SUBMIT ABOUT FAQ
PEOPLE COMPANIES VENUES
LOGIN NEW USER PRODUCTIONS
REVIEWERS SIX DEGREES
A User-Driven Site for Theater in Atlanta, Georgia
Urinetown

a Atlanta Premiere
CATEGORY : COMEDY MUSICAL


COMPANY : Onstage Atlanta, Inc. [WEBSITE]
VENUE : Onstage Atlanta, Inc. (Decatur) [WEBSITE]
ID# 1474

SHOWING : February 16, 2006 - March 25, 2006

[REVIEW THIS PRODUCTION]

PRODUCTION DESCRIPTION


CAST & CREW LIST
Choreographer Ricardo Aponte
Musical Director Clay Causey
Assistant Director Nat Martin
Director Greg Poulos
Stage Manager Chris Franken
Set and Lighting Designer Harley Gould
Set Designer and Builder Nathan Hughes
bass Noah Ellis
2nd Keyboard Brett Parker
Percussion L. Gerard Reid
Bobby Strong Michael Austin
Hope Cladwell Sims Banes
MacQueen Michael Baum
Little Becky Two-Shoes/Mrs. Millenium Laine Binder
Dirty Little Debbie Lindsay Creedon
Senator Fipp Scott Shelton Ebert
Little Sally Jenna Edmonds
Robby Stockfish John Markowski
Lockstock Eric McNaughton
Old Man Strong/Hot Blades Harry Charlie Miller
Barrell Brent Ricketts
Josephine Strong Ami Rosen
Penelope Pennywise Allison Simpson
Tiny Tom Austin Tijerina
Tiny Tom John Tillapaugh
Caldwell B. Cladwell Robert Wayne
Soupy Sue Amanda Wilborn
Click to Submit Cast & Crew Info for this production
REVIEWS

[REVIEW THIS PRODUCTION]

I am still coming down from the natural high (part deux)
by Okely Dokely
Thursday, April 6, 2006
5.0
Simply put, the previous reviewers weren't exaggerating. This is the best show OSA has done since 2003's The Rocky Horror Show. Everybody was wonderful.

Does Alli Simpson keep a rabbit's foot in her pocket? I ask because she keeps appearing in some of the best shows I've seen in town. With Rocky Horror, Jekyll and Hyde, The Scarlet Pimpernel, etc., she continues to be in the right place at the right time, not that that's the only reason she is in these shows. She continues to be a presence, whether she's a prominent leading role or the third nose-picking phantom from the right on the back row, and this is, for my money, her best performance since J and H. Jenna Edmonds, who could so easily have made her character a whiny, one-note cliche, does a fantastic job giving it texture and layers. I love the number where she keeps making the "everybody sit down, it's MY solo" gesture to the ensemble. Eric McNaughton - wow, where did he come from? This is my first time seeing any Urinetown, and he will forever be the Lockstock to which I will compare all future Lockstocks. He nails it. Awesome bass voice, and I love when he suddenly becomes Johnny Cantone for a little while at the end of "What is Urinetown?"

I have never seen Amanda Wilborn play a leading role, but as supporters go, she's one of the best I've seen. I love her ability to create different characters on a dime. My favorite ensemblite, though, would be Laine Binder. I don't know what's up with my recent trend of enjoying people more when they're in the chorus than when they're playing leads, but once again, Laine was more effective to me here than she was as Sally in Cabaret. At first I was disappointed that she didn't have a more prominent role, but with as often as I found myself zeroing in on her, it was as if she was one of the principals. Never once was she boring to watch. I have saved my favorite performance for last. Robert Wayne. How the cast can keep a straight face when he makes those bunny ears is completely beyond me.

