SUBMIT ABOUT FAQ
PEOPLE COMPANIES VENUES
LOGIN NEW USER PRODUCTIONS
REVIEWERS SIX DEGREES
A User-Driven Site for Theater in Atlanta, Georgia
Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat
a Musical
CATEGORY :
by Andrew Lloyd Webber and Tim Rice

COMPANY : Barnbuster Musicals [WEBSITE]
VENUE : Cobb Playhouse and Studio [WEBSITE]
ID# 876

SHOWING : May 08, 2004 - June 06, 2004

[REVIEW THIS PRODUCTION]

PRODUCTION DESCRIPTION


CAST & CREW LIST
producer John Christian
Director Rob Hardie
Music Director/Keyboardist Megan Hodge
Technical Director Jon Liles
Asst. Director (KIDS) Jamila Abston
Asst. Director Megan Hodge
Music Director Megan Hodge
Costumes Windy Keller
Tech Brian Lacy
Stage Manager Ann Pavlik
Choreographer Olivia Prawdzik
Kids Chorus Nicole Alley
Featured Chorus Kim Bechfold
Kids Chorus Jessica Bosworth
Pharoah Barry Green
Baker/Brother David Hadzimihalis
Kids Chorus Miranda Harmon
Potiphar's Wife Tara Simpson Hodges
Kids Chorus Toni Hodges
Kids Chorus Jimmy Hodges
Women's Chorus Alex Hodges
Narrator Sara Holton
Chorus Valoria Isaac
Jacob Barry Kaplan
Benjamin Ryan Kaplan
Kids Chorus Jonathan Kaplan
French Singer Cheri Kennelly
Brother Barry Lloyd
Kids Chorus Autumn McElroy
Featured Chorus Jennifer Moses
Brother Antonio Pareja
Joseph Clint Pridgen
Kids Chorus Kevin Reagan
Kids Chorus Chandler Riggs
Judah William Riggs
Kids Chorus Aidan Rogers
Kids Chorus Brydan Rogers
Kids Chorus Corin Rogers
Kids Chorus Devon Rogers
Kids Chorus Keenan Rogers
Kids Chorus Leith Rogers
Chorus Kelly Shingler
Potiphar/Brother Alan Stacy
Kids Chorus Sarah Tyrlick
Levi/Butler Mike Wasson
Kids Chorus Emily Wolfert
Joseph Jacob Wood
Pharaoh (ALT) Rob Hardie
Click to Submit Cast & Crew Info for this production
REVIEWS

[REVIEW THIS PRODUCTION]

Hey guys, it's "Community Theater" remember?
by Landollar
Sunday, May 23, 2004
5.0
Wow, I've never seen so many self-proclaimed theatre critics massing in one place. In a world where well connected Hollywoodites can produce multi-million dollar garbage year after year, can none of you critics appreciate people who do it for the love of it? Jeez.
Let's face it. Anyone with the guts enough to participate in any form of community theater should be applauded. Generally speaking, these shows are done on a shoestring budget with the actors paying for their own makeup and many times, their own costumes. They work at it for ridiculous hours in theaters so filthy, prisoners could sue if they had to live in them. Of course they are doing it for the love of it! If anyone is complaining about paying their "hard earned" cash to see this show, nobody made them see it.
I saw it this past weekend and had a great time. The house wasn't packed but everyone I saw seemed to enjoy the show, with quite a few people hanging around afterwards to compliment the actors. I don't know who played what part, nor do I care. I had a great time, felt I got my money's worth and I wasn't even drunk! Some actors were better than others, but hey, that's ALL theatre.
The narrator was fabulous and kept the pace of the show up. Joseph was well cast. The band was great, but not too overbearing, which surprised me with the smallness of the stage area. The brothers were shorthanded, but so is McDonald's and they pay money. The Mr. & Mrs. Potiphar scene was great and funny. The Elvis was dead on and not at all over the top as another viewer mentioned. The kids were a good as could be expected with their various ages.
There were several areas where the end of a scene seemed to purposely drag on for an extra ten seconds or so, but each one seemed to lead into what appeared to be a massive costume change for the next scene. I'm going to go out on a limb and theorize that the theater did not have a budget for a costumer backstage and was forcing a little extra time for the changes. Oh well, I can live with that.
All in all, I and my date both got our money's worth and left with a smile. If you didn't leave with one, you probably didn't come in with one either. If you're going to complain about the whopping $16.00, see how far it will take you at the gas station. [POST A COMMENT REGARDING THIS REVIEW]
Band/Pharoah/Kids/Drunken Audiences, 4 comments = 4 cents worth by JustMyOpinion
I agree with most of what you said. You don't really sound too serious in your offhanded remarks, but three things are obvious to me since the show that you and I saw this weekend was different from the one reviewed last weekend. 1. The band made volume adjustments this weekend based on previous reviews. (That's why they weren't overbearing.) 2. Joseph and the Pharoah were different actors this week, not the ones mentioned last week. 3. Kids can sing better, regardless of age, if taught and reminded. (As a side note, I am glad that you chose not to get drunk before the show.) I enjoyed the show too, but apparently for very different reasons, but you have your right to express your opinion too.
Pleasant evening, go see it
by JustMyOpinion
Sunday, May 23, 2004
4.0
DISCLAIMER: I know one person in cast/crew, I did not jot down notes during the show and I think I got all spelling and grammar correct.

I saw Joseph on Friday night with a small, but very enthusiastic audience. I can tell you without hesitation that the band and singers had the balance issues straightened out. I could always hear the singers, and could understand the words. There were only a few times when the mics cut out, but they came right back on and caused minimal disruption.

