SUBMIT ABOUT FAQ
PEOPLE COMPANIES VENUES
LOGIN NEW USER PRODUCTIONS
REVIEWERS SIX DEGREES
A User-Driven Site for Theater in Atlanta, Georgia
Carrie White: The Musical*

a Musical Parody
CATEGORY : COMEDY MUSICAL
by Sean Daniels, George Faughnan (adapted), Joel Abbott (Music)

COMPANY : Dad's Garage Theatre Company [WEBSITE]
VENUE : Dad's Garage Theater [WEBSITE]
ID# 422

SHOWING : June 21, 2002 - August 10, 2002

[REVIEW THIS PRODUCTION]

PRODUCTION DESCRIPTION

*an unauthorized musical parody of the Stephen King book and movie.

** extended to August 10! **

Carrie White, menaced by bullies at school and her religious nut of a mother at home, gradually discovers that she has telekinetic powers that will eventually be turned on her tormentors. This parody of the Stephen King's novel, set in 1989, has it all: show stoppin' numbers, heartfelt mother/daughter moments, and lots of pig's blood…lots.


Carrie White: The Musical is adapted by Sean Daniels and George Faughnan with original music and lyrics by Joel Abbott. Directed by Sean Daniels, it stars Doyle Reynolds as Margaret White and George Faughnan as Carrie White.



June 21st - July 27th, Thur-Sat at 8pm

Sundays (July 14th and 21st) at 5pm

An 8pm performance on Monday, July 1st at 8pm






CAST & CREW LIST
Composer Joel Abbott
Fight Choreographer Jason Armit
Lighting Designer Elisabeth Cooper
Stage Manager Rita Ann Marcec
Click to Submit Cast & Crew Info for this production
REVIEWS

[REVIEW THIS PRODUCTION]

I'm going again!
by Rosemary
Wednesday, July 10, 2002
5.0
I have seen this show twice. The first time was great, the second time was even better because the actors were more relaxed. It is a different kind of show and I don't think it's for everyone (I wouldn't take my mother for instance). This is not a slick production - it is a stretch - even for Dad's. You have to have an open mind to appreciate it and an audience that gets into it. I'm going to go again. [POST A COMMENT REGARDING THIS REVIEW]
What in the World.
by theaterreviewer
Sunday, July 7, 2002
1.0
What can I say about this show. It was very different.
There wasn't much to the plot and there is not much to say about this show.
I have seen better. I gave it a 1(one) to be nice. [POST A COMMENT REGARDING THIS REVIEW]
Bloody Shame
by one mans' opinion
Wednesday, July 3, 2002
1.0
I went into this production with expectations that were too high. Who could blame me; the pre-publicity, press coverage and word of mouth have been as strong as any show I can remember. I am not a devotee of the book or film, but could not resist the hype.
This show fails on the basic storytelling level. First of all the director/writer and his company seem confused as to whether they want to tell the story "straight" and let the audience find the humor in the absurdity of interjected song and dance, and drag show elements. Or whether they want to step outside the story and comment on the subject matter. By doing the latter they more often than not they get the small cheap laugh rather than set up the big pay off later on. The set does little to help the story along and it is often confusing as to scene locations until well into the scene. This is where an intimate knowledge of the work being spoofed is helpful.

Joel Abbott's score is fine, but since it was an original work perhaps he could have written songs to the level and range of the singers in the show. Better yet the casting of some real singers instead of friends and regulars would have been an improvement. Even the special effects were not as fun or inventive as in past Dad's wacky musical productions like Cannibal and Action Movie, which is often the highlight of this genre.

I agree with my peers that the performance of George Faughnan is first rate as it rings with honesty and consistency. Most of the rest of the ensemble I have seen do much better work in other shows.

I love to see theaters taking big risks, because with great risk there is the potential for great reward. Sadly, there is also a greater opportunity for failure.

The hype is big and don't think my harsh words will hurt ticket sales so good luck.

Remember mine is only...

"one mans' opinion"
[POST A COMMENT REGARDING THIS REVIEW]
5+
by Dr. Charles
Sunday, June 30, 2002
5.0
I was really impressed with this show. I don’t understand why so many people are focusing on George Faughnan when the rest of the ensemble was terrific too. Doyle Reynolds was the perfect foil for George throughout – but especially in that amazing last scene. Z Gillespie’s singing and dancing was a wonderful surprise. (The dancing scene he did with Carrie was delightful and his duets were wonderful!) "The Girls" were the bitchy teenagers we all knew as kids. I thought the whole cast was really first rate!

I could tell that the audience had never seen anything like Carrie White the Musical before and at first didn’t know how to react. When Carrie sang the first song I wasn’t sure if it was supposed to be funny or not. Then I realized that he was playing it straight and it all began to make sense. (That song was hauntingly beautiful, by the way). It takes time for people to understand something new and different. Once I “got it” there were moments that were pure theatre magic.

