SUBMIT ABOUT FAQ
PEOPLE COMPANIES VENUES
LOGIN NEW USER PRODUCTIONS
REVIEWERS SIX DEGREES
A User-Driven Site for Theater in Atlanta, Georgia
The Foreigner
a Comedy
CATEGORY : COMEDY
by Larry Shue

COMPANY : Kudzu Playhouse [WEBSITE]
VENUE : Kudzu Playhouse [WEBSITE]
ID# 845

SHOWING : January 09, 2004 - February 14, 2004

[REVIEW THIS PRODUCTION]

PRODUCTION DESCRIPTION

In a fishing lodge in rural Tilghman County, Georgia, two English men, Froggy and Charlie, arrive as guests. After pleadings from his sick wife, the shy Charlie agreed to accompany Froggy on the trip. When people at the lodge try to talk to Charlie, he cannot find words due to his terrible shyness. Froggy then claims that Charlie cannot talk because he is from an exotic country and does not understand English. Due to his supposed lack of ability to understand English, Charlie soon discovers scandals amongst some of the residents of the lodge.


CAST & CREW LIST
Back Stage Hand Melissa Michele Goodfellow
Owen Musser Matthew Cornwell
Reverend David Lee Brian Godeski
Betty Meeks Jeannie Hinds
Ellard Simms Andy Meeks
Charlie Jason Meinhardt
Froggy LeSeur Chuck Pettis
Catherine Simms Brandy Rizk
Ellard Simms (closing weekend only) Mark W. Schroeder
Click to Submit Cast & Crew Info for this production
REVIEWS

[REVIEW THIS PRODUCTION]

Great Show!
by onstagediva211
Monday, February 23, 2004
4.0
Yes, I am affiliated with Kudzu but I don't give a darn whether or not someone should review something based on whether they know a lot about the company and the people or not, because one thing is for sure, I know a good thing when I see it.
And the Foreigner was a good thing. It was really funny and the comedic timing was perfect. I was literally sitting on the edge of my seat the entire time. At first I had my doubts about the Foreigner at Kudzu, but since The Foreigner is one of my all time favorite shows, I decided to go see it anyways. I must say I was pleasantly surprised.

There were many standouts of this already magnificent cast. Andy Meeks as Ellard was freakin' hilarious. He did a great job with the character and really dove into the character's inner self, exploring the many facets of the character and showcased them well on stage. I have to say he was my favorite.
Jason Meindhart as Charlie was very good too. Although he had the least lines he was one of the most interesting to watch. I often noticed myself look at him and his reaction during some of the duller scenes (which were very very few and far between). The other standout that I really liked was Jeannie Hinds, who also owns the theater alongside her husband, and to say she did very good is an understatement. Her performance was spectacular and I looked forward to every time she was on stage, and I especially enjoyed the interaction between her and Charlie. They communicated really well on stage and were very very funny together.

The only thing I would gripe about is how long the blackouts were. sometimes they seemed to last 2 or 3 minutes (although it wasn't that long). Other than that spectacular show, and the cast and Director should be well applauded for their work. Congratulations! [POST A COMMENT REGARDING THIS REVIEW]
Great Job!!!
by Cricket
Monday, February 16, 2004
4.0
I haven’t lived in the Atlanta area for very long. This was my first experience with the Kudzu Playhouse and definitely will not be my last. I was very fortunate to have been able to attend the final performance of The Foreigner on Saturday night. It was a sold out night. I thoroughly enjoyed it! There was an enormous amount of talent on that stage. I had brought friends with me and they enjoyed the play, also. My favorite character was the Preacher Man. Wow, what a hottie he is!!!!

I will be checking out the upcoming plays in hopes of finding this talented group assembled again. You can really tell that they enjoy working together. I will keep in mind to purchase tickets in advance. I was almost too late by the time I got to the ticket window.
[POST A COMMENT REGARDING THIS REVIEW]
A good strong production
by Paul
Wednesday, February 11, 2004
4.0
This is the third show that my wife and I have had the pleasure of attending at Kudzu Playhouse. We are new to the Roswell area having previously lived in Gwinnett area. AS previously stated both my wife and myself are avid theatre goers having attended performance in NY and London' West End. We also enjoy local community theatre productions. It was thru Theater Review that we found Kudzu Playhouse. We are not affiliated in anyway with this or any other theater in the metro Atlanta area.