WARNING: There is a lot of silliness in this show. If you really like Monty Python, Three Stooges, Kids in the Hall, etc. you will love the twist on this show. If you are more of a purist, you will not like it as much.

I liked some of the additions but not others. The smaller things, like the name tags for the brothers, the "Pick Him" signs, the costumes for Go, Go Joseph number (complete with "go go choreography"), Jacob having to be revived, the neon gangster hats and sunglasses, etc. all added to the show. The more outrageous bits, like Joseph's grand stalk of "wheat" being compared to the brother's stalks being too small (you know where), the gorilla, the lengthy bit after the Pharaoh number and the "Hava Nagila" bit at the end of Canaan Days were disruptive and/or in bad taste and slowed the pace of the show. As a suggstion, at least cut the length of the Pharoah bit after the short reprise of his number to be much shorter. The audience seemed to love the Pharaoh song but was ready for the bit to be over after. (Ouch, leave them wanting more, not less.) Also, you cut your own applause when the audience started to applaud and Joseph gave his line to cue the reprise too soon. Wait just another second or two to let the applause for the first number happen (hopefully).

The singers had energy and really put their best foots forward. Clint Pridgen did a great job as Joseph and Barry Green also as Pharoah. (I asked to be sure that I had the right names.) The Potiphar number was well done by Alan Stacy and Tara Hodges as Mr. and Mrs. Potiphar. I also liked the country number, Canaan Days and especially the calypso number. The brothers' sound was very solid with nice harmony. It is a shame they didn't have all eleven brothers, but they more than made up for it with their singing and acting. (It is hard to find that many men who can commit to any show in community theatre.)

William Riggs did a fantastic job with the band and doubling as a cast member. (Don't you love community theatre when everyone really pitches in?) The addition of the flute, guitars and mandolin added to the songs. I understand from previous discussion that none of that music was in the score. Bravo, musicians! Your musical sensitivity was right on target for the times those instruments were added. Also, the drummer was never overbearing, but added the right amount of support that a drummer should.

I thought the lighting was dark at times, but that has already been covered in previous reviews and unavoidable for the space. Costumes were well designed and appropriate. Notable pieces were the dreamcoat, Joseph's Egyptian garb, Mrs. Potiphar's attire, and the aforementioned 60's Go Go Joseph costumes. Choreography by Olivia Prawdzik was also in good taste, correct for the music styles and very pleasing to watch throughout the show.

I wish the kids had been seen better and used more in the musical numbers. I actually cringed when they came in so loud when Joseph was singing Close Every Door. You probably can't fix it now, but they really broke the mood of the number. (On a postive note, they looked so cute in their costumes and were so well-behaved sitting so long during the show.)

Cast and crew, you have a great show and I thoroughly enjoyed myself. Thanks for a memorable evening of good theatre.

I did not forget one person who really made this all come together. I saved her for last. Sara Holton, you were amazing. I cannot say enough about you, so just know that you were everything you should be in the part. Brava, Brava, Brava!!!!! [POST A COMMENT REGARDING THIS REVIEW]
There we go by JasonMeinhardt
Very nice review. Good points, bad points, points to improve on, etc. Nicely done. And Sara...wow, sounds like you're doing quite a fabulous job! I wish I had time to see it. Working weekend nights has definitely kept me from attending a lot of theatre lately. I wish you and your cast the best.
A cast clarification from a cast member
by Artguy
Friday, May 21, 2004
NR
After reading numerous reviews posted on this extremely biased site, I figured I should offer some clarification. Having played Elvis/Pharoah two years ago in another Atlanta theater, I was contacted and asked to audition for the part. Because all of us are doing this for free, yes free, when I auditioned I made clear that I could not perform the final weekend due to prior commitments.
The director Rob said he always wanted to play the part, so he would perform the final weekend, but because that seemed silly to just do the final shows, he also played the second week. Why there are two Josephs, I have no idea. Anybody who has seen BOTH casts will immediately see that we play the parts differently. Anybody who hasn't seen both casts, should bite their tongue.
Meanwhile, it has been very clear that there are some bitter people out there. We're not blind... we can see you sitting there with your number two pencil and pad of paper, writing furiously. Why not close your pad and watch the show for a change? And remember, we're doing it for free and fun... and oh yeah, we do get a free bottle of water backstage. [POST A COMMENT REGARDING THIS REVIEW]
Artguy, Free and Fun? by Paul
I usually don't get involved in these issues but your last paragraph was a slap in the face to your patrons. I have not had the priviledge of seeing your production and most likely will not, therfore this comment is directed to you and you alone. YOU mabe DOING IT for FREE and FUN but your PATRONS, those people WHO PAY! are there to see the best show that you are capable of doing. The PATRONS are the people who ALLOW you to do it for FREE and FUN. Without them there would be no venue for you to do it for FREE and FUN. WHen you forget why you are there, then you forget your patrons and they of all people pay there hard earned money for enjoyment. If all it is to you is something you do for FREE and FUN perhaps you should not be there
Ooooh... are you bitter too? by Artguy
Am I NOT allowed to do something for free and for fun AND give my best performance? Apparently, you must only perform at your best (if at all) when you are being paid. Some of us, on the other hand, give our best whether we are performing a show or work or play. You might give it a try sometime, you'll be a whole lot happier.
Clarification by Paul
Actually, sir , I give my best at all times. If you reread your little diatribe about reviewers, nowhere do you mention doing or giving your best for the patrons. You only mention doing it for free and for fun. What I intended to point out was that with so many venues in this city, there are limited dollars to be spent on the arts. As a patron and having no affliation with any theater in this city, I expect to see a good show equity, non equity, high school or community theater. Too many time I have seen small theater companies fail because they forget that it is a business first and an artist venue second. Even non profit theaters must have sufficent income coming in to produce shows. With out revune there can be no lights, no sets no costumes and no show. But then i suppase the actors will just pick up and find somewhere else to perform. THe point I am trying to make is that you cannot have a cavalier attitude towards your patrons. THey are what allows you your outlet to perform. I am sorry if that is bitter to you but if you are honest with yourself, you will see that my orinal comments directed at you first posting are correct. As I said in my first posting my comments are not directed a performance but at attitude
My dear Paul by Artguy
If you give your best at all times, try using "Spellcheck" sometime so you don't embarrass yourself further.
Whoa.... by JasonMeinhardt
I would have to say, if anyone sounds bitter it is Artguy. I do not know you and again, have not seen the show. But I have to say, the ones who have come to see it and reviewed it have a reputation on this website for having VERY fair reviews. To get personal and start insulting those who paid the money to see you perform no matter what kind of review they give (like Mr. Forrester), is degrading, immature, and extremely unprofessional. Not one reviewer for this show attacked anyone personally (unlike other shows and reviewers). I, like most, if not all actors in Atlanta have worked for free and we do it for the love of theater and our craft and to build the resume and experience needed to pursue this crazy career. But we, the performers, no matter how much we are getting paid, need to go in there and give it our all. We may fall short a few times, but if you know in your heart that you gave the best damned performance you can give, then no matter what review you get, be satisfied with yourself and proud. I just found it amusing that your first comment said that you can tell that the reviewers are bitter, etc. and nothing BUT bitterness and anger arose out of your comment. Why has nobody else from that production come to the defense of the show? Why has nobody else gotten as angry as you appear? Just keep doing your best and be proud of what you do, no matter what ANYBODY says. Its hard, but its a must in this business. Sorry to ramble, but I just wanted to speak my mind.

