment, one actor but the whole cast owns the whole show.
Not to be a negative nancy, but... by mooniemcmoonster
"It meant so much to me seeing a black guy and a white guy together singing in perfect harmony." !?!?!?!?!?!

Is this for real? What year are we living in? The fact that someone would say this in 2005 is really weird to me...especially the fact that it was made by someone coming to see HAIR of all shows. Anyone else think this is a little odd?

I'm coming to see the show Saturday. I'm REALLY looking forward to it.
Actually what I was thinking . . . by cathead67
Doesn't that comment remind you of of the song "Ebony and Ivory"? Or is it just me? : )
I agree with: by justentertainment
Kristie, the closeness of the cast definitely spills out for all of the audience to feel and be a part of.
Girl, the matter of song ownership is a personal opinion and Tonyreal and I agree that the harmonies and song were beautiful.
pjerome, the show is collectively owned by the whole cast and not one song, one moment, one actor nor one voice.
All of your comments are well taken and respected. Thank you.
Groovy...........
by Tonyreal
Monday, February 14, 2005
5.0
From start to finish Hair is awesome. Alli Simpson does a great job as the Aquarius soloist. The cast performs a sexy and dark performance in Hashish. Mark Shroeder is terrific as Woof in Sodomy with beautiful background vocals by the cast is beautiful. Also Woof admiration for Mick Jagger is hilarious. Lesle Ridgeway does a terrific job as Jeanie in Air. John Jones did a great as Hud. The Mom and Dad scene was hilarious. The choreography is Hair, Don't Put it Down, and Be-In was great. Gabby Herlugson brought me to tears when she perform Frank Mills. Ardale Shepherd and Tori Steele brought alot of sex appeal to the show. Easy to Be Hard was a beautiful moment. Boris Hunter as Margaret Mead almost had me on the floor laughing. I love the Black Boys/White Boys sequence rocked my world. Vallen Dior in White Boys totally was awesome. Rita Thomas was totally comedic in Electric Blues. Brian Godleski and Alex Picca was terrific. The tribe member that stood out to me was Shaun Gresham he vocally brought a gospel edge to the show. His lead in What a Piece of Work is Man was beautiful made me cry. Him and Marks vocals blended beautifully in that song. Shaun ab-libs was comedic and on the mark. He possess a big instrument of a voice. In my opinion he has the voice of the show. Vallen Dior is a distant second. Shaun has the potential to be both a serious and comedic actor. [POST A COMMENT REGARDING THIS REVIEW]
What a Piece of Work is Man by justentertainment
I believe What a Piece of Work is Man was a duet. Both Shaun and Mark did great jobs with their solo parts.
WAPOWIM by Girl
I wasn't sure which review to post this comment to: the one with the comment I am referring to or the one that the comment I'm referring to refers to? I chose this one.

Anyway, technically speaking, both of the singers in What A Piece of Work Is Man have the same amount of solo and harmony bits. It is obviously a matter of opinion who owns the song, but both singers are featured equally.
WAPOWIM by justentertainment
I still don't agree. I will be seeing the show again this weekend and will pay special attention. But, I believe it is a 2 part harmony song with equal solo parts by both.
Gimme Hair, Hair, Hair, Hair!!!!
by th8rluvr
Monday, February 14, 2005
5.0
I have to complain the Theater Arts Guild only does shows like this for two weekends. Boo!

Like last's year's Chicago, Hair definitely sets the bar for the rest of the year. This show is non-stop from beginning to end and you feel like you are on the trip with the characters.

The cast does a terrific job working together. you don't see them acting like they are friends, they ARE friends. And I want to know what was in those joints!

I agree that Kristie Krabe stands out in the show. I again found myself looking for her onstage to see what she was doing with the character - beautiful. Also great was Leslie Ridgeway - her moments onstage showed a great depth of character and vulnerability. And Vallen Dior earns the title of Rockingist Singer with her rendition of White Boys - you go girl!!

And folks, you have not lived until you have seen Mark Schroder make love to a Mick JAgger poster - I cannot say more, you must see it for yourself.

Go catch this show - you'll be glad you did! [POST A COMMENT REGARDING THIS REVIEW]
Hairtastic!!
by MeisnerGuy
Monday, February 14, 2005
4.0
I knew I was in for a fun evening when I entered the theater and went to take my seat, only to find a hippie passed out in the row.

Jeff McKerley has taken an energetic crowd of some good looking kids and took them in a direction that was not only fast and fun, but also thought provoking.

Because there are many highs and lows - I will address folks individually.