Just so this review isn't nothing but mindless praise, I have a couple of constructive points. Firstly, I enjoyed Michael Austin as Bobby, but he has what I call the tenor's curse, where the upper register notes are bright and powerful, but we often lose the lower notes, then we lose the lower notes even more if we tenors keep performing without water or a break. During the first number in Act 2, the tenor's curse took its toll on Robert Wayne as well, though he tried his best to James Earl Jones his way through. Also, either have pre-show music to cover up the backstage noise or get your stage manager to really crack down on the quiet backstage rule. As an early-comer to the theatre for this performance, I heard conversations that could only have come from the green rooms/backstage area, and it was awkward. This continued until about 10 minutes before curtain, when the audience filtered in and had chatter of their own. This has been a problem with past OSA shows.

Overall, though, I'll round up to a 5 here, where I'd originally have a 4.25. Well done, if I may make an immense understatement. Enjoy your inevitable sweep of the Post and Alley Awards this fall.


P.S. - 2 random thoughts:

1. The synth player is playing the exact same keyboard I have at home. One of us has really good taste.

2. We should all watch how we word things in our bios. There's a very fine line between thanking/praising a cast and coming across as arrogant. One statement in particular from a bio in this show's playbill was, on the ego ladder, just one rung away from "We are and always will be the best cast in the universe, and all others are shit. Actors reading this may as well quit theatre because you'll never be in a cast this talented." [POST A COMMENT REGARDING THIS REVIEW]
Wow .. my only word!
by actinggbugg474
Sunday, March 26, 2006
5.0
I've actually never been to OSA before and I was shocked when I drove into a shopping center and walked beneath a Big Lots to find a quaint little theater. I had high expectations for the show because I had the privelege of seeing the touring cast a couple of years ago and I've been listening to the CD for years. Not really knowing anything about OSA or it's past productions, I really didn't know what to expect. But, from the second the ensemble hit the first chord of the opening song, I was hooked. It seems to me that this show was perfectly cast. Each of the leads fit their characters to a "T" and the ensemble work was just incredible. The only song in which I was mildly disappointed was "Run Freedom Run." Hearing Mr. Austin's great tenor voice earlier in the show, I was expecting more from this usual show-stopper. The ensemble was great, but by the end it just seemed that Bobby was extremely tired (I can't really blame him though, I know I would be worn out after doing countless performances of this show!) Overall this was an incredible show and I would recommend it to ANYONE and EVERYONE. I loved the entire experience and seeing the great work that OSA does, I definitely want to become a part of their company!

GO SEE URINETOWN .. BEFORE IT'S TOO LATE!!!! [POST A COMMENT REGARDING THIS REVIEW]
Run, don't walk
by GCherry
Monday, March 13, 2006
5.0
If you are a fan of big musicals, go see Urinetown. If you are not a fan of musicals, go see Urinetown any way!! This is not your typical sappy show with love songs being crooned by silly lovers. This is satire at its best, although my guests did not catch all of the 'theatre humor' in the show. Allie, Michael, Eric, Scott, Jenna, and Robert are among the best I have seen, but the whole ensemble is great. The choreography is quite good, especially for a small stage. I especially enjoy seeing the band on stage, and boy do they sound great! The only possible negative is that one song seems to be in a key too low for Michael as that is the only time he does not belt it out over the audience. This is a terrific show. Make sure you make a reservation, people have been turned away because they were at capacity. [POST A COMMENT REGARDING THIS REVIEW]
Urinetown: the PERFECT musical to see
by zacharywynn
Friday, March 3, 2006
5.0
The title says it all! Urinetown: the Musical was, most likely, the best musical I have ever seen in my entire life! There was absolutely no weak link in the entire musical!

Although some incidents occured outside of the show, it was still the best thing I have ever seen.

You can try to compare this show to any other that you have ever seen, but Urinetown will always win.

The entire cast was powerful evenly (and greatly) in both acting and singing. Each comedic part was played up and had me laughing so hard, I almost fell on the floor! Each scene and song captured me and put me in the moment.

Although I knew the show rather well, it still felt like the first time I have ever seen it!

When Michael Austin and Sims Banes sang together I got the numb feeling that you only feel when you are in love.

This might sound like an extremely cheesey review...but Urinetown: The Musical was by far the best thing I have ever seen.

