SUBMIT ABOUT FAQ
PEOPLE COMPANIES VENUES
LOGIN NEW USER PRODUCTIONS
REVIEWERS SIX DEGREES
A User-Driven Site for Theater in Atlanta, Georgia
Julius Caesar

a Play
CATEGORY :
by William Shakespeare

COMPANY : Georgia Shakespeare [WEBSITE]
VENUE : Conant Performing Arts Center [WEBSITE]
ID# 189

SHOWING : October 12, 2001 - November 04, 2001

[REVIEW THIS PRODUCTION]

PRODUCTION DESCRIPTION

"Honor is the subject of my story." Set in 1930's Louisianna, Shakespeare's bold political thriller is as powerful today as it was in Shakespeare's day. Beware the Ides of March. (photo - Chris Kayser, Bruce Evers, Charles Horton)


CAST & CREW LIST
Director John Dillon
Costume Designer Sam Fleming
Sound Engineer Lauren Gale
Sound Designer Brian Kettler
Set Designer Paul Owen
Lighting Designer Mike Post
Decius/Ensemble Brik Berkes
Casca/Ensemble Damon Boggess
Carpenter/Artemidorus/3rd Plebeian/Ensem Daniel Burnley
Cobbler/Octavius' Servant/Ensemble Randy Cohlmia
Calpurnia/Ensemble Teresa DeBerry
Julius Caesar Bruce Evers
Metellus/Pindarus/Ensemble David Harrell
Soothsayer/4th Plebeian/Ensemble Neal Hazard
Brutus Charles Horton
Lucius/Ensemble Brian Huskey
Marullus/Cinna the Poet/Ensemble Anthony Irons
Cireco/Octavius/Ensemble Gregory Thomas Isaac
Cassius Chris Kayser
Trebonius/Ensemble Scott Mann
Marc Antony Saxon Palmer
Portia/2nd Plebeian/Ensemble Lisa Paulsen
Cicero/Lepidus/Ensemble Barry Stolze
Marketing Director Stacey Colosa Lucas
Managing Director Philip J. Santora
Click to Submit Cast & Crew Info for this production
REVIEWS

[REVIEW THIS PRODUCTION]