Oh, and why does spellcheck keep getting brought up? :)
Art guy.. lets grow up shall we? by jgreen
I posted a comment in the open forum sometime last week about what this site should be used for. I understand that everyone has there opinions, however, the comments that you are directing towards Paul are not only written in the incorrect form and immature in speech, they do not belong here on this site. This site is designed for reviews. Have you ever thought about the repercussions of your actions on this site? If someone went to see your production and knows who you are, your comments, the way they are stated may make them not want to see you in any show from here on out. As well as possibly inspiring casting directors to not cast such an arrogant, pompous person to "grace" the stage they cast for. I for one, would not. I hope you had a wonderful weekend. By the way I am pretty sure that my spelling is correct. Paul I do not know you but I hope you did not mind me saying these things.
My 2 cents by An observer
I’d like to preface this by saying I’m not affiliated in any way with this cast or this production. I have just been reading this little spat and I figured it’s about time I put my 2 cents in. OK, so it’s more like 50 cents….

You're right, Paul. Without patrons, small community theatre companies, and indeed, theatre as a whole, could not exist. But I believe Artguy wasn't referring to patrons in general. He was talking about the critics.

Ya know, the people that come to shows with a pad and paper and are so busy trying to find and scribble down every little mistake and flaw in the show that they never take the time to sit back and enjoy themselves.

In community theatre, the actors aren't there because they are getting paid - they are there because theatre is what they love to do. It is their passion and their art. When a company has limited means, you can't expect a show to be perfect. Heck, you can't even expect that on Broadway. But what you can expect is a group of people who are going to put 100% of everything they have (be it ever so humble) into showing the audience a good time. But when a critic comes in all ready to pick the show apart, it doesn't matter how great it is, they aren't gonna like it.

Theatre isn’t meant to be picked apart, at least not in that sense. It is supposed to make you laugh, and cry and think about life and see things in new ways. If you don’t enjoy the shows, then why the heck to you spend your money to come see them? Every time I read a review that starts with “I don’t really like this show to begin with” or “Although this is not one of my favorites”, I have to wonder, then WHY on earth did you pay money to come see it?? Why would you pay your “hard-earned money” to go to a show you KNOW you are not going to enjoy? Well, because obviously the greater pleasure comes in sharing how much you hated it with the rest of the world, putting down the everyone involved in the show and making you seem like a sophisticated theatre connoisseur.

You say Artguy is slapping patrons in the face - I disagree. He wasn't talking to the people who spend their "hard-earned money" to come enjoy a night of entertainment and fun. We love them! GO PATRONS! He was talking to the people that make a hobby out of criticizing other people's work. The ones who come to these productions, acid-tipped pen in hand, ready to slam these people's hard work on a site, oh, much like this one. They don't come to shows to be entertained, they come to indulge their own egos by putting others down, and they forget what theatre is really about.