Once again I see that personal vendetta's have reared their ugly heads.

1) We did not feel that we had wasted our $36.00

2) We felt that it was a strong production. I nice ensemble cast. Good performances were give by the entire cast. And Ms. Hinds, you have a very sweet stage persona. And are very talented.

3) This person, Taylor, obviously is jealous, most likely has limited talent, and few friends. He/she must have some horrible inadequacy that compels him/her to lash out in such a personal manner.

I will agree that the set was not as attractive as others that I have seen, but a rustic lodge it was passable.

Would I recommend this productions to my friends? YES and have.

[POST A COMMENT REGARDING THIS REVIEW]
A Fresh New Experience
by patronsaint
Sunday, February 8, 2004
5.0
This show was absolutely hilarious. I had never been to this theatre before, and found it to be a thoroughly relaxed, enjoyable environment. The talent was absolutely tremendous; each actor took his own well-written part and adapted and added to it so that each audience member was able to connect with the characters. The close bond of the cast is evident and really adds to the comedy and overall performance. There was not one viewer who didn't crack up! And Kudzu itself is a comfortable, creative environment- I even had a most interesting conversation with the woman who sells the popcorn! The only bones I might have to pick is that the set looked a little sloppy, but with some imagination easily became the log cabin in southern Georgia, and several of the props looked a bit off: the cups were about 1/4 full and there was a recent People magazine on the coffee table- I don't think Paris Hilton was a source of much interest when The Foreigner took place. To conclude, I laughed harder than I have in quite a while, and am very glad I took the chance to drop in on this theatre, which I must have walked by and around dozens of times (it's right next to Startime Entertainment). I will definitely be returning, both to see the next adult programs and to check out the children's shows. [POST A COMMENT REGARDING THIS REVIEW]
Foreigners should flock to Foreigner
by fimion
Saturday, February 7, 2004
NR
Ok, i am not rating this for the main reason of, I'M ASSOCIATED WITH KUDZU!! I HAVE DONE WORK THERE BEFORE AND HOPEFULLY WILL CONTINUE TO! now that that is out of the way, onto the meat.


I found Foreigner to be a very delightful play. i know most of the cast and crew, so seeing them portraying these roles was equally as amusing.

the set was much better than "Taylor" has said it was. as was most of the things he exaggerated. i was very amused by the entire play especially since they had little time to prepare it in the first place.

Andy Meeks and Jason playing onstage together was definently the highlight of the show. every time they were out there together, you know something is going to happen.

overall i would give it a 5, because i go there and am trying to suck up for having screwed up a while back, but i'm not rating it since some people would be offended. [POST A COMMENT REGARDING THIS REVIEW]
Good Show - Must See to Believe
by Thesbian Dan
Saturday, February 7, 2004
4.0
A friend (TheatreCritic) told me to go and see this play and I am glad I did. I never review these things, but he told me about the bashing some folks have gotten on this web site and I just had to check it out. I am glad I did.

I do not know what got up "Taylor's" crawl, but it appears it died and he can't get it out. I mean, as an actor, once expects constructive criticism pertaining to his or her own craft. But my GOD! Who in their right mind deserves all of this mess?

First off, it shows real solid maturity to criticize people personally on a theatre review web site. Makes me wonder if the alleged reviewer is of legal age to wipe his own butt. Secondly, it shows real intelligence when someone expects more out of community theatre than what I saw at the Kudzu Playhouse with this production. I mean, come on folks - community theatre is where EVERYONE starts out. No magic, glitter, big budgets, or ILM special effects staffs here. Just hard working people trying to shine and have fun at what they do and hope and pray they can have the blessed opportunity to kick it up to the next level the next tme around. Some folks posting on here infer that they are expecting to see something from Mann's Chinese Theatre or at the very least, Off-Off Broadway. Granted, this ain't LA or NY, and the intellegence factor of that poster went knee-high to a grasshopper when ANY comparison is being made to such.

