SUBMIT ABOUT FAQ
PEOPLE COMPANIES VENUES
LOGIN NEW USER PRODUCTIONS
REVIEWERS SIX DEGREES
A User-Driven Site for Theater in Atlanta, Georgia
Footloose

a Musical
CATEGORY : COMEDY DRAMA MUSICAL
by Dean Pitchford. Music by Tom Snow, Kenny Loggins, Sammy Haggar & others

COMPANY : Cobb Playhouse and Studio [WEBSITE]
VENUE : Cobb Playhouse and Studio [WEBSITE]
ID# 1338

SHOWING : August 05, 2005 - August 27, 2005

[REVIEW THIS PRODUCTION]

PRODUCTION DESCRIPTION

Nostalgic for the 1980's? Here's an explosive stage adaptation of one of the more memorable movie musicals of recent memory: FOOTLOOSE! When Ren and his mother move from Chicago to a small farming town, Ren is prepared for the inevitable adjustment period at his new high school. What he isn't prepared for are the rigorous local laws, including a ban on dancing. The ban is the brainchild of a preacher determined to exercise the control over the town youth that he cannot command in his own home. When the reverend's rebellious daughter sets her cap for Ren, her roughneck boy friend tries to sabotage Ren's reputation, with many of the locals eager to believe the worst about the new kid. To the rockin' rhythm of its Oscar-nominated top 40 score (the soundtrack album reached number one on the Billboard charts and has sold over 15 million copies!) to which new, dynamic songs have been added, FOOTLOOSE celebrates the wisdom of listening to young people, guiding them with a warm heart and an open mind.

Stage Adaptation by Dean Pitchford and Walter Bobbie - Based on the original screenplay by Dean Pitchford. Music by Tom Snow. Lyrics by Dean Pitchford.
Additional Music by Eric Carman, Sammy Haggar, Kenny Loggins and Jim Steinman.

FOOTLOOSE runs at the Cobb Playhouse & Studio from August 5 through August 27, 2005 on Friday and Saturday evenings at 8:00 pm, with Sunday matinees on August 14 and 21 at 3:00 pm.


CAST & CREW LIST
Cast John Christian
Director Rob Hardie
Music Director James Landreau
Vi Moore Mandy Cook
Ethel McCormack Becky Dever
Uncle Wes Michael Dillison
Rusty Emily Dillson
Uncle Wes Michael Andrew Dillson
Lyle/Garvin Keith Embler
Ensemble Katie Halick
Hall Moniter Valerie Halick
Betty Blast Katy Harlow
Chuck Andy Leach
Ariel Moore Jamie Link
Willard Jeremy Mabe
Ren Grant McGowen
Assistant Choreographer/ Ensemble Katie O'Neill
Jeter David Olson
Rev Shaw Moore Michael Shikany
Click to Submit Cast & Crew Info for this production
REVIEWS

[REVIEW THIS PRODUCTION]

Not sure what to think.
by AtlantaCritic
Sunday, August 28, 2005
2.0
Well, overall the singing as an ensemble was the best part of the show. All of the voices and energy as a whole was great. I believe the musical direction and choreography of the ensemble held the show together. The individual singing, direction, etc. is another story.

I first want to point out a moment in the show that absolutley pissed me off. I came closing night, and the actress playing Ariel totally broke character, missed her last solo line, and blurted out laughing after she flubbed up. Totally unprofessional. Throughout the whole show she seemed to not really care about the show. She seemed to breeze through her lines without any real emotion, etc. and seemed, frankly, quite bored/boring onstage. It is weird to think this girl was in the lead female role when she acted like this and also was very hard to hear her at all..acting or singing. She was very quiet and could not project. Her words were jumbled and hard to understand at points. One of her three onstage friends prob. would have been more passionate towards the role of Ariel.

Ren was very cute and fun to watch. Although his singing needs a bit of work..he seemed to speak-sing the songs. I never really was impressed with his songs.

Willard was hillarious and fun to watch. He truly showed me he was a shy, dumb, love-struck southern teenager. He looked like he had a lot of fun singing and dancing. Good job, Willard.

Rusty could belt out her notes, but their wasn't really any consistancy and she should work on the clarity of her words. Singing was better than her acting.