They say those who can’t do, teach. And those who can’t teach, criticize. I say Amen.
I must disagree observer. by jgreen
I think that if you look around this site, you will see that there are many unbiased reviewers. Any actor gets excited or nervous when a reviewer of any kind is in the audience. A reviewer, or show, is out there to be enjoyed yes, however, you never hear anyone complain if someone is sitting in the audience reviewing and gives it rave reviews. You must take the good with the bad. Learn from what the review said, step back, and see what you can improve. If we were to settle for a "so-so" show due to lack of resources most of the community theaters in town would have poor shows. A lack of resources is a problem globally for community theater. However, I have viewed stellar performances, no matter the budget. That is my 2 cents, it is worth what you pay for it.
Interesting... by JasonMeinhardt
I can see where you're coming from, "Observer". But you have to admit that the comments made towards Paul went from defending his show to being personal. But, that said, this site is notorious for that. Unfortunately. I don't think anyone who reviews a show goes to see it solely to come back home, hop on the computer, and then write a review. If I am mistaken, I apologize. As for the "going to see shows you don't like" thing: I, personally, have seen shows that I don't particularly like or have been disappointed with past productions and I do that for quite a few reasons. I may know someone in the show and am supporting them or the theater, or I am willing to give the show itself another try with another production. I don't think anyone on this site is claiming to be a genuine theatre critic. All we do is see a show in support of the Atlanta theatre community and then let others in that community know what we thought of it. Unfortunately, since we are such a close knit community, we usually know who is writing what and that usually ignites a war. Unfortunately those wars become personal and THAT is an absolute shame. But what can you expect from a website dedicated to us Atlanta drama kings and queens? :)
the reason I take notes by Okely Dokely
I think I need my head examined for putting myself in the crossfire once again, but I just wanted to hopefully shed some light on the "note-taking" issue. I started doing that when I saw Guys and Dolls at the Cobb Playhouse. It was an impulsive decision. I went to my car during intermission to grab a pen, and took notes during Act 2 on the back of one of the flyers I took from the theatre. I decided to try out the note-taking to see if it would enhance my reviews and make them more specific, informative, and (hopefully) helpful. I have been taking notes ever since on every show I've seen, and I've written down both good and bad comments at about a 50/50 ratio. I can't speak for all the other note-takers, but that's the reason I do it. I'm certainly not sitting there with my pen and paper thinking "what can I tear apart?"
Point taken by An observer
Well it's good to know that there ARE indeed unbiased reviewers out there that post on here solely to be informative about the worth of the show for other patrons. Unfornately, as you pointed out, that is not always the case. I've read too many reviews that don't even bother with constructive criticism. "I hated this show." "So-and-so's performance was horrendous" etc etc. That kind of thing is just silly and immature.

And I wasn't trying to making any personal digs about note takers *this is especially directed to Okely*. It's one thing to take notes to be more informative or to remember names or specific highlights of the show that are worth pointing out. It's when we see critics bent sitting in the front row bent over their pad so often that they couldn't possibly be watching the show that we actors get our feathers ruffled.

Anyway, I gave my 2 cents and you gave yours. Ahh, isn't it nice to be able to have a discussion without personal insults or tempers flaring? ;)
Yes, observer by JasonMeinhardt
Its VERY nice. Its amazing what can be talked about when everyone takes a breath and keeps to the subject. :)
To An Observer by Paul
To an observer, I realize that production values are limited by budget. I realize that most community theater actors invest their time and money into the performance. I have had many friends over the years that have made Community Theater their passion. It is for this reason that Jill and I actively seek community theaters to attend. Over the past 2o years we have had the pleasure of seeing several community theater actors make their way to Broadway, TV and the Movies. This is to say that the talent base in Community Theater is vast. All I ask for is that the PASSION be there. A great performance does not depend on the lights, the set, the costume or the props. I believe that a GREAT performance depends on the actor and their passion for performance. After the Leading Player in “Pippin” has stripped Pippin of his makeup, costume, set and lights, he and his beloved are still able to sing their love song. It is this passion that I find lacking in some performances and it shows.
absolutely biased
by SCfan
Thursday, May 20, 2004
4.0
My wife and I attended the show last Friday night. Our nephew was in the children’s choir, but I will still voice our opinions since everyone else seems to have one. Sure, I will be biased, but at last check this was a free country and everyone still gets to vote. The costumes were perfect for the show and the various styles made for an interesting visual amid the sparse, colorful set. Sara Holt and Jacob Wood were excellent in their roles. Sara brought energy and enthusiasm as the narrator, much more than other narrators we’ve seen. The brothers were good but they seemed to be missing about 5. Oh well, the 6 you did have were fine.The brother songs & dance numbers worked well. The comedy bits were funny at times but it seemed they were stalling to get ready for the next number. The band was great and since we were seated opposite them, only moderately loud. How musicians or actors could account for failing mikes is beyond me. It was distracting to see actors guessing about their mikes, and they probably could have done without them. This is really my only complaint. It’s really good community theatre, and it looks like an awful lot of work went into this. It is hard to believe that these performers are unpaid and doing it for the fun of it. On this night, everyone who came to watch the play should have had fun and anyone who didn’t wasn’t trying. We certainly enjoyed it- and not just our nephew’s parts:) [POST A COMMENT REGARDING THIS REVIEW]
Unique and Fun Joseph
by YesMan
Thursday, May 20, 2004
5.0
This show seemed to have a bunch of adversarial reviews. I am new to Atlanta. I moved from L.A., where we have seen one too many productions of this show. When I review, I keep in mind the venue and the type of theatre (Community, prof...etc) For a community theatre production, I thought the show was great. I laughed and enjoyed it. I didn't go in the to be a critic. I just went. I think some people went in, pen in hand ready to evaluate and not experience. I try to go into viewing a show with NO expectations. I though the narrator was fun and playful. She threw herself into the role. I'll admit that her performance made the Joseph that evening (Jacob Wood) very lack luster, though he was passable.
The brothers were fun to watch, especially Canaan Days. I liked the over the top Pharaoah. I guess I feel that Pharaoh is not Elvis, but an egyptian Elvis "want to be". At the end, I believe he was supposed to be a loser to Joseph's "winner". Hardie played that off well. If he was trying to do a dead ringer Elvis, he did fail. But-It looked to me like he was going more for a charictature , which worked for me. The band was too loud, but how can you compensate for that in a small space? I felt like some of the Dance and movement were unpolished...but this is community theatre.

The kids did sound tone deaf at times, but I like the fact that they were kids. And every touring production I have seen uses the kids the same. Maybe someone should consider fewer kids with more to do?

