SUBMIT ABOUT FAQ
PEOPLE COMPANIES VENUES
LOGIN NEW USER PRODUCTIONS
REVIEWERS SIX DEGREES
A User-Driven Site for Theater in Atlanta, Georgia
Jekyll and Hyde in Concert

a Musical (Concert only)
CATEGORY : MUSICAL
by Wildhorn / Bricusse

COMPANY : Onstage Atlanta, Inc. [WEBSITE]
VENUE : Onstage Atlanta, Inc. (Decatur) [WEBSITE]
ID# 571

SHOWING : November 08, 2002 - November 17, 2002

[REVIEW THIS PRODUCTION]

PRODUCTION DESCRIPTION


CAST & CREW LIST
Director DeWayne Morgan
Music Director Eric Smithey
Emma Carew Maura Carey Gebhardt
Lord Savage Steve Cernek
Ensemble Chuck Creighton
Nellie Theresa Cunningham
Lady Beaconsfield Patty C. Guenthner
Ensemble Gabrielle Herlugson
Sir Danvers Carew Michael Huey
Ensemble Kristen Keating
John Utterson Jason Kraack
Lucy Harris Allison Simpson
General Glossop Gary L White
Simon Stride Tad Wilson
Click to Submit Cast & Crew Info for this production
REVIEWS

[REVIEW THIS PRODUCTION]

WONDERFUL
by mollie
Monday, November 18, 2002
0.0
I had the opportunity to see Jekyll and Hyde last week end and
was vey impressed with the performance. All of the singers were wonderful. I agree with Tasha, TAD WILSON has a powerful voice. We would like to see more of him. Where did he come from.
ON STAGE ATLANTA keep up the good
work. Dan Cook should move to New York. [POST A COMMENT REGARDING THIS REVIEW]
Disappointed
by Tasha
Sunday, November 17, 2002
4.0
Disappointed only because this show is not extended! What a fabulous experience! The acoustics of the new venue made the vocals so powerful! Where did this Simon Stride come from? I need to hear and see more of him! Even though he may have had a small role, I am sure has has a huge part, if you know what I mean! Break me off a piece of that! Great job! [POST A COMMENT REGARDING THIS REVIEW]
don't be disappointed by tgillesp
Jeckyll & Hyde will be revived for one weekend only, January 10-11. Call the theatre at 404-897-1802 or check http://www.onstageatlanta.com/ for details.
Well Done!
by Phrank
Sunday, November 17, 2002
5.0
I was very priveledged to enjoy opening night of this production. I was very impressed with the level of vocal talent. As an AEA member, I can say that these singers were equal if not better than most New York transients on the repertory theatre circuit. Dan Cook SHOULD quit his day job! Hats off to Jason Utterson, Maura Carey and Tad Wilson, as well. Bravo! [POST A COMMENT REGARDING THIS REVIEW]
Just Wonderful!
by BILricki
Saturday, November 16, 2002
5.0
Several of my friends urged me to make a point of getting tickets for "Jekyll & Hyde The Concert" and I plan to thank every one of them! What a great show!!! The cast sounded great, especially Dan Cook and Alli Simpson. Except for some accoustical trouble [which will be addressed when their construction is completed] the performance was worth every dime. This show is of the calibre of what Onstage used to produce when they were on Courtland Street downtown [Chess, Secret Garden, Sweeney Todd, Whoop-Dee-Doo!, Pump Boys, to name only a few]. I'm very glad to see that they are back, and I will put Onstage Atlanta back on my list of theatres to visit. [POST A COMMENT REGARDING THIS REVIEW]
Delightful
by Bud
Monday, November 11, 2002
4.0
A refreshing concept for live theatre/live music. [POST A COMMENT REGARDING THIS REVIEW]
Great voices/great idea
by Miss Maggie
Monday, November 11, 2002
4.0
I really enjoyed the concert performance of Jekyll & Hyde. I really did not know anything about the show, but the music is great. I have two of the songs stuck in my head and will probably have to find a copy on CD. The voices are awsome- especially Mr. Cook. I was impressd with the quality of singers at such a small venue. The band had 1 or 2 minor problems, but that is to be expected in a fully live performance. (I was pleased that the music was live and NOT on tape!) I am glad to have been exposed to a new musical that I might not have ever had the opportunity of ever seeing. [POST A COMMENT REGARDING THIS REVIEW]
TRAIN WRECK
by Fran
Monday, November 11, 2002
0.0
This production was a total catastrophe. Actors playing like sychophants to the audience, singing off-key, my god, what has the theater come to! [POST A COMMENT REGARDING THIS REVIEW]
Oh really? by Bud
Are you sure you actually saw the concert, or do you have a problem with the concept? I usually just sit back and watch what other people write, but your comments strike me as vindictive rather than constructive. I cannot take your comments seriously as I did see the performance and I was delighted.
I agree with Bud..Oh Really?? by lilunder
First of all if your going to use the word at least know the correct spelling.."sycophant" meaning "A servile self-seeker who attempts to win favor by flattering influential people." Well isn't that what a cast is supposed to do in this type of performance? As the actor don't you want to influence and flatter your audience?? As a vocalist myself, you're obviously not one if you thought the singers were off key! I went to the first 3 performances due to my expectations being not only met but exceeded. Yes there were about 2 instances were I heard a note sung that wasn't on key with the live band, but they caught up and went on. Also, if you're involved in theater at all you would know what "hell" week is like, these folks sang their hearts out every single day for a week before the opening and STILL had the ability to do 4 shows back to back with that much fervor and energy. Madam really, maybe you should take another look at it this weekend, since they may get a break for a few days in between. Just to verify, it's at OSA in the Suburban Square. Oh and it's called Jekyll and Hyde in Concert, because I'm certain you weren't reviewing the correct production. Cast and crew, kudos! I'll be back this weekend to see you pull off an absolutely amazing rendition of the Jekyll&Hyde show!
What show were you watching? by act1
The audience (Saturday night) did not seem to share your feelings as we stopped the show for Cook's "This Is The Moment", and gave the cast a heartfelt standing ovation.