Alex Picca and Brian Godleski as the team of Claude and Berger: These guys were having a good time, and as newcomers to the acting business were not that bad. Alex comes from a band background, and that translates well into Claude who has to have a bit of a rock star quality to him. He seemed very comfortable on stage - especially since he spends a good bit of time in a loincloth. Berger is another one that spends a lot of time on stage with his pants down, and while I could feel some discomfort in the audience, he didn't let it faze him once. The vocals were a bit off key at times, but I feel that is forgivable in this style of show. I give them a 4 and a 3 respectively.

Kristie Krabe as Sheila blew my mind!! She definitely stood out as the seasoned pro in this crowd. Her portrayal of Sheila was really intriguing. Here is a woman who stands for peace, love and happiness, yet she is head over heels in love with some guy who treats her badly. Kristie really displays a vulnerability to the character. Her voice was absolutely gorgeous and I was amazed that she was able to sing after the athletic running and jumping she did for the bulk of the show. I also loved how she engaged the audience at all times and made us feel like we were on stage with her. This girl earned a 10 out of 5!!

Mark Schroeder as Woof and John Jones as Hud were definitely surprising!! These characters were definitely out of the realm of normal for both of them, yet they embraced the characters completely. It is sometimes hard to find a pervert and a militant black man endearing, yet I loved them both. A 4 to each of them.

The Tribe was great as well - very young and full of energy. Four standouts from the tribe were Boris Hunter, Gaby Hergulson, Leslie Ridgeway and Alli Simpson. Boris' portrayal of Margaret Mead was dead on hilarious, while Gaby's Frank Mills was so sweet and adorable. Leslie Ridgeway was new to me and I really enjoyed her Jeanie - a character that could have been a throwaway, yet really made me want to get to know her better. And Alli Simpson rocked as the Aquarius Soloist. A 4.5 - 5 for the tribe.

The lighting by Lee Shiver was great, and I'd be curious to know how many lighting cues his board can hold! There seemed to be about 10,000. And the costumes by Neal Vipperman were very authentic. 4's to them both.

The sound was one of the things that hurt this production. I do not envy Steven Sigmon for having to track these actors and their body mikes around the stage - the actors are everywhere, and you never know when one of them is going to let out a war cry. There were times when the mikes were not as loud as they could have been, and the orchestra was a bit overpowering at times. And a few of the sound cues were too early or too late. A 2.5 - 3 for effort.

And finally a 5 to the direction of this show. Hair can seem a bit dated and can easily be done tongue in cheek with a "Hey! Look at us pretending to be hippies" flavor. This production, though really brought us into the tortured mind of Claude as he struggles to find himself and seek out his future. The reality of war is portrayed in a trippy psychedelic parody of war with makes it even more horrific to witness. The lack of linear storyline could have been confusing, but I feel it only helped me relate more to the mind altered state of the characters.

I definitely recommend this show - it is not for the squeamish, though. There are drugs, sex and nudity. Although kudos to Jeff for keeping it tasteful and meaningful in the moment. [POST A COMMENT REGARDING THIS REVIEW]
Re: Light Cues by Girl
We are thinking there are somewhere between 350 - 400 light cues in the show, which from what I have heard is pretty high for a musical (but, thank God, not 10,000 :D).
- Emily the Light Board Op


[REVIEW THIS PRODUCTION]

OPENING SOON
Billy Goats Gruff
by Davies
Capitol City Opera Company
CLOSING SOON
Billy Goats Gruff
by Davies
Capitol City Opera Company
Man of La Mancha
by Dale Wasserman, Joe Darion, and Mitch Leigh
Capitol City Opera Company
NOW PLAYING
9 to 5: The Musical
by Songs by Dolly Parton, Book by Patricia Resnick
Onstage Atlanta, Inc.
August Summer Harvest 2016, The Lakeside Plays
by jpbeck
Onion Man Productions
Billy Goats Gruff
by Davies
Capitol City Opera Company
God of Carnage
by Yasmina Reza
Pumphouse Players
Improv Monster
by Jackpie Theatre Workshop
Jackpie Theatre Workshop
Man of La Mancha
by Dale Wasserman, Joe Darion, and Mitch Leigh
Capitol City Opera Company
Once Upon a Murder
by Marc Farley
Agathas: A Taste of Mystery
Stealing Home
by Pat Cook
Live Arts Theatre
The Bridges of Madison County
by Marsha Norman (book) & Jason Robert Brown (songs)
Aurora Theatre
The Foreigner
by Larry Shue
Lionheart Theatre Company
The Legend of Georgia McBride
by Matthew Lopez
Actor's Express

©2012 TheaterReview.com. All rights reserved.