Excellent!
by JimiMan87
Thursday, November 1, 2001
5.0
Cassius,Caesar, and Brutus played their roles beautifully. The way the play had the charachters dressed up louisiana style was a stroke of genius! I loved this play and would see agaain. [POST A COMMENT REGARDING THIS REVIEW]
enjoyable play
by enderwiggin
Friday, October 19, 2001
5.0
I would recommend "Julius Caesar." The play was very well done, with realistic set design, and talented, believable actors. The fact that the play was set in Louisana brought out Shakespeare's work in a new light. Because of the Lousiana setting, I was able to relate more with the characters than I would had it been set in Rome. The director did a commendable job, very wisely casting Chris Kayser as Cassius, and Saxon Palmer as Marcus Antonius. I would recommend "Julius Caesar" to anyone who would like to see Shakespeare's writing portrayed in a new, enjoyable way. :) [POST A COMMENT REGARDING THIS REVIEW]
Original
by potchick42069
Friday, October 19, 2001
5.0
GSF's preformance of Julius Ceasar was original. The modern setting in Louisana was extremely creative.
The actors were extremely talented. For example, the actor playing Cassius, Chris Kaysar, made his character come to like and helps the audience understand.
The director also portrays the play just as Shakespeare has wrote it.
Overall I would recommend the play because it is very entertaining, creative, and easy to understand.
[POST A COMMENT REGARDING THIS REVIEW]
kept me awake!
by bob
Friday, October 19, 2001
4.0
The Tragedy of Julias Caesar is all in all a good play. The actors fit perfectly with their parts, the stage was wonderfully decorated and the cold air in the theater kept me awake. I loved the towns-people running around the teater and shouting, adding to the excitement. Also, a good job done on making Shakespeare understandable to a tired and lazy high-school student. My only gripes are the killings looked pretty fake and at some times, one character would be alone on stage and drone on and on about his problems. That's when I would begin to yawn and sink into my seat, but hey, don't get me wrong, this was a good production. Great with excellent acting and stage setting, it kept me awake and excited at 10 a.m. [POST A COMMENT REGARDING THIS REVIEW]
Ashley Sims
by firelady
Friday, October 19, 2001
4.0
I would recommend this play because it brings life to the pages of The Tragedy of Julius Ceasar. The actions of the actors made the words of the story understandable and easy to follow. Being a high school student, I was entertained and spellbound by the talent expressed. The stage decor was amazing with a rotating platform to bring a variety of scenes into use. :) [POST A COMMENT REGARDING THIS REVIEW]
The Amazing Story of Julius Caesar
by countrygerl2004
Friday, October 19, 2001
5.0
I would recommend the play "Julius Caesar" presented by The Georgia Shakespeare Festival to anyone who enjoys Shakespeare. The director, John Dillon, did a wonderful job by including a twist of a 1940's Louisiana Mardi Gras theme to the Shakespearean Classic. The flavorful scenes,outlandish costumes, and cajun accents further added to the exciteful atmosphere. Bruce Evers and Saxon Palmer not only acted, but became their characters and captivated their audience. The play was very well cast and I look forward to seeing future productions of the Geogia Shakespeare Festival. [POST A COMMENT REGARDING THIS REVIEW]
The Resurrection of "Julius Caesar"
by hartzog2004
Friday, October 19, 2001
5.0
This play was extremely well cast. The moment each actor blasted onto stage, you could identify them through their demeanor as well as their dialouge. The change in setting to Louisiana put an interesting spin on the play that helped students to identify social class. The actors took a confusing script and produced it into a dazzling play. [POST A COMMENT REGARDING THIS REVIEW]
Great Cast...Great Play
by cutiger212
Friday, October 19, 2001
5.0
This performance of "Julius Caesar" is one of the better plays I have seen as a high school student. The cast makes this play worth watching, as they seem to keep the audience's attention focused on the play, instead of falling asleep in the cool temperatures of the theater. Chris Kayser, who played the role of Cassius, is by far the best actor in the production. Saxon Palmer, the star of many other plays performed at the GSF, has yet another exceptional performance in the role of Mark Antony, and is also worth seeing. Charles Horton, who plays Brutus, is also great, and doesn't receive the credit that he deserves. If you want to see a great cast perform a play that isn't the easiest in the world to perform, "Julius Caesar" at the GSF is the ideal play for you. [POST A COMMENT REGARDING THIS REVIEW]
Worthwhile
by Potguy420
Friday, October 19, 2001
5.0
Julius Caesar set in the 1930's is a play worth watching. I recommend it to others because it's an intersesting history lesson. Power shifts throughout the play have a twisted irony to them which add to the suspence and quality of the show.
The cast performed very well, especially Bruce Evers, Chris Kayser, and Saxon Palmer. [POST A COMMENT REGARDING THIS REVIEW]
See this Play!
by Kimmie
Friday, October 19, 2001
3.0
John Dilllon did a masterfull job of making William Shakespeare's "Julius Caesar" come to life. The play was east to understand, even from a student's point of view. [POST A COMMENT REGARDING THIS REVIEW]
Very entertaining and easy to understand
by reginaldmcneely
Friday, October 19, 2001
5.0
I really enjoyed this production. The set is spectacular--extremely ornate and with a rotating stage that suits the various moods of the show very well. I saw the show in a 10:00 a.m. student matinee and the creative staging and energetic acting kept the students awake, and, more importantly, interested and quiet.
The performances are spectacular with Chris Kayser and Bruce Evers truly inhabiting their roles and becoming the characters. With these actors on stage I felt comfortable that the show was in good hands. I am very happy that I saw this production of Julius Caesar. It was entertaining and performed in a way that made it very easy to understand. [POST A COMMENT REGARDING THIS REVIEW]


[REVIEW THIS PRODUCTION]

CLOSING SOON
Antigone
by Sophocles, translated by Owen McCafferty
Impulse Repertory Co.
Independent
by John Babcock
Essential Theatre
Little Shop of Horrors
by Howard Ashman (words) & Alan Menken (music)
Actor's Express
NOW PLAYING
Ada and the Memory Engine
by Lauren Gunderson
Essential Theatre
Antigone
by Sophocles, translated by Owen McCafferty
Impulse Repertory Co.
Independent
by John Babcock
Essential Theatre
Little Shop of Horrors
by Howard Ashman (words) & Alan Menken (music)
Actor's Express
The Spy Who Murdered Me
by Kevin Gillese
Agathas: A Taste of Mystery
The Summer of Our Discontent
by various
Onion Man Productions
Uprooting
by Betty Chaney
Academy Theatre

©2012 TheaterReview.com. All rights reserved.