Perhaps it is the concept of "IN CONCERT" that escapes you.
Well worth the wait.
by heathjr1002
Sunday, November 10, 2002
5.0
I never thought an Atlanta theatre would ever risk doing Jekyll and Hyde. What a great idea to do the concert version! This is like PBS, only live! Onstage Atlanta's new space is an intimate and cozy. And what a great format for such wonderful music! At first I was afraid that I would feel I had missed something by not seeing a full production with costumes and set, however I was so very wrong. Daniel Cook is THE best person for the lead. He became the character. (I noticed the woman next to me trying to hold back her tears). I love watching singers who can act, too! The entire cast was great. I am recommending this show to all of my friends, and I will probably see it again next week. I hope they bring it back later on. This was just SO great! [POST A COMMENT REGARDING THIS REVIEW]
Most Excellent!!!
by GCherry
Sunday, November 10, 2002
5.0
I didn't know they had it in them! Onstage Atlanta has pulled off quite an amazing "In Concert" version of 'Jekyll & Hyde' that you MUST SEE! Danny Cook (I saw him in CHESS, Eden & Fiddler) is superb. His voice is better than ever. (He is way better than the soundtrack!) Alli Simpson and Maura Carey are terrific. The entire ensemble is wonderful, with many faces & voices you have seen before. I expected a piano and maybe drums, but they had a small band, with was an extra treat.


Sadly, this is a limited engagement with only six performances scheduled. I strongly recommend that you postpone what ever you may have planned for next weekend and get tickets to 'Jekyll & Hyde: In Concert' before they sell out. You WILL thank me! [POST A COMMENT REGARDING THIS REVIEW]


[REVIEW THIS PRODUCTION]

CLOSING SOON
Eclipsed
by Danai Gurira
Synchronicity Performance Group
Incorruptible
by Michael Hollinger
Onstage Atlanta, Inc.
Summer Harvest - The Corporate Collection
by various
Onion Man Productions
The Miracle Worker
by William Gibson
Gypsy Theatre Company
NOW PLAYING
Eclipsed
by Danai Gurira
Synchronicity Performance Group
Incorruptible
by Michael Hollinger
Onstage Atlanta, Inc.
Murder and Stranger Things
by John Babcock
Agathas: A Taste of Mystery
Summer Harvest - The Corporate Collection
by various
Onion Man Productions
The Miracle Worker
by William Gibson
Gypsy Theatre Company

©2012 TheaterReview.com. All rights reserved.