Thirdly, let's talk about the show for a mere moment, shall we? I guess I got so wrapped up in personal criticism I guess I forgot the real reason I am here - TO REVIEW A SHOW AND NOT JUDGE THE FOLKS ASSOCIATED WITH IT.

As TheatreCritic says somewhere on here, the show is funny - and that Ellard guy is HILLARIOUS. I could see a little more emotion from the girl in the play, and she did look a little uneasy at times with either her lines or her delivery. The slick Reverand-fella was just that - slick - although he was pretty much predictable by the second half. The lodge keeper was very funny and at times had me rolling. She was a major slab of concrete on this Trump-based endeavor - a good foundation. The "Foriegner" was pretty good, but not great. He had the concept down of what he needed to do, but sometimes there could have been a little more emotion. The other characters were pretty decent at their roles as well - and I applaud the entire cast on a job that I thought was well done.

Community theatre? Yes. Did the set look lke a lodge? Yes. It didn't have visible indoor plumbing or a look from LL Bean or anything, but it was a quaint lodge. Was the storyline decent? Very much so, and the overall delivery of this yarn was pretty good.

IMHO, there are no loosers here except those prima-donnas that have nothing better to do than to criticise individuals, their lives, threats of calling some college or something, claims of theatre-nepotism, and those that hide behind a wall of HTML, JavaScript, and a screen name. This play is worth the money, and at the every least, promotes community theatre to a step above the level of normal expectation.

And I have NEVER stepped foot in Kudzu Playhouse before this, but the play I saw will make me go and see the next production they put on. [POST A COMMENT REGARDING THIS REVIEW]
Funny Show - Worth $18 - Period
by TheatreCritic
Friday, February 6, 2004
5.0
I have been involved in over 16 shows in the past two years - directed two and performed in the rest - all at a variety of places around Atlanta (24 Hours Project - Horizon/Syncronicity Theatre, Emory Univ., Class Act Theatre, Neighboorhood Playhouse, Cobb Playhouse, etc.) and have never auditioned or performed in a show at Kudzu Playhouse.

My daughter, however, just came off being in their latest production of "A Christmas Carol", so I guess that would give me a somewhat "small" tie to this theatre. Honestly, I would not have gone to this show if my daughter had not wanted to take me there. And I only know who Jeannie Hinds is just in passing.

I saw "The Foreigner" two weeks ago with my daughter, and went into the show with no knowledge of who was in the performance and not knowing what it was about - just that my daughter wanted to go. Even after seeing the performance, I do not know who these people are personally.

So, now that I have gotten all of that out of the way...

I wasn't expecting lavish sets or expensive background music or even Tom Keys. My level of expectation was to see a show (with all adults, for a change) that would somehow entertain me for two hours. And this one did.

I throughly enjoyed the production. I thought the show was very funny in most respects, and have to say I laughed more at the Ellard (Andy Meeks) character than any other character in any other show I have seen on stage. He was hillarious, and his comedic timing was such that he bordered obnoxious but never crossed it - he seem to know where to draw the line. The other characters in the show were truly believable in their respective roles. I recognized one of the characters in the show from "A Christmas Carol" a month before and am truly glad he took someones advice and slowed down his dialog delivery by hopping off the Autobahn. I could understand every word he said this time.

Quality? The diction was clear. The dialog was all delivered in one piece (with no signs of missing lines or cues) and with emotion, where emotion was required. The stage directions were clean, and when anyone was set into motion, they did so with a purpose - not any of this "move just to be moving" stuff. I felt the storyline was good, and again, I was thoroughly entertained for two hours.

I do not care that they had "n" number of weeks to get this show together, nor do I care how long they rehearsed their lines. And I do not care who can or can not be cast in a Kudzu Playhouse production. I only care that I paid $18 to see a show at a theatre I had only visited to see a couple of shows of "A Christmas Carol" before and throughly enjoyed the show.