The direction of the show did not impress me. Did the director even work with any of the characters? SOME characters were ok...prob. because of the talent of the actor, but some characters made bad choices, or no choices at all. Where was the director?

The teenage ensemble as a whole was good. They all looked like they had fun. The show was better than I had expected...the teens really made the show with their energy and love for the show- it showed through. [POST A COMMENT REGARDING THIS REVIEW]

by theaterjunkie
Sunday, August 21, 2005
0.0
I'd have to wholeheartedly agree with greatbigstuff. The show felt rushed and thrown together, and quite honestly, most high school productions have a more professional air about them. The leads all had trouble with their songs, either in range or rhythm, Rusty in particular was almost painfully offkey at points in her song. The dances were too difficult for these dancers, and try as they might, they could not pull them off. Ariel and Ren seemed to be cast primarily on appearances, as their acting and singing certainly were not taken into consideration. The adults were fine, most seemed to have a firm grasp on the role that their younger colleagues lacked. All in all, there is talent to be found there, especially within the ensemble, but odd casting choices, insufficient dance rehersals, and lack of direction made this show a very long two hours to sit through. [POST A COMMENT REGARDING THIS REVIEW]
make up your mind by WaylonWhite
"i think that Ren and Ariel are perfect and they are great actors and singers. Ariel is a weak singer but when she projects she is awsome and Ren, perhaps the songs are too high for him" Well, which is it? Are they perfect or weak? I see some inconsistancies here. I thought they were in need of vocal training myself.

by greatbigstuff
Sunday, August 21, 2005
0.0
I guess I didn't see the same show everyone else did. When I was in the audience all I could do was feel sorry for them. The ensemble as a whole had a good sound, but the dances were never together. Now for the leads.

Grant McGowen as REN was just.. well. Bad. The jumps would have made sense if they weren't in random places and if he had the breath support to keep the music sounding strong. Acting was weak. One thing to his advantage was that he was definately a looker.

Jamie Link as ARIEL was also miscast. Her voice didn't fit the part and on top of that she couldn't project at all. The one time she used a microphone is the only time you could truly hear her. That was totally out of place and didn't fit the show either.

Emily Dillson as RUSTY. She was awkward the whole time in the trio. I believe she had a decent voice and could really belt but the other two girls were just as good and could be sexy. She just seemed awkward and her acting was as well.

The adults were awesomw. The only aduly I had a problem with was Michael Shikany. When I came to the show, he came in to early on a song and then started laughing. Rediculous.