It's no longer a "Privalege to pee" (sung by Alli Simpson- who was outstanding by the way) now, the show is a definate privalege to see.

So, in conclusion, go see the show! It will be the best thing you have ever done!


[POST A COMMENT REGARDING THIS REVIEW]
Awesome Show !!! A Definite Must See!
by butchactor
Sunday, February 26, 2006
5.0
Seeing this afternoons performance of Urinetown can only be described as
awesome.It was a pleasure to watch such a brilliant and talented ensemble cast.
As an actor and having had the pleasure of working with two of the cast members on seperate occasions, I find it difficult to review this afternoons show without sounding somewhat biased. So with that being said, I will just say that there wasn't a weak link in the cast.
I can't remember when I have had such a good time watching a matinee show.
The energy was high, the band was great,the dancing electric and the singing was phenomenal! [POST A COMMENT REGARDING THIS REVIEW]
Urinetown
by gumshu2
Monday, February 20, 2006
5.0
I saw this show the other night! If you want to see it, book a ticket now! This is going to be a sell out! What a great cast! What great direction! What great choreography. What a bunch of great voices! The show is a riot! And the talent is phenominal. I was looking for a fun evening and was not dissapointed! I am telling everyone I know to BOOK ADVANCE TICKETS. You won't want to miss this one, but you might if you don't think ahead. I could go on and on about each individual performance but the cast as a whole is so good, it would take forever. The ensemble and thier big numbers really pump up the audience, especially in the second act. I'll be bringing some friends when I go again! [POST A COMMENT REGARDING THIS REVIEW]
GO SEE THIS SHOW!!!!
by woahfred
Sunday, February 19, 2006
5.0
With URINETOWN, Onstage Atlanta proves yet again that they can mount some of the most amazing shows around town. At this Saturday evening's performance, the amount of energy circulating between the cast and the audience was overwhelming!! It was one of those nights in theatre where everyone (actors and audiences alike) leave on such a "high" from a great performance.

From start to finish, the energy NEVER drops. And I can honestly say there isn't a 'wink link' in the entire company. I really can't express how overwhelming the talent was. The sound that just a few ensemble memebers could fill the house with was awesome...and individually, each singer was equally amazing. I normally metion a few stand out performances in my reviews, but I would have to list them all...every single actor on that stage delivered the goods consistently throughout the course of the show.

Mad props go out to Director Greg Poulos and Music Director Clay Causey for the job they did getting such a great group together like this one! The difference between a poished and professional looking show and an amatuerish show lies within the details, and with such a dynamic range of characters and such rich and colorful music (from the band and cast), detail was VERY important to each of them.

Not only does URINETOWN sound great, but they LOOK great. Ricardo Aponte's choreography and/or staging was absolutely PERFECT for each and every single number in this show. Having such an extremely diverse sounding score, Aponte managed to create a mathcing 'picture' for everything the audience heard. Of course, I have to mention that the second act show stopper "Snuff That Girl" was the most exciting production number in the show. The audience literally exploded in applause as the cast turned it out for that dance!!

As a final note on the show itself, if you haven't seen it and you like musicals, then you MUST go see it. I had no idea was URINETOWN really was like as a show until tonight, and it totally rocks! A cast recording can only expose you to a piece of the show, but seeing it all there living and breathing in front of you, you really get what a show is about.

Congrats to Onstage for a SOLD OUT house and hopefully many more to come if you all GO SEE THIS SHOW!!! [POST A COMMENT REGARDING THIS REVIEW]
Opening Night: A Privilege To "See"
by toodarnhot
Friday, February 17, 2006
4.0
This is a night of firsts for me:

- First TheaterReview Review
- First OnStage Atlanta Production

Where to begin?

From the moment I walked through the door, things got "interesting". While there to see Eric McNaughton, "Officer Lockstock", upon review of the Headshot Board, I was surprised to see two former cast-mates! Michael Austin and Sims Banes were in "Kiss Me, Kate" with me; Atlanta's SUCH a small place, no? Anywho . . . .