IT IS WORTH $18.

And I will probably go and see it again. [POST A COMMENT REGARDING THIS REVIEW]
Not even a" foreigner" would come and see this show
by taylor
Monday, February 2, 2004
1.0
This show was put on because the theater could not get their act together for Forever Plaid. This show was thrown together at the last minute (about a week of rehersal) and it showed. The theater even knew that it was poorly put together, that's why they had to announced it at the beginning of the show. So that way if any mistakes that were made, the audience would have sympathy for them and say "but they only had a week to put it on".I say ,"this is an indication of how unorganized and unprofessionally the show was done". I have seen the show before and this was the worst version I had ever seen.

The set was boring and did not have any dimension. There scenery was merely a bunch of flats lined up in a row. It lacked any artistic quality and there were no levels to their staging. The maroon paint was simply slapped on.

And yes, the blackouts took way too loooooooooong. I think the woman who is even sitting behind me fell asleep because every time the lights would finally come up she would jump as though she had just woken up. Anybody who hasn't seen the show would've thought the show was over and it was time to go home. That's How long it took for the lights to come back up.Talk about uncomfortable silences.

Now for the actors -- my, my what can I say? I don?t know how Theaterparent and GaTallOne could even say that " Wally Hinds pulled together some of the most talented actors in Atlanta to produce the show." I'll explain:

1. GaTallOne and Theaterparent work (or shall we say are volunteers) that helped put the shows together at the Kudzu Playhouse. ( and yes I know who you are )

2. Wally Hinds grabbed the first actors he could in order to put this play on at the last minute because the Forever Plaid project was?" dead as a doornail". For crying out loud, he even put his no talent wife in the show. Is she a nice person? Yes. Can she act her way out of a paper bag? No.

3. Was there any DOUBT ( I mean really ANY DOUBT) that Jason Mienhardt would not be in this production?

Are we seeing a pattern here, folks? We've got Jason Meinhardt, Andy Meeks, and Brandy Rizk, ...Again. Are these people bad? No. Are they great? No. They're OK. But I can guarantee you that if you audition at Kudzu Playhouse(even if you were Harrison Ford) you will never, ever be cast in a show at the Kudzu Playhouse; as long as Jason Mienhardt, Andy Meeks, or Brandy Rizk are trying out. That's how ludicrous this theater is. They do not cast the best person for the part. They cast their family and people that they are friends with! Trust me -- on this. There will never be a play done at the Kudzu Playhouse without Jason Mienhardt, Andy Meeks, or Brandy Rizk them in in it or not in involved in some way shape or form. These people will never have stardom. These people will never be on an awards show. They will always be at Kudzu Playhouse. ... Forever! If there if these people are so talented, let's see them get cast in the show somewhere other than the Kudzu Playhouse.

Overall: The set is terrible. The technical aspects of the show were atrocious. And the actors, under contrary belief, DO NOT pull this show off. Do not pay $18 to see this show. Why should anybody pay $18 to see a show that was half assed thrown together at the last minute in order to save their necks and their reputations. It just shows how much this theater has respect for their patrons. This theater robbed its audience of $18 a person. This theater also cheated its audience by not producing a well put together show. This show could?ve been so much better, but considering who put it on it ,doesn?t surprise me.

Oh, by the way, Jason Mienhardt stated that he was never going to be visiting this site anymore, Nor was he ever going to read or comment on reviews anymore. This can be justified by reading the reviews and comments that he wrote for Blood Brothers. But I guess you can expect anything less from a liar. Also, Jason, the only person who I have even trashed ,has been you. I have not said anything derogatory about Mr. Meeks. I also think it?s funny that you practically begged that I don?t say anything nasty about you. And that you had to force my last comments to the back of your mind. I'm glad your therapist could help you. As far as Jason stating that he was not going to go easy on me this time, if I were to make any nasty comments, I have yet seen any proof or actions that have proved any of my statements false. I would really love to see what he thinks he can do.