All in All the show looked really unfinished and really needed new people and about and years worth of rehearsal. That is my unbiased true review. [POST A COMMENT REGARDING THIS REVIEW]
great screenname by Okely Dokely
I love Dirty Rotten Scoundrels.
to okelydokely by greatbigstuff
Thanks. I just saw it. It was amazing.
Which Night? by Galore
I have seen the show several times and it has been different each time depending on the energy level of the cast. Perhaps you saw it on a bad day. They happen , even though one could wish every show was perfect.
As to the trio, the director wasn't looking for sexy, he wanted the girls to be a little stalky-creepy. Sexy means that they were not successful in the portrayal. Willard and Rusty were both directed to act awkward, particularly around each other. I really think zero ratings are too harsh if there was something you liked.
very nice, the show was worth the drive to Cobb county
by mediahound
Friday, August 12, 2005
3.0
I do not get over to that side of the world much but this show was worth the trip. The little theater in what looks like a conversion of a store front is really pretty but the actual stage location is kind of strange. You enter on top of the stage and there were some jutting out parts of the stage that I saw several people get snagged on. Other than that I can say that the talent on this stage was very nice. The voices were good and the mom and dad/preacher were convincing. You could just see their angst for their daughter. I was told that the Rusty character is a regular at this theater. Good for her, she has a very nice voice that has potential. The closing was a little rough but the the two young men in the leads made up for that with great spirit.
Good job. [POST A COMMENT REGARDING THIS REVIEW]
mediahound by Mally
i thought it was a great play too. the cast of footloose was very talented.
Footloose Rocked
by katydid
Tuesday, August 9, 2005
4.0
I was under the impression that children’s theater and family theater are not synonymous. Cobb Playhouse does lots of theater for children, but the fact that they also put on productions that are more adult-oriented certainly makes them one of the most well-rounded theaters in the metro area. I would hate to see that go away because of small minds. I grew up in a much smaller southern town than Acworth and we always did much edgier productions than “Footloose”. I think Acworth can handle this production just fine. And, correct me if I am mistaken, but didn’t the camps do “Grease” a couple of times this summer. Now, there is a musical with a message—Good girl conforms herself to the wastrels and losers in high school. Not to mention overt sexuality, drop-outs, underage drinking, and possible teen pregnancy.
As we all know, unless you have specific permission from the licensing organization you cannot make cuts, change genders or change the book or libretto in any way. You never know who is watching, as Rusty and the girls sing to Ren. So, if the authors put in curse words, they are probably there for character emphasis, which ultimately makes the end message more powerful.
This was a good show. There was a lot of energy on the stage. Some of the voices were not as strong as others but power vocals are not everyone’s talent. The opening number was excellent as was Chuck’s number “The Girl Gets Around”. Great voice, very pure, and very physical dancing at the same time. Can’t get much better. The three girls voices harmonized well, but the Rusty character has a blow-you-away voice in anything she sang. Deep and soulful. Wow. The other great voices of note are Reverend Moore, Ren’s mom, Vi and, of course, Willard. The comic foil counterpoint to Rusty was brilliant casting. “Let’s Hear It For The Boy” and “Mama Said” were both awesomely done. The ensemble was very good; always doing something. Too many shows do not utilize choruses well—this one did. I loved the point/counterpoint in “I’m Free”.
I definitely recommend this show, not only to adults, but to kids as well. The message this show brings is uplifting, the music is familiar and catchy, and the characters are nice people, even if they disagree.
[POST A COMMENT REGARDING THIS REVIEW]
Thank you by Theater_geek
Thank you so much for your review. The ensemble of the show doesn't always get reviews. I appreciate you coming to see us. Cut footloose!
Really good show (surprise!)
by tlcuonstage
Sunday, August 7, 2005
4.0
Wow. I am impressed. Cobb Playhouse is coming out of its shell. First, I Hate Hamlet's scripted (or maybe not) onstage R rated language in gasp! Acworth of all places, to lots of (thankfully) milder pg13ish language in Footloose. But besides all the unnecessaries, this was a really good show. I only mention the language because of the unusual amount of youngsters in attendance. I guess the title alone brings back good memories for the thirty/fortyish generation who happened in with youngsters in tow.
Opening night went off without a hitch as Ren (Grant McGowen) tried his best to screetch out high notes while pulling off some jump/dance/choreography stunts good enough to earn an Olympic medal. (The in air splits sent chills down my mates spine). Ariel (Jamie Link) did her best to project her finely tuned vocals into hearing range of the audience. Even though we could actually hear her a little better, the one time use of the microphone didn't quite fit into the the rest of the performance. But I have to admit, these two had a certain chemistry fully developed by the end of the show. They really seemed boyfriend and girlfriend. Their scenes together, alone, were right on.
And good old Reverend Dad. He was brilliant (Michael Shikany). So natural,and into this character completely. As a parent, you could relate to the feelings he projected onto our very souls. Wow. Told you I was impressed.
There were many touching scenes including cutsie cowgirl Rusty (Emily Dillson) singing Let's Here it for the Boy as she watches her cow"boy"friend learn to dance, just for her. Where in the world did that voice come from?
This was a well cast show. Kudos to the director who couldn't keep still in his seat. Sit down or go back stage already.
From Mother Vi,(Mandy Cook) with a mother's love extending to all, to the Principal (Dana O'Bryan) with eyeglasses perfectly perched at the end of her nose, to the handsome, 3 Musketeering well-choreographed dancing and singing cowboys and even the very funny, big guy always being sent to the principal's office. Good job everyone. The less desirable troublemaker, Chuck, (Andy Leach) was ok. I just didn't feel him.
The story line flowed well, made sense and ended on a high note. The audience, I feel, left on a high note.
But guys, LOSE LOSE LOSE the Roof is on Fire bit. You insenuate an extreme curse word (hello, take a look at who your audience is and what your theater promotes(family theater)- kids were there and their parents are cringing) and when done again at the end, made us lose the exciting Footloose high your last scene had successfully created. It just doesn't fit this show.
But, I Highly recommend seeing it. I may call to see if it has been toned down so I may bring my nieces. It could be so much more with less. I loved it. [POST A COMMENT REGARDING THIS REVIEW]
the language in I Hate Hamlet by Okely Dokely
Every profanity uttered was in the script.
Don't worry Mark.. by Parrott65
I have come to the conclusion that it doesn't matter what show you do, someone will complain about something. I, for one, believe that if you bring children to a show when you are unaware of it's content, then that's your fault for not doing 100% of your parental duties. Yet, there will always be people who refuse to accept blame for their incompetence and place it somewhere else. The fact is, this is THEATER and there is going to be content that offends someone at some point. Take Damn Yankees for example. How many people do you believe don't attend that show because they are offended that we could make humor out of the devil? What about Shear Madness? You would be amazed at the homophobes that refuse to see that show because of the male hairdresser in it. I remember in Kiss Me Kate, the first show to ever win a Tony back in 1948, we STILL received a letter of complaint about the word "bastard". Oh my god!!! Call the police!!! This is absolutely horrible for our children. Yet, we have no problem buying them a video game of Grand Theft Auto or letting them sit and watch a show like Pulp Fiction or Scream.
what I would like to see happen by Nettie
I think there are times that strong language can hold artistic merit in a play. What I would like to see is folks at the box office telling folks buying tickets what shows are suitable for children and what shows aren't. I don't think you should alter the play, I think you should inform your audience. I Hate Hamlet originally had the F word in it, and it absolutely was originally in the script, Parrott it was taken out before you saw the show. :) But having that said, I agree with you. Absolutely that decision to take one's kids to any show should fall on the parents and thus is ultimately the parent's responsibility. No kid of mine would see a show if I was unsure of the show's content. (if I had kids, but I sorta adopt my cast kids anyway but I digress...) And if I were a parent I would appreciate being told about the content of a play as well. So I can see both sides here. But Okely I think you would agree with the statement that just because it isn't a kid's show doesn't mean it's not a quality show. :) I **LOVED** I Hate Hamlet!! I also Loved Sylvia in which most of the profanity actually came from the lady playing the character of the dog..... :)