I liked the over all direction. It is hard to know what the director did, and when actors begin. But that is as it should be. I felt the "Princess Bride" like fantasy mood he created was wonderful, as was the interplay and jokes. erhaps with a more seasoned cast (he was obviously desperate for brothers)Mr. Hardie would excl even more.
Let's face it, this play isn't Shakespeare, Miller or Oniell. This is a light hearted funny musical. It only runs an hour or so. It isn't meant to be deep or thought provoking...just fun. I think this production does so in a unique way.

[POST A COMMENT REGARDING THIS REVIEW]
Sorry Minotaur, I have to agree with jeneasmith
by ChoralTeacher
Wednesday, May 19, 2004
1.0
Hooray, jeneasmith for telling the truth about this production. I saw this show last weekend and would like to comment that I am not connected to any of the cast members whatsoever. I was looking forward to this show (especially hearing and seeing the children) after reading the reviews here, having seen it performed in a church only once a few years ago. I think there were a few good points and valiant tries by some cast members so I did not give the show a zero.

As a choral teacher of young children for over 12 years, I was wondering the same thing about the children in this show. Why were they even put into the show if they didn't join in? Someone must have told them to sit still, sing loud and not worry about the sound they were producing. Children do not naturally sing that way unless they are directed.

I agree with the comments from jeneasmith about the microphones and the band. The microphones kept cutting off and caused more problems than they did good. The Narrator's mic was too large. The band was too loud for the room. I think the band could have been toned down and the singers would have been heard in that small space. (There were some long pauses between some of the songs. The pauses were awkward and made the singers look very uneasy when they were stuck on stage.)

I also saw the director perform as "Elvis" and could not believe the ad libbing which totally disrupted the show. The audience was not going with the stand-up routine if that's what you call it. It might have worked if you had someone pull the director off with a hook like in the old vaudeville days if you intended the performer to be bad on purpose.

I enjoyed the feeling of the chorus numbers and dances for the most part and the way Joseph and the Narrator kept the show going.

Also, can anyone explain why a "gorilla" took Joseph to Egypt? That was not clear at all. I got most of the other silly gags (even though I thought they were overdone), but I missed the reference to the gorilla in the music. [POST A COMMENT REGARDING THIS REVIEW]
Re: the gorilla by Okely Dokely
I'll field that one. It was a hairy Ishmaelite. There are originally supposed to be more than one, but they only had one. Anyway, the lyrics go "then the Ishmaelites, a hairy crew came riding by." They had to make it singular, of course.

Hope this helps.

-OD
Thanks Okely by ChoralTeacher
Okay, but that seems a bit of a stretch to me. In this day and time with so much unrest among different races especially American vs, Arabic, I'm not sure that comparing a hairy Ishmaelite to a gorilla was wise, certainly not very PC.

I guess it does fit in with some of the other childish things now. It seems like a long way to go for a passing reference in song. I generally like the genre of sketch comedy type "bits" in their place and I think a few instances add interest to a show, but when they become the show and receive most of the comments, it's time to pull back.
apology by jim shorts
As a cast & band member, I really appreciate you coming out and offering feedback. As noted, we have been encountering volume issues on several fronts. I truly apologize that it impacted the entertainment value so harshly for you & jeanasmith. Just curious, though, which night did you see the show?
Answer to Jim Shorts by ChoralTeacher
To answer your question, I saw the show on Saturday night. Since you say you are in the cast and the band, you must be the one who played the mandolin. I wish I could have heard it better, since I love the sound of that instrument which is not the most commonly heard in the string family. If you can control the volume of the amplified music, I think the balance will be better for the other instruments and the singers. Then you can lose those awful mics. I did not mention how nice it was to hear the flute which sounded more like improvisation than a written part, and I also did not mention that the piano and drums were probably about the right level throughout the show. (As a musician, I can truly appreciate the work you have put into this show. I did not hear the wrong chords or missed notes that were mentioned in a previous review.)

I have to say that the music was well played, just over-powering in that small space with the setup you had. Maybe if I had been sitting on the opposite side of the theatre, the balance might have been better.

I really liked the Potiphar number and the calypso number. Both were very nice and well blocked. Also the band seemed to be about the right volume for those two numbers. I'm sorry if I sound critical, but I think the show could have been so much better if there had been less fuss about the glitzy things that really don't matter and if there was more focus on getting the music quality/balance to be better and to be heard consistently. There are proabably some really good voices in this show. It is a shame that they were not able to be showcased better in this show.
thanks again by jim shorts
I do have awesome bandmates. Too bad you were seated so close to us! We knew the arena would be challenging and truly appreciate your response. It's something we can fix!
one more thing by jim shorts
Incidentally, there was no music other than the piano & vocal score, so we had to create & improvise the entire show. We really had to work hard & appreciate your praise.
This great show is worthy of a high ranking
by Minotaur
Tuesday, May 18, 2004
5.0
Okay, I'm a beast of few words, but felt it is necessary to offset the ranking made by the past reviewer. I completely and thoroughly enjoyed the show, and sincerely recommended it to others. And I have no association to the show whatsoever.

Does the moderator of TheaterReview realize the default rating for reviews is set zero? Shouldn't it initially be set to 3 in case the reviewer fails to change the default?

Thom
worstamericangi@hotmail.com
[POST A COMMENT REGARDING THIS REVIEW]
A Reality Check
by jeneasmith
Tuesday, May 18, 2004
0.0
My daughter showed this site to me a few weeks ago so I wanted to see what some of the shows we'd seen lately we're getting appraised as. Wow, to my surprise seeing what's on this show's page! I have to speak up to give the Siskel counter to all the Eberts here it seems.