Also to Brandy (a.k.a. also known as ?andy? )you will say anything to defend your fiancé. As far as I'm concerned, considering that he's in the show as well as yourself ,any comments that you have to say are completely invalid.

Finally, Ms. Susie Q., I have seen the show twice already. On top of that, yes I believe that people should not be allowed to review the show?s that they are in. It gives a false sense to the people who read this web site. If people are allowed to review their own show?s, then this site is nothing more than a place for actors and directors to brag about themselves. So if somebody has the right to brag about how good they are in a show or how good the show it is that they are in, I have every right to tell how terrible the show actually is. By the way, you do not have any idea who I am.

As for Gern, I have no idea who you are, but I like the idea that somebody does agree with me on at least some of these subjects.

[POST A COMMENT REGARDING THIS REVIEW]
moved to the forums section by snappermorgan
come over and join us, Taylor. The moderator moved all the non-review posts to the forums so we don't clutter up the show review pages. We have much to discuss.
Enjoyable
by Girl
Saturday, January 31, 2004
3.0
I hate to be one of those who just reviews Kudzu shows, but… oh well. I still resolve to review everything that I see that I can be objective(ish) on, but I guess we'll see if that ever happens.

Anyway, I'll review this show now while I'm in a place to do so. (I'd hate to do it when my boyfriend is in it, after all.)

The show was enjoyable; very well written. It's just a very funny show. There are a lot of good things about it, most of which I've forgotten about. Sorry about that. For the purpose of growth of the theater and those involved with it, though, I will state some of the few problems I had with it.

The majority of the cast was very good. I don't really care much about what Jason has or has not said on his resume, I just know that I have enjoyed him in the show's I've seen him in, and for someone who (at least tries) to just see shows and enjoy them without the politics involved, that's all that really matters in the end. Brandy was also very good, though I could have done without so many screams, in part because the theater is too small for such a loud sound. Andy is very funny on stage, however I felt that, at least in the beginning of the show, his performance bordered on offensive. Don't get me wrong; it was still funny, but Ellard does not have Downs Syndrome (or at least there is no implication that he does), and this is how Andy played the part, to the extreme. (For more information, please visit http://www.lsi.ku.edu/lsi/internal/guidelines.html#Portryal. If that link doesn't show, I'm sorry.) However, his performance was toned down as the show progressed, and it got to be very enjoyable.

Of course, there were more good things (and bad) to say, but for various reasons, including, but not limited to, a failing memory, I'll refrain from stating them here.

Finally, I know (and figured) that the Kudzu people knew who I was, but I will say that I still wish this was, at least to a certain extent, an anonymous forum, because now I (as well as other reviewers, some of whom are even objective) have to censor myself to a certain extent as not to step on anyone's toes. I still stand by everything I have and will say, but it does make it harder to be as objective as possible with everyone being "found out."

I wish you all the best of luck in the rest of your run. [POST A COMMENT REGARDING THIS REVIEW]
The Foreigner at Kudzu Playhouse
by sherrym
Saturday, January 31, 2004
5.0
This is one of the funniest shows I have seen. The script is clever & witty. The set looks like a lodge and, due to the small theater, I felt like I was right there in their lodge. The southern accents were realistic. Andy Meeks (Ellard) has enough energy for five people. Jeannie Hinds as Miss Betty is reminiscent of everyone's favorite southern aunt or grandmother. Jason Meinhart (Charlie) was hilarious. Brian Godleski as the Reverend David Lee is as slick as any TV evangelist you ever saw. I brought my family and we all, children included, laughed harder than we have in a long time. All the actors did a great job, and I encourage you to see this show if you are looking for a fun evening out. [POST A COMMENT REGARDING THIS REVIEW]
An honest, objective and professional review !
by Susie Q
Friday, January 30, 2004
5.0

WELL...here I go again. I am sooo tired but I feel I owe it to Kudzu and the public to review this again! I just finished and submitted, I thought , a review that took over two hours to write it. I am afraid my review will deffinatley loose something in the rewriting. I hate computers !!!

