SUBMIT ABOUT FAQ
PEOPLE COMPANIES VENUES
LOGIN NEW USER PRODUCTIONS
REVIEWERS SIX DEGREES
A User-Driven Site for Theater in Atlanta, Georgia
O Happy Day!

a British Farce
CATEGORY :
by Graham Chapman & Barry Cryer

COMPANY : Dad's Garage Theatre Company [WEBSITE]
VENUE : Dad's Garage Theater [WEBSITE]
ID# 12

SHOWING : Unknown - November 18, 2000

[REVIEW THIS PRODUCTION]

PRODUCTION DESCRIPTION

Dad's Garage is proud to present a world debut comedy by Monty Python member Graham Chapman & British comedian Barry Cryer. Written while Chapman was filming "The Quest For The Holy Grail", the lost script of O Happy Day was rediscovered a few years ago. After an international search, Dad's Garage was chosen to present Chapman's pythonesque tale taking on family, drinking, weddings, birth, cross-dressing, drinking, overbearing mothers, mistaken identity, drinking, and all the other facets of being British. "I don't have any memories of that show. oh, wait, no it's extremely funny" said fellow Python Michael Palin, who is working on the show as an advisor. He went on to state that "Graham is always in my mind, he is always in the back of my mind. He was the loopiest, the craziest - in a sense, really the artist of all the Pythons - a doctor, and a mountain climber who was frightened to climb mountains. A true mixture of many many talents, but without him, we're just not Monty Python anymore, and I do miss him. So, to Sean Daniels, Dad's Garage, all those who are putting together 'O Happy Day', I say good luck with it."


CAST & CREW LIST
Director Sean Daniels
Script Advisor John Cleese
Props Elisabeth Cooper
Lighting Karreem Kassab
Costumes Melissa Mason
Set Eric Novak
Asst. Stage Manager Brandon Smith
Stage Manager Colleen Sullivan
Director of Puppet Operations Matt "Lucky" Yates
Mr. Wakely Tim Cordier
Gwen Peters Christian Danley
Stan Andrew Davis
Brian Branscombe George M. Faughnan
Marjory Simpson Z Gillespie
Barbara Alison Hastings
Susan Simpson Josie B. Lawson
Ms. Rhoda Wakely Kendra Myers
Tommy Simpson Doyle Reynolds
Keith Matthew Stanton
Dr. Anderson Scott Warren
Puppetteer Scott Warren
Puppetteer Matt "Lucky" Yates
Managing Director Kathryn Colegrove
Marketing Director Colleen Hammond Whitmore
Click to Submit Cast & Crew Info for this production
REVIEWS
The Experts Say...

Atlanta Journal-Constitution
by Phil Kloer
September 29, 2000
Phil liked this show, calling it "fast-paced, frequently hilarious, well-executed". He complemented the performances of Doyle Reynolds, Z Gillespie, Christian Danley and Kendra Myers directly, as well as throwing kudos to an often unreviewed role, stage manager Colleen Sullivan.

The only shortcomings he notes is a somewhat outdated themes (the main character's fear of homosexuality has lost much of its meaning today) and "too frantic" climax.

Creative Loafing
by Curt Holman
October 04, 2000
Curt sez O Happy Day is "heavy on farce, light on absurdism". He likens it more to a special 2 hour Fawlty Towers (John Cleese's British SitCom) than a Python Holy Grail. An "adequate comedy".


[REVIEW THIS PRODUCTION]

"Happy Days" are here!
by theatercritic
Monday, November 13, 2000
5.0
Okay, bottom line: as theater goes, no, "Oh Happy Day" sure ain't Chekov - but then, Chekov never made me laugh either. To quote Monty Python: "Life's a piece of shit/when you look at it" so c'mon, get "Happy"! [POST A COMMENT REGARDING THIS REVIEW]
Winner of Atlanta's Tony for Best Comedy!
by blendan
Sunday, November 12, 2000
5.0
Hey, does Atlanta give out anything like the Tony's? If so - I nominate Oh Happy Day for best comedy. I loved this play! What a great discovery: both this play and Dad's Garage Theater. I wish 'Oh Happy Day' was sticking around a while longer because I want to see it again. Easily the funniest play this year. [POST A COMMENT REGARDING THIS REVIEW]
Two Thumbs Up!
by micheleM
Sunday, November 12, 2000
5.0
During my years studying in London at LADA I discovered that you can always tell how good a play is by how easy the actors make it look; if the dialog appears to be coming straight from their brains and though their mouths, then it's a good sign it's based on truth.