I'm want to try to be constructive because there was some good to it, but there was a lot more bad I'm sorry to say. I was rather worked up afterwards. Mostly about the money we spent, thank goodness for friends to share laughs about it afterwards with. Yet I’ve still find myself thinking about it, and not in positive ways, which I wish wasn't so. I really do. I'm not sure why the other reviewers had such high praise. Unless something really drastic happened between the shows they saw and the one we saw. I just don’t think it could have been possible that we saw the same show based on most of their comments. I don't know if they were possibly having an off night but there was several things going wrong it seemed. One point I agree with on the other reviewers is that yes, it would be nice to know which of the double-casting roles were being played by whom?

I was glad to see a childrens chorus, but the poor kids, having to only sit there through this whole experience that many times. I do at least commend them for sitting so still the whole time we watched. All were very attentive the entire time, and even though some weren't singing the correct words, all were putting their hearts in it. I only wish they would have been allowed to interact more with the other characters. Bring them into a simple dance number or a scene at some point so there would be more than just marching them in; sitting them down; then marching them off at the end of the act/show. A really huge opportunity missed there! Maybe some of them could have been the other missing five brothers? And for those wondering, I have no children in this show, so I'm not trying to play favorites, just an idea that would have certainly improved it.

As for the band, this was another point the other reviewers were correct. They were definitely an added bonus. My only problem with them was they were way, way too loud in that space, the volume on their speakers/instruments needed to be half of what it was. That would have balanced better to the singers/chorus.

The microphone equipment should have been dropped entirely and force the actors sing on their own. Either everyone should have access to the equipment or nobody should be using it. It was too bad we just couldn't make out what they were actually singing half the time. For those not familiar with the show it was a horrible experience for them. The microphone in front of the Narrator’s face was bigger than her head! It made the actors too dependent on the equipment and when it started having problems, you could see look of confustion/frustration in their eyes, although I that would probably happen to anybody if their equipment stopped working. There was a point during the latter half of the show where the Narrator's mike went down, so she started singing louder to compensate and I actually thought, this is a bit better, I could start to hear her, then the mike came back on and she was Really loud and clear! Perfect! She had volume enough to compete with the band. However, she quickly realized she was 'live' again and dropped her volume down expecting the microphone to do the work for her. So she was back at a mumbling level. Not good at all. Joseph encountered the same problems on occassion. All of the cast, especially any character that touched a microphone, needed to enunciate considerably better than they were. It sounded so sloppy at times.

Costumes were good, someone did a worthy job there. The only other costumes that seemed to have problems were the twin-like dancer girls. One seemed to wear her version of outfits as short as was barely legal (no pun there) and the other would have hers as a more modest mid-length style, they really should have been more alike. A meeting in the middle would have been nice at least.

Lighting was extremely poor overall. While I did enjoy the inventiveness of the disco ball and computerized/spinning lights; the normal lights hardly lit any of the actors at all! They were always in such dark zones! The only real purpose that the lights seemed to serve was to light empty spots on the floor and back wall where none of the actors ever stood. There was even a yellow light that lit the top left corner of the main entrance doorway. Why? Nobody ever stood in that spot and even those that came near were a foot shorter than the spot that light created, it was distracting.

Only when all lights were up and running on big chorus numbers was it more bearable. The glow in the dark paint and lights did add a fun atmosphere but so many scenes were often mis-lit. For instance, there was a scene where the Narrator came in and moved about the stage; there were focused spinning disco lights on the doorway she came in. With the exception of when she came in, she wasn't standing anywhere near it that doorway again. Those spinning lights completely distracted and pulled focus from her constantly throughout the number. And there were many, many times when people were in complete darkness during scenes speaking to each other and the audience. Was the lighting operator just not paying attention? Or was he honestly directed to do that?

I just don't believe how it possibly can be perceived as over-directed, it seemed to me more like a lack of direction. Perhaps it's due to the how the director wanted to please himself more than the audience? He seemed to want to make all his details happen in large quantities that there was often no clear focus of where to watch. I nearly had to laugh because I thought it was sort of like putting kids in front of a loud, noisy, children's television show to keep them pacified for a few minutes while you finish up a couple other chores around the house. And we, the audience, were the kids they were attempting to pacify. I’m not saying the energy needed to drop at all, it just needed to be focused better than it was.

As for the actors themselves, the Narrator, despite most obstacles, was nice, she had a geniune happy glow and looked really good with the kids and audience interaction. And, from what we could make out, had a promisingly nice voice. At times her roaming about the stage had no direction to it. Shouldn’t every movement have a reason?

I don’t even want to get started on the ridiculous ‘intermission’ pre-show food throwing/offering and rock/paper/scissors game that went on for 15 minutes?! I’m not exaggerating on the length of time either. What purpose did that serve AT ALL? Cut it. Have the band start a song or have a doorbell chime call people in. That pre-show idea wasn’t working and most audience people, including myself, were confused by its purpose.

As for Joseph, his voice sounded good from what we could tell, but he seemed a little lost on the stage at times too as to where to move to or having to deal with his microphone on his ever changing outfits. Or on the flip side, his focus would be so completely enthralled with moving to a specific spot on stage that he would fall out of character during those little moments trying to get there. But he did have the nice guy Joseph look so I’m forgiving there.

Commendably, the rest of the cast honestly looked like they were having a good time, except a few hairy dance moments which they still survived! So the big dance numbers were done very well for the most part. The only real critical moments seemed to be the two-dancer girls getting on the side stage with the band that move just seemed out of place. And, because I’m a Monster Elvis fanatic, I have to tell the Elvis that night (which we found out later was the director, oops.), to go home and study some Elvis tapes, with the exception of the crooked smile, all other movements you made were far more Austin Powers and far less Elvis. Elvis is no doubt rolling in his grave right now, and that's several fan's opinions there.