"THE FOREIGNER" A PLAY TO BE SEEN BY ALL AGES WITH A
SPLASH OF PARENTAL GUIDANCE!


I STARTED OFF WITH THE.....

The SET; The cabin was painted with shading and outlining that was painted with care and artistic talent. I actually got close and touched the walls and could see the different shades of brown.I have an artistic backgroundand and could see the painters strokes.
It was warm and you felt like you were sitting in a mountain cabin. NICE!!!

The special effects; 1. The cellar, very ingenious, you could actually visualize Ellard getting hit on the head by the way Betty (Jeannie) captured and conveyed what Ellard was doing in the cellar. 2. The cellar, also
gave a special effect when the Klan member while standing on the cellar door, appeared to be melting. A lot of hard work went behind this illusion. 3. The lighting at the window's and doors to convey day and then night was excellent. 4. But really interesting was the sound and lighting during the storms and the Klan's entrance. Kevin is responsible for the light and sound tech but he made it more than that he made it an effect. BRAVO!!!

THE CAST;

Chuck Pettis as Froggy LeSueur; He played Froggy as a military man with a soft side and cared deeply for Betty. He was very convincing in this role. He did the set up to introduce Jason as the Foreigner, Charlie, while the set up was a little long he did convey cleverly that Charlie was unsure of himself. He also realized he had made a frankenstien and you could see his frusteration as Charlie grew more into his role as a foreigner.BRAVO!!!

Jason Meinhardt as Charlie Baker (the foreigner) Jason has continued to grow but this is a totaly different role for him and he was incredible.Jason as Charlie had to use his face expressions to convey what he was feeling since he did not speak english. He could come up with a face that had everyone crying it was so funny. He rolled his eyes and used his hands and used tension in his body before he came up with a fake language. And his fake language was hilarious and still visual. He deliverd his character with right on timing. Charlie was kind to everyone and wise beyound his years. Jason made Charlie come alive. BRAVO JASON !!!

Jeannie Hinds as Betty Meeks; WOW, Jeannie is the best straight man I have seen in years. I have studdied comedy and I tell you the straight man is hard to do. The timing is everything and Jeannie as Betty has it. Betty kept her face poker straight but yet sweet what a hard combination. She can be so annoying but yet it was hard for Charlie to really get mad at her. Both Ellard and Charlie fed off Jeanie's playing the role soooo straight. BRAVO JEANNIE !!!

Bryan Godleski as Rev. David Marshall Lee; Hats off to Bryan as The Rev. David. He just like Jeannie had to be a straight man but he also had to convey some mystery and Brian nailed it. Bryan at first had to build a rather likeable character that appeared to be tender to his fiance, Catherine, at the same time he had to be mean to Ellard. He did all this and especially acted suspicious. This is Bryan's third show and all I can say is Wally you really know talent. BRAVO BRYAN!!!

Brandy Rizk as Catherine Simms; Brandy did an incredible job in portraying a sweet and soft young woman but a woman with convictions and opinions. The interaction between Catherine and Charlie was heart warming. Brandi showed this character's strength with profection, as she showed Catherine's ability to be living out in the country and still brave enough to say her mind about the klan. Brandy you were so believable in this part, you were Catherine. BRAVO BRANDI!!!

Matthew Cornwell as Owen Musser; This is the first time I have seen Matthew in a play and he was awesome as Owen. Owen was chilling and gave me goose bumps. I grew up in a town where the Hell's Angels often stayed and I don't think I have seen a more convincing evil and menacing man as Owen. Jokes were made on his behalf by Charlie and he kept a straight man face while showing rage. He also was a presence physically. BRAVO MATTHEW!!!

Andy Meeks as Ellard Simms; Only Andy could do the role of Ellard with his style of hilarious and childish antics and expressions and timing.!!
His body was constantly moving with strange but funny positions along with his facial expressions were priceless. He and Jason delivered one of the funniest scenes when Ellard was trying to teach Charlie how to speak english. You could see Ellards growth as a person and how he started to believe in himself through Andy's eyes and body movements. Your a genious...BRAVO ANDY!!!