Oh Happy Day (by the late Graham Chapman of Monty Python and Barry Cryer) has all of that - plus it's funny, frequently hilarious, and often leaves you paralytic with laughter. The cast deserves high praise. There's not a bad egg in the carton. The director should be awarded honory British citizenship for his ability to take something so British as a drawing room farce, have it come from the minds and mouths of a group of American (and SOUTHERN!) actors and have it be believable.

Unlike some others on this board, I had no problem with the play's themes, or whether they were dated. That's mainly because I don't think they are dated. I think there are still a lot of people out there who feel it's wrong for bride's to be pregnant, and for groom's to be gay. In short, two thumbs up for Oh Happy Day! It's funny and smart and sweet. A great evening out. [POST A COMMENT REGARDING THIS REVIEW]
A Modern Comedy Classic
by DerekC
Sunday, November 12, 2000
5.0
I saw this play last night. I laughed so hard I was crying. Oh Happy Day is one of those rare funny birds: a comedy that's really funny. Okay, sure some of the topics (unmarried brides and homosexuals) may be a bit dated, but that's not the fault of the writers, merely a good sign that society has grown-up some since this was written 25 years ago. Besides, there are plenty of other classic plays whose themes and/or attitudes seem dated too (The Importance of Being Earnest, Annie Get Your Gun, Mame, Guys and Dolls...) but it doesn't make them any less enjoyable. (Besides, the play is set in mid-70s suburban London, when these 'tudes were common.)

Oh Happy Day features a great cast, imaginative staging, a crisp and tight story line and hilarious dialogue. What more do you want? Is it "Holy Grail"? No, but it's still got some very Pythonic moments.

Me? I'm thrilled I was a part of history and saw a sure-fire future comedy classic during it's world premiere. You can too. If you hurry. [POST A COMMENT REGARDING THIS REVIEW]
Dull script, poor performances, bad direction.
by TeresaB
Saturday, October 21, 2000
2.0
[POST A COMMENT REGARDING THIS REVIEW]
It Stands on its Own
by Avezes
Monday, October 9, 2000
5.0
I think the problem that many peole had with this wonderful production was that they went into it comparing it to a "Holy Grail" or something else. Just because this was written byu a cast member of Monty Python does not mean that it wilbe in the same genre.

I stayed laughing through most of this delightful journey through one man's neuroses.

I highly reccomend seeing this one, and plan on seeing it at least one more time. [POST A COMMENT REGARDING THIS REVIEW]
Energetic Cast Saves Dated Script
by Ms. H
Monday, September 25, 2000
4.0
An energetic cast is the saving grace of this dated and mediocre script. The first act is fast-paced and offers lots of build up but the second act fails to deliver, never living up to the manic pace you would expect from a British farce. Doyle Reynolds shines throughout but other Dad's regulars (Matt Stanton, George Faughnan, Kendra Myeres) are stuck with underdeveloped characters. Despite it's flaws, the cast is having a ball and chances are you will too. [POST A COMMENT REGARDING THIS REVIEW]


[REVIEW THIS PRODUCTION]

OPENING SOON
Home for the Holidays 2017
by Our Audience
Good Acting Studio
CLOSING SOON
Another Night Before Christmas
by Sean Grennan, with music by Leah Okimoto
ART Station Theatre
Christmas Canteen 2017
by Brandon O’Dell
Aurora Theatre
Dickens Christmas Carol: A Traveling Travesty in Two Tumultuous Acts
by Mark Landon Smith
ACT1
Home for the Holidays 2017
by Our Audience
Good Acting Studio
NOW PLAYING
Another Night Before Christmas
by Sean Grennan, with music by Leah Okimoto
ART Station Theatre
Christmas Canteen 2017
by Brandon O’Dell
Aurora Theatre
Dickens Christmas Carol: A Traveling Travesty in Two Tumultuous Acts
by Mark Landon Smith
ACT1
Frosty!
by Catherine Bush (words) and Dax Dupuy (music)
Actors Theatre of Atlanta
Home for the Holidays 2017
by Our Audience
Good Acting Studio
Midnight at the Masquerade
by The Murder Mystery Company
The Murder Mystery Company in Atlanta
Miss Bennet: Christmas at Pemberley
by Lauren Gunderson and Margot Melcon
Theatrical Outfit
Miss Nelson Is Missing!
by Joan Cushing
Georgia Ensemble Theatre
Murder on 34th Street
Agathas: A Taste of Mystery

©2012 TheaterReview.com. All rights reserved.