Having seen "Urinetown" performed by the touring company, and listened to the OOBC recording countless times, this cast was up against some rather high expectations. Much to my delight, and that of the audience, they rose to the challenge. At the curtain call we, in turn, rose to our collective feet.

While both leads found themselves in less than ideal vocal situations a few times, learning they are battling laryngitis found me applauding their "the show must go on" performances all the more. I wish them a speedy recovery. Don't get me wrong - they did a fine job: this is LIVE theatre, after all. (I wish I could say the same for some other shows I've seen; New York included!)

Allison Simpson's "Penelope Pennywise": what a voice! Brava!!

Jenna Edmonds's "Little Sally": I wondered how OA was going to fill this pivotal role effectively. Your performance stood as tall as the UGC building.

Erik McNaughton’s "Officer Lockstock": Well, Well, Well! What a treat it was to finally see you on the stage; a place you obviously belong. TRUST.

As for the ensemble: Bloody he!! I had more than one “tingle” moment – that’s with a “g”, not a “k”, btw – and your united vocal power was the cause. Great job!

At intermission, I found myself yet again surprised to learn a "voice" which sounded so familiar belonged to none other than Laine Binder, whose stellar performance in Neighborhood Playhouse's "Cabaret" is something I shall not soon forget. What a treat to see/hear this talent again play not one role, but two. (Great costume, Mrs. Millennium!)

I could wax poetic on every cast member, make mention of the set - which I won't - along with the musicians, who played a noteworthy show. However, that will be left to those of you who are 1. Far more qualified than I 2. Have the time to do so.

At the meet and greet, I couldn't help but bemoan the illness which prevented me from auditioning. “Urinetown” looks and sounds great, and I only hope the significant number of "first timers" there tonight will help spread the word for this great assemblage of talent. I certainly will.



[POST A COMMENT REGARDING THIS REVIEW]
AH HAH!!! by Parrott65
Timothy oh Timothy!!! This has GOT to be you....
Greg poulos by JasonMeinhardt
Just have to see this show. Mr. Poulos was my drama teacher in High School and who got me started in this wonderful, yet stressful career. I am thrilled that he has gotten back into directing after FINALLY retiring. :) Anyone who reads this and sees him, give him my best!


[REVIEW THIS PRODUCTION]

OPENING SOON
Home for the Holidays 2017
by Our Audience
Good Acting Studio
CLOSING SOON
A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to the Forum
by Burt Shevelove and Larry Gelbart (book), Stephen Sondheim (songs)
Centerstage North Theatre
Another Night Before Christmas
by Sean Grennan, with music by Leah Okimoto
ART Station Theatre
Dickens Christmas Carol: A Traveling Travesty in Two Tumultuous Acts
by Mark Landon Smith
ACT1
Home for the Holidays 2017
by Our Audience
Good Acting Studio
Miracle on South Division Street
by Tom Dudzick
Live Arts Theatre
NOW PLAYING
A Funny Thing Happened on the Way to the Forum
by Burt Shevelove and Larry Gelbart (book), Stephen Sondheim (songs)
Centerstage North Theatre
Another Night Before Christmas
by Sean Grennan, with music by Leah Okimoto
ART Station Theatre
Christmas Canteen 2017
by Brandon O’Dell
Aurora Theatre
Dickens Christmas Carol: A Traveling Travesty in Two Tumultuous Acts
by Mark Landon Smith
ACT1
Midnight at the Masquerade
by The Murder Mystery Company
The Murder Mystery Company in Atlanta
Miracle on South Division Street
by Tom Dudzick
Live Arts Theatre
Miss Bennet: Christmas at Pemberley
by Lauren Gunderson and Margot Melcon
Theatrical Outfit
Miss Nelson Is Missing!
by Joan Cushing
Georgia Ensemble Theatre
Murder on 34th Street
Agathas: A Taste of Mystery

©2012 TheaterReview.com. All rights reserved.