This was more than a challenging play to produce and Kevin as stage manger really pulled it off. He always has a smile on his face and makes everyone feel good. He has teched several really suuccessful plays that I have seen and is priceless to Kudzu.BRAVO KEVIN!!!

The production assistant and and the back stage assistants all worked really hard. There was a lot of food to manage and props to keep on top of. Good job NICOLE, MELISSA AND CAMERON BRAVO!!!


BEHIND A REALLY GOOD SHOW IS A REALLY GOOD DIRECTOR.

Wally Hinds did not just throw this play together at the last minute but knew this play inside and out and knew when he casted it exactly how he wanted his characters to be in it. Wally directs this kind of over the top talent by makeing suggestions and by respecting each one of the actors for who they are and gets them to giive him there allll.

Yes , I am connected only by brining in a few props and food and my daughter who has acted in other plays, helps backstage and is a big fan of these fabulous actors. I can only say go see The foreginer it will make you laugh. And that is not a bad thing.









[POST A COMMENT REGARDING THIS REVIEW]
Sort of agree
by kelly334
Friday, January 30, 2004
1.0
I would like to say that I am not under the influence of anything that has been said, nor do I plan to add on anymore comments about this show. As harsh as Taylor is...he does have a point about the show. It wasn't really as good as everyone says. Yes the set was not up to par. And I do feel as though it was a rush job. I do believe that they could have done better if they had more time to work on the show. But to put a show together in a week and say that it was a really good show is not very logical. I'm sorry, maybe you guys were off alittle; maybe you guys were having a bad night. But one thing is for sure--you can tell that this show was put on in a week. I don't think that it's the actors fault that this show flopped. I have seen other shows with them in it, and they were very good. I think that the actors did the best they could with what they had and in the time they had to get it done. I'm sure it was a real challenge. Like I said, I think the actors are very talented, but I'm sorry....you didn't pull it off. I do not blame the actors for this. I have to blame the owners. When you own a buisness, you need to run it like a buisness. I have to agree with some of the comments made. I feel that THIS show was unorganized. I understand that things can sometimes go wrong for a buisness, but I cannot give a good rating just because you tried. I have to give an honest review of the show. I have to review the show for what it was as a whole. There were several things that just couldn't be ignored. Yes, for the first time,I felt that I was "robbed" of my money. Normally the shows are much better than this. All I know, is that the this whole thing could have been avoided if the owners had better buisness and management skills. That's all I have to say. I will not be responding to anything that is written about this review, as I find it childish to do so. I will not write another review until the next show. I believe that this website is for reviews only and that is all it should be used for. Not for bashing each other, or even commenting on other peoples reviews. It's a website for reviewing shows. Personally after hearing everything, I feel that taylor and Jason should not be allowed to have any of their reviews or comments published again. I feel as though they have abused their privliges of making reviews and comments. [POST A COMMENT REGARDING THIS REVIEW]
VERY GOOD
by BLITZFAN
Thursday, January 29, 2004
4.0
I had the pleasure of seeing foreigner on saturday night and I enjoyed the production. I have seen Andy Meeks in shows before and have always been satisfied with his performance. I was somewhat disappointed in not getting to see forever plaid but foreigner is always a good show to see and always makes me laugh. This was my first time at kudzu playhouse and I really liked the intimate feeling you get by being so close to the stage, made me feel like I was inside the show. All in all to be a last minute change I think it was pulled off very well and would recommend it to all. [POST A COMMENT REGARDING THIS REVIEW]
My stomach hurt....(in a good way)
by Theaterparent
Tuesday, January 27, 2004
5.0
I attended this show on Saturday and although I was disappointed that "Forever Plaid" was moved to later in the season, I was excited to see this show. Wally Hinds (director and artistic director) quickly assembled some of the most talented actors in Atlanta to produce this show. Hearing the curtain speech, I understand they only had a week or so to put it together and by the product seen Saturday, you would never have known. The comedy and the interaction between these actors looked as though it was rehearsed for months.

