SUBMIT ABOUT FAQ
PEOPLE COMPANIES VENUES
LOGIN NEW USER PRODUCTIONS
REVIEWERS SIX DEGREES
A User-Driven Site for Theater in Atlanta, Georgia
43 Plays for 43 Presidents

a Comedy
CATEGORY : COMEDY MUSICAL
by Bayiates, Benjamin, Gallo, Johnston, and Weinberg

COMPANY : Dad's Garage Theatre Company [WEBSITE]
VENUE : Dad's Garage Theater [WEBSITE]
ID# 553

SHOWING : September 20, 2002 - November 09, 2002

[REVIEW THIS PRODUCTION]

PRODUCTION DESCRIPTION

On September 20, 2002, Dad's Garage produces the southeastern premiere of the Neo-Futurists' (Chicago creators of "Too Much Light Makes the Baby Go Blind”) most recent creative venture. Buckle up as we showcase a not-so-standard two-minute biography on each of the past 43 Presidents of the United States.

43 Plays for 43 Presidents is the Ultimate Civics Lesson….if Dad’s Garage was teaching your Civics class. Watch as Benjamin Franklin roasts Thomas Jefferson! Thrill as Willy Taft spits up food! Marvel at Bush, Sr's Bollywood dance number! And join in Nixon's rousing chorus of "We Love Dick!"

History may never forgive us.

43 Plays for 43 Presidents will play at Dad’s Garage Theatre, September 20 through October 26, 2002. Regular performances run Thursday through Saturday evenings at 8:00 p.m., with ticket prices from $15 to $20. As part of Dad’s Garage Theatre’s ongoing education and community outreach program, there will be a post-performance discussion immediately following a matinee performance on Sunday October 6 at 5:00 p.m., and a “Pay What You Can” performance at 8:00 p.m. on Monday, September 30. Single tickets may be purchased at the Dad’s Garage box office, by calling (404) 523-3141. 43 Plays for 43 Presidents voted in for extended term. The Show that Wendell Brock from the AJC called “Unimpeachablepresidential madness” is being extended. We’re adding six additionalperformances of 43 Plays through November 9th. Added shows are: FridayNovember 1st, Saturday Nov. 2nd at 8:00pm, Sunday Nov. 3rd at 5:00pm andthe following week, Thursday Nov. 7, Friday Nov. 8th & Saturday Nov. 9that 8:00pm. Click here to read Wendell’s full review:http://www.dadsgarage.com/43pres/43pres_review.html


CAST & CREW LIST
Lighting Dsigner Elisabeth Cooper
Lighting Designer Elisabeth Cooper
Click to Submit Cast & Crew Info for this production
REVIEWS

[REVIEW THIS PRODUCTION]

good show, lots of fun, lots of energy
by StephanoAndreas
Thursday, November 21, 2002
NR
for the time being i'll always point out that the "0" rating is just
intended to be "no rating offered"

this show is getting mixed reviews on this site.

one of the reviews alleges that the positive ones are written by dad's staff.

i don't know,

but...(again anonymity is unproductive and cowardly in a theatre review) someone could easily imagine that the negative ones are written for personal reasons. i would think that would be just as obvious an assumption. (let's put our names on here, first and last)

ok, now, the review:

if you go to dad's expect huge energy, huge fun, and actors working at a near basketball level. this show delivers all of that.

the structure of the piece poses a huge challenge. I took particular pleasure watching the company eat this thing alive. 43 plays in rapid fire succession could prove daunting, and far from simply "making it work" dad's almost seems to be showing off.

i think the material lets them down a little though. the cast has talents that aren't demanded here.

from my understanding of the neo-futurists (i'm ill-informed i guess) i was expecting to get bitten, but the material is mostly toothless.

it's user-friendly. not terribly provocative, but very entertaining.

you can't leave the show without a favorite bit .

Mine was Cleveland.

you can't leave without disagreeing with something
(sorry these are the rules) and
well... i like Ike.





[POST A COMMENT REGARDING THIS REVIEW]
Enough Already!!
by Steve
Monday, October 28, 2002
1.0
Growing tired of reading favorable reviews obviously written by the Dad's staff. I saw this show and it's a real stinker (actors they ain't). Stick to improv (which is terrific). [POST A COMMENT REGARDING THIS REVIEW]
This is not a "1"
by freeleigh
Monday, October 28, 2002
3.0
It's also not a "5". It was funny, but kind of boring and slow.

A very typical show deserving no great praise or criticism.