Footloose is PG-13ish. I would say it's similar probably to the amount of languange and subject matter of the movie. And folks please do keep that in mind when you come to see the show. But *do* come to see the show *grin* (shameless plug inserted here--- xxx)

thanks tlcuonstage for the review I am glad you liked it! :) I truly have enjoyed being a "drama mama" in this play, as a friend of mine so eloquently puts it. -- mandy

oh well for better or for worse those are my two cents on the matter.
and when you come to see the show.... by Nettie
could ya say that you were just blown away because the trim around the edge of the set just looks so awesome??? LOL just kidding!!
Thanks by RobroyHardie
Thanks for the review. Just a note-I am monitoring sound from the audience, for the tech booth and the walkie talkies went out half way through the show. Sorry if the back and forth was annoying, but I can't monitor levels from backstage. That issue has been fixed. Thanks again! -Rob (director)


[REVIEW THIS PRODUCTION]

CLOSING SOON
Smokey Joe’s Cafe
by Jerry Leiber and Mike Stoller
New African Grove Theatre Company
Steel Magnolias
by Robert Harling
Academy Theatre
NOW PLAYING
Crossing Delancey
by Susan Sandler
Alliance Theatre Company
Midnight at the Masquerade
by The Murder Mystery Company
The Murder Mystery Company in Atlanta
Smokey Joe’s Cafe
by Jerry Leiber and Mike Stoller
New African Grove Theatre Company
Steel Magnolias
by Robert Harling
Academy Theatre
The Last Five Years
by Jason Robert Brown
Marietta Theatre Company
The Spy Who Murdered Me
by Kevin Gillese
Agathas: A Taste of Mystery
The World Goes ’Round
by Music by John Kander; Lyrics by Fred Ebb; Conceived by Susan Stroman, David Thompson & Scott Ellis
Atlanta Lyric Theatre
Three Ladies of Orpington
by Daniel Guyton
Onion Man Productions

©2012 TheaterReview.com. All rights reserved.