I agree with the previous reviewer that Andy Meeks and Jason Meinhardt, two of my favorite actors in the Atlanta area, had the greatest moments together. These two have worked together in the past and I understand are friends offstage and you can tell when they are onstage together. They read each other's actions and reactions and provide side splitting hilarity throughout the show. I hope something happens for these two quickly because they deserve nothing less than stardom.

The other actors in this show were equally impressive. Jeannie Hinds was the loveable lodge owner and she had a sweetness in her delivery of the lines that made you laugh out loud and love her character to the last blackout. Brandy Rizk, who I have seen a lot recently and have yet to grow tired of her, is absolutely wonderful in her role as the ex-deb turned bitter soon-to-be minister's wife. I have seen her a lot lately and she gets better and better every show she does. If she continues, I would not be surprised if we see her on the awards shows. Matthew Cornwell and Brian Godeski are just plain nasty. Without giving away anything about the show, Brian is "too good to be true" as the minister and Matthew, well...again, nasty. Those are both compliments, by the way. And finally, Chuck Pettis as Charlie's (Jason Meinhardt) friend, Froggy LeSeur was wonderful as always. I have seen him around Atlanta in other shows and always love his style.

All in all, the show was fantastic. The set was beautiful and again, the actors made the show. The only problem was the blackouts took a little too long, but in the audience, a minute feels like an hour. However, this never once took away from the enjoyment had by all of us at this first production of the new season at Kudzu Playhouse. I cannot wait for the next few shows and will definitely be there for "Forever Plaid". Come see this show and enjoy a great laugh. [POST A COMMENT REGARDING THIS REVIEW]
Another wonderful Show
by GaTallOne
Sunday, January 25, 2004
4.0
I had the pleasure of seeing this production Saturday night. Kudzu has the reputation of putting on very good shows. Their production of "the Foreigner" is certainly one of those. It was a pleasure to see Chuck Pettis, as Froggie. I previously enjoyed his work in "Over the River and Through the Woods".

Mr. Meinhardt filled the shoes of the foreigner very well. His shy self effacing demeanor is a nice contrast for the self assured and confident gentleman. The by play between Mr. Meinhardt and Mr. Meeks’s Ellard is a true pleasure to watch. They are highly entertaining.

Jeannie Hinds is wonderful as Betty Meeks, the Lodge owner. Her sweet smile and kind words make you feel like you would want to spend a weekend in her lodge basking in her sweet southern charm.

Brian Godleski has the right mix of charm and snake oil salesman as Rev. David. His smile and his character make you want to go home and take a bath. He is just right for the wolf in sheep’s clothing.

Andy Meeks is terrific as Ellard. His double takes and timing are near perfect. He knows how far to push the absurd without taking it to buffoonery. He makes you laugh at him and along with him. His portrayal of the simpleton is very well done.

Brandy Rizk is wonderful as Catherine the girl caught in the middle. She is sweet and very attractive. What she sees in Jason Meinhardt, one would have to question her sanity. (Just teasing, they are engaged according to the program)

Mathew Cornwell plays Owen, the villain. He is truly despicable. You almost feel like hissing at him when he comes on stage. He is wonderfully uncultured and few bricks shy of a full load.

All in all a strong production and very entertaining.
[POST A COMMENT REGARDING THIS REVIEW]


[REVIEW THIS PRODUCTION]

CLOSING SOON
Christmas Canteen 2018
by Brandon O’Dell
Aurora Theatre
NOW PLAYING
A Year with Frog and Toad (2018)
by Willie Reale and Robert Reale
Synchronicity Performance Group
Christmas Canteen 2018
by Brandon O’Dell
Aurora Theatre
Daddy Long Legs
by John Caird (book) and Paul Gordon (songs)
The Legacy Theatre
It is Beginning to Look A Lot Like Murder
by Ryan Girard
Agathas: A Taste of Mystery
Junie B. Jones Is Not a Crook
by Allison Gregory
Georgia Ensemble Theatre
Midnight at the Masquerade
by The Murder Mystery Company
The Murder Mystery Company in Atlanta

©2012 TheaterReview.com. All rights reserved.