[POST A COMMENT REGARDING THIS REVIEW]
Good Show!
by Buddy
Sunday, October 6, 2002
5.0
I let go of the idea of a "stage play" and enjoyed every minute of 43 Plays. It's unique - funny and touching - even surprisingly insightful. We talked about it all the way home. [POST A COMMENT REGARDING THIS REVIEW]
Dad's Best Work
by atlactor2002
Thursday, September 26, 2002
5.0
I usually just keep quite here, but I have to say, I have seen a ton of stuff at Dad's (starting with Cannibal) and this is by far their best show. It was funny, touching and overall just an amazing night of theatre. Regardless of what other people have said I'm planning to catch it a few more times if I can. [POST A COMMENT REGARDING THIS REVIEW]
incredibly fun and smart
by goodtime
Wednesday, September 25, 2002
5.0
I've been a long time fan of Dad's Garage and they really outdid themselves with this show. It's the best show I've ever seen there. (I totally agree with joejoe, btw! Right on!) It has comedy, poignancy, moments of great depth followed by hillarious jabs. I laughed myself almost out of my chair a few times. And my wife cried during one of the earlier plays--I forget which President it was! But I learned a lot too, which is amazing. The ending made me uncomfortable at first and then I went home and I thought "why did it make me uncomfortable?" Then I realized that was the whole point they were trying to make! If we are actually scared to share our views (one way or the other) about the war on terrorism, then isn't something WRONG? Just a great show. I can't say enough about it. It kept me up all night. My wife said I should quit my job and go into either theater or politics. I think she just wanted some sleep! Anyway, I highly recommend it. (And I'm an Independent by the way. I actually don't think you need to be a lefty to enjoy the show!) [POST A COMMENT REGARDING THIS REVIEW]
just awful
by ecodan
Sunday, September 22, 2002
1.0
a dull, dark, cynical, amateur, politically retarded view of our presidential legacy. very european in its heavy slant towards the negative; left you feeling depressed and dirty. the show was capped with a disturbing left-wing attack on one of the audience members that was reminiscent of the creepy images of saddam smiling and patting the little hostage children on the head.

was it a comedy? an occasional forced laugh from somewhere in the audience is about the closest this came to being a comedy. a history lesson? perhaps, if you want to discard the big picture and focus on handpicked side issues from each term. art? it was definitely art, if you define art as something that appeals to a small niche and requires just the right person to understand. worth $20? absolutely not. [POST A COMMENT REGARDING THIS REVIEW]
Thank you Mr. Limbaugh by joejoe
I've seen this show both in Chicago and last weekend in Atlanta and it is amazing. And you're right. It is art. I'm glad you understand at least that. I don't know what kind of "small niche" you're talking about, however, since the Saturday audience at Dad's Garage gave the show a standing ovation. I guess that small niche of (oh, 99% of the audience) seemed to have an excellent grasp of the show's value. And forced laughter? Try tears and gaffaws. Are you a Right-wing spy or something? What show did you see? Is it worth $20? Try $250 if you combine my Chicago ticket and my flight to Atlanta to see this production! Okay, I'll admit, the show is very Left-leaning. If you're a narrow-minded, black-and-white thinking, Republican, TV watching, blindly patriotic drone, then listen to this person and stay home. Otherwise, do yourself a favor and see some of the best theater I have EVER seen.


[REVIEW THIS PRODUCTION]

OPENING SOON
Billy Goats Gruff
by Davies
Capitol City Opera Company
Man of La Mancha
by Dale Wasserman, Joe Darion, and Mitch Leigh
Capitol City Opera Company
Stealing Home
by Pat Cook
Live Arts Theatre
CLOSING SOON
Billy Goats Gruff
by Davies
Capitol City Opera Company
Man of La Mancha
by Dale Wasserman, Joe Darion, and Mitch Leigh
Capitol City Opera Company
NOW PLAYING
9 to 5: The Musical
by Songs by Dolly Parton, Book by Patricia Resnick
Onstage Atlanta, Inc.
August Summer Harvest 2016, The Lakeside Plays
by jpbeck
Onion Man Productions
God of Carnage
by Yasmina Reza
Pumphouse Players
Improv Monster
by Jackpie Theatre Workshop
Jackpie Theatre Workshop
Once Upon a Murder
by Marc Farley
Agathas: A Taste of Mystery
The Bridges of Madison County
by Marsha Norman (book) & Jason Robert Brown (songs)
Aurora Theatre
The Foreigner
by Larry Shue
Lionheart Theatre Company
The Legend of Georgia McBride
by Matthew Lopez
Actor's Express

©2012 TheaterReview.com. All rights reserved.