The songs were in keeping with the play – funny - yet serious at the same time. Each song was entirely different and interesting. I especially enjoyed the over-the-top pig scene, but then I thought the classroom scene was hilarious too. There were times when I couldn’t hear the words to the songs, but I think it had as much to do with the laughter in the audience as it did with the musicians. The songs were so clever that I wanted to hear each word. Maybe they need to put a microphone on the stage for the singers?

This play takes theatre in Atlanta to another level.

I say they deserve a 5+!
[POST A COMMENT REGARDING THIS REVIEW]
Playing it Straight
by Dedalus
Sunday, June 30, 2002
4.0
I have to add my voice to all the others praising Dad’s Garage’s production of “Carrie White: The Musical.” I am a fan of both Stephen King’s original novel and the Brian DePalma movie, but I still found this campy parody funny and, surprisingly, true to the earlier versions.

The right notes (pun intended) were struck by both the script and the marvelous performance by George Faughnan. The script wisely kept to the original High School Angst sub-text of the original – unfortunately, I knew people like this, my wife knew people like this, I assume everyone knew people like this (if we weren’t busy BEING people like this). The performances of all the “teenagers” were letter perfect – I know these folks will never see their teens again, but they made me believe.

But the star of the evening, George Faughnan, was the real reason the evening didn’t degenerate into unfunny schtick. He played it very straight – he avoided mugging and “winking” and calling attention to himself. It felt as if he really believed this character, and I believed him. And that was why the humor worked so well. If an actor knows he’s funny, it usually kills the joke. Mr. Faughnan was dead serious throughout, but the absurdity of his appearance as well as the absurdity of his situation made his dead-pan a real scream.

I agree with some of the other writers in that some of the songs were fairly bland (although the Pig song was a hoot), and that the musicians drowned out the singers a bit too often. The cast were better actors than singers, but, again, this wasn’t fatal.

I also thought the climactic prom scene was a bit of a let-down, but it was more than made up for by the duel to the death between Carrie and her mother (the marvelous Doyle Reynolds).

In the final analysis, though, this production is a textbook example of the principle that, in comedy, most often, playing it straight can be funnier than any other choice.

-- Brad Rudy (BKRudy@aol.com)
[POST A COMMENT REGARDING THIS REVIEW]
Is it just me?
by GCherry
Saturday, June 29, 2002
4.0
Maybe I'm getting too old? Maybe it is because I never cared for the movie. Than goodness for George Faughnan. He is always worth seeing. I'd better stop there. [POST A COMMENT REGARDING THIS REVIEW]
Bloody Good Fun!
by Ophelia98
Friday, June 28, 2002
4.0
Even if you hate the 1976 movie, it's worth going to see this production to watch George Faughnan's inspired, campy-yet-sincere performance in the title role. He'll crack you up from beinning to end. He's simply marvelous!

Can't give it a full five because of some of the uneven performances by the supporting cast. Compared to Faughnan's detailed portrayal, others obviously pale in comparison and come off looking amateurish. The singing voices range from good to very weak, but considering the fun but cheesy songs in the score, you don't really expect first rate voices in this.

Overall, the show's a parody and it's a hoot. Expect to have a great time, but with the exception of Faughnan's Carrie, don't expect great theatre. [POST A COMMENT REGARDING THIS REVIEW]
Do NOT miss this one.
by Buddy
Sunday, June 23, 2002
5.0
This is what theatre is supposed to be, but rarely achieves. My girl friend and I totally loved this show. The music, the dancing, and the special effects were incredible! All of the performers were wonderful, but George was perfect (believe it) as Carrie, and Z’s singing and dancing are not to be missed! The music was stunning!! I guarantee you won’t be bored. Dad's once again does something truly creative, unique AND entertaining. Do NOT miss it! [POST A COMMENT REGARDING THIS REVIEW]


[REVIEW THIS PRODUCTION]

CLOSING SOON
Smokey Joe’s Cafe
by Jerry Leiber and Mike Stoller
New African Grove Theatre Company
Steel Magnolias
by Robert Harling
Academy Theatre
NOW PLAYING
Crossing Delancey
by Susan Sandler
Alliance Theatre Company
Midnight at the Masquerade
by The Murder Mystery Company
The Murder Mystery Company in Atlanta
Smokey Joe’s Cafe
by Jerry Leiber and Mike Stoller
New African Grove Theatre Company
Steel Magnolias
by Robert Harling
Academy Theatre
The Last Five Years
by Jason Robert Brown
Marietta Theatre Company
The Spy Who Murdered Me
by Kevin Gillese
Agathas: A Taste of Mystery
The World Goes ’Round
by Music by John Kander; Lyrics by Fred Ebb; Conceived by Susan Stroman, David Thompson & Scott Ellis
Atlanta Lyric Theatre
Three Ladies of Orpington
by Daniel Guyton
Onion Man Productions

©2012 TheaterReview.com. All rights reserved.