Wow, looking back I wrote quite a bit, thanks for those who stayed with me. I guess to sum up, overall it just looked like it needed more prep-time to me, maybe another couple weeks rehearsal would have given it a good sharp edge. Right now it was more like a wooden spoon what we saw. But I want to commend them all for the effort, because without trying, how can we learn to improve ourselves. I wish this site offered half marks so I could at least acknowledge kudos to children, and actors dancing and smiling despite the obstacles of technology and direction. [POST A COMMENT REGARDING THIS REVIEW]
Jeanasmith 1/2 by jim shorts
Your statements that the ticket price is steep and the band was too loud are your correct ones. I expected people to attend on a mission to dismiss the positive reviews, as seems to typify reviewers on this nutty site, but your review is ridiculous. However, if it’s any consolation for you, I did find reading your review as painful as you found watching the production. For someone who cannot write a paragraph without over half a dozen grammar, usage and syntax errors, you love to write! I’m sure Siskel is “rolling in HIS grave”. But hey, without trying, how can we improve ourselves? Try a dictionary to look up “community theatre”, “grammar-check”, and “spell-check” before slamming. Mr. Director obviously over-estimated his audience. You missed the forest for the trees.
Little Question by Girl
I can’t really comment on the specifics of your review, as I wasn’t able to see the show. I just wanted to ask why you chose to give it a 0 when you named several (I counted at least seven) positive things about the show. You were wholly entitled to your opinion and using whatever grading scale you wanted, I’m just curious. :) I did find your review very informative, and I personally liked the detail you went in to. I imagine that it would be very helpful for the cast and crew. I also wanted to say that I agree with those strange little pre-show things. As I said, I didn’t see this show, but I have never seen an instance of those that I’ve enjoyed, found any use for, or seen as anything more than confusing. As a little side note to jim shorts… I think you were a little harsh in your comment on this review. Come on now, this is just a little community theater review site. Does everyone really need to get their reviews proof read before posting them? Even then, I think this review was written better than average and didn’t deserve any negative comments on the writing style. What does that have to do with anything?
go go go go girl by jim shorts
You are exactly correct about my silly comments.However, reread Jeanasmith carefully, as it is contradiction of the other REVIEWERS, not a review of the play. Jeanasmith set out to prove that the REVIEWERS on this site are wrong, not to watch a play. As stated, he/she was "rather worked up afterwards. So, she tears it apart to prove his/her daughter wrong.Not much help for anyone.
A few issues answered by DavidStephens
So much has already been said about this show on both sides, good and bad about the singing and technical aspects.

Since I was with Joseph originally and had to leave the production to take some time off (7 months of shows with no break does not work for me), there are some things about which I feel I can comment.

I saw the show last Saturday night. I sat on the "band side" for the first act and other side for the second act. The balance was better on the opposite side of the space. I spoke to the musicians and told them about the balance problems and I feel sure they will correct that. As for their work, I know firsthand that much went into enhancing that score since there are no parts written for guitar, flute, drums, etc. only a piano score with vocals. Also some of the music from the show is not in the score and had to be improvised or rewritten from listening to the CD.

I agree that the children should have been more integrated into the show. I told Rob that I felt that way on several occasions from early on. (Nuff said) Also when I left the production their tone was much more childlike. I think that moving them so far back, the change of space, adding instruments, etc. must have made them think they had to sing lounder (which probably was true) and they lost their beautiful sound in that process.

About the lighting... As with almost everyone who comes to work at Cobb Playhouse, the lighting person was a volunteer who worked against huge constraints (lack of time and no budget) to get any lighting at all for the space. He also operates the lights for the show and deserves a great deal of thanks for that. Many lighting folks hang the lights, get the show started and leave the shows to someone else. All of the lighting design is from the director and is not "user error." The Arena theatre lighting grid will not hold any more lights, the power supply will not handle more power, and the equipment that was available for use is outdated and not in good working order.

I also had trouble understanding words sometimes, especially with those singers who had mics. (Anyone who has ever worked with me knows that I stress good diction in all vocals.)

This is a talented cast and I was proud to work with them for the time I was there. Hopefully some good will come from these reviews and some of these things will be addressed. Not everyone is going to like every show. I thought some of the bits were funny and didn't care for others. It is rare that an audience member will love everything seen on stage. Without making choices and trying things, all theatre would become vanilla and the same. Vanilla is good and pleases most, but it's nice to add some other ingredients too. The trick is to know when to stop adding.
I Stand By My Review. by jeneasmith
Personally, I think you responded too quickly and impulsively to my review jim shorts, but that is all right, emotions are what drive us.

I now understand you are one of the band members. Congratulations for your efforts, I never said the band was in poor form, just too loud. I also commend you for now knowing you had to improvise beyond the piano score. And you did well, had you not mentioned that you were never provided scores beyond the piano, none of us would have ever known.

In answers to your question, yes, I referenced the other reviewers a lot in my review so as to really think about what I saw. Having never written one before I used them to educate myself. I don't know if it was the best source in which to do so, but I chose that path. If you read the review carefully, I had mostly noted agreements with their comments. Only one opposite and that was with Okely Dokely's 'over-direction' comment. He was entitled to his opinion, and I to mine. I don't need to explain that further. I did put quite a bit of thought into it, if I would have written it right after I saw the show that evening. It probably would have been a poor review; I wanted to keep it level. I only slipped into bad form a bit around the Elvis concept. I'll admit that.

If you found it bothersome, no one said you ever had to finish reading it; that was your own decision. Having anyone review something you've personally worked on is always tough, but you learn more from mistakes as we all do. And what does my daughter have to do with it? That comment I don't understand.

Thank you Girl for your kind words. I wanted to at least give 1/2 star for the positive areas, but this site doesn't allow for it. I really wish it did. I chose it to balance out the extremely high scores being given. Overall, it was a slightly below average show, and I wanted to overall score to reflect that. Some would/will disagree with that action, but it's the action I took. I stand by it. You're sharp for noticing there was good in the review about the show. Indeed, some cannot see the forest for the trees. It's important to look at both with thoughtfulness.
fair enough by jim shorts
You are correct. Girl counted 7 positive comments. Yet, you admittedly rate the show a 0 to “offset the positive reviews” and manipulate the overall score. Heck, I had might as well rate it a dozen 5s to drive the average back up! Seems to defeat the purpose of a site for constructive feedback and objective opinions. Oh well, I am new to this stuff too, and I guess we could go on & on. I honestly just wish you had enjoyed watching it as much as we did performing it since so many folks really put a lot into it. (I know you did, too $$) Believe me, we will address as many issues as possible to make the show better!
Point of Clarification
by DavidStephens
Friday, May 14, 2004
NR
Although my name is listed in the credits, I did not music direct this show. I did start with the production, but left for personal reasons over a month before the opening. Rob has sent the corrections, but apparently those who monitor this site must make any deletion corrections, and that has not been done as of today. There are also several cast members who are no longer with the show, so check your program at the theatre closely to see who is in the current production.

Kudos to Megan Hodge for stepping in to take my place. Best wishes for continually broken legs to all the cast and crew as you continue in the run. I was happy to read the favorable reviews you have received.

I am anxious to see the many changes that have occurred since I departed. It sounds as if you have a hit on your hands...

As I have not seen this show, I cannot review or rate it and have selected "No Rating" as the score for this posting. For some reason, the code for this type of review is -1, rather than N/A or None. Please do not send me hate mail for trying to rate this show lower than zero. [POST A COMMENT REGARDING THIS REVIEW]
Okay, this is weird ... by DavidStephens
On the main "review" screen, the rating I gave appears appropriately as NR. On the screen that I was submitting on (and the one that appears if you click on my name to see my reviews) the review appears as "-1" which makes no sense to me. (A techno glitch, I assume) Oh well, just wanted you all to know that I am not as crazy as I seem by bringing up that -1 business. I had never seen that discussed here before, but had seen the -1 and wondered about it. Mystery solved!
Enjoyable Evening
by lovinit
Monday, May 10, 2004
4.0
The production of Joseph at the Cobb Playhouse was such an enjoyable evening. We saw the show on Saturday the 8th and it was a great example of community theater. Fun, a couple of flubs here and there(nothing major), and alot of people laying it all on the line for the audience to enjoy. The brothers seemed to be unsure at times on their entrances and the Narrator's body mic was problematic.

Sara Holton and Clint Pridgen both were great as the Narrator and Joseph and had an amazing amount of joy and energy in their characters. The dance numbers were anywhere from great(the western number) to average, but they were done with smiles and lots of fun. Pharoah was funny and did an excellent Elvis. The brother who did the Canaan number(Mike Wasson?) was very good and the whole French schtick made me laugh out loud numerous times. I have seen this show several times and that is the best I have ever seen the Canaan number. The ending with the out of control brother was very well written and perfectly timed.

I enjoyed the live band as it added so much to the production. This is by no means a perfect show. But, it is a great way to spend a weekend evening and leave with a smile on your face. This show was well directed and the lighting problems mentioned in the earlier review seemed to be taken care of. Great job to all at the Cobb Playhouse. Some of the past productions have lacked and you have taken it up a notch. Now keep going and I will keep coming!

B.E. [POST A COMMENT REGARDING THIS REVIEW]
Hardie har har
by Okely Dokely
Sunday, May 9, 2004
4.0
Attention, Cobb Playhouse (or soon-to-be Kennesaw Playhouse, or whatever): hire Rob Hardie to direct everything you ever do from now on. He is fantastic. He brings his unique vision to this all-too-familiar and all-too-overdone show, and breathes the kind of life into the production that would suggest a budding Scott Rousseau. He took the arena space of CPS – where I never thought a musical could be done, by the way – and made it a colorful, sparkling storybook, complete with a full live band and body mics for the two stars.

Congratulations, CPS. You have put on a show that I would recommend without hesitation. You’ve really got something here, and it’s the first time I’ve been able to say that. However, if this incarnation of “Joseph…Dreamcoat” has a fatal flaw, it might be that the show was over-directed. Hardie worked so hard to try to aesthetically please us in every single crevice and corner of the stage at all moments (with the spastic rock-and-roll-show lights and the “choreography on speed”) that it distances us from the characters at times, and we feel very disconnected from them. Because he runs away with his direction at points, his experiment almost shatters the test tubes, but if he were to keep that in check a little more and tone it down, he could quite possibly be one of the best directors in town. The inventive Godspell-esque touches he infuses are hilarious. You really have to be on your toes and pay attention to catch them. Another thing that keeps us from knowing the characters is the lighting. While very impressive for a space like the one they have, the lighting was distractingly dim for most of the show, and made me want to get up and flip a switch somewhere.

It was a little sloppy the night I saw it due to actors nervousness and other kinks opening weekends can bring. The members of the band were all talented musicians, but it sounded like several guitar chords were not right or a little off. This was fairly consistent or else I wouldn’t be mentioning it here. The guitarist hit some downright sour notes during the Potiphar song, and there was one number in Act 2 that I thought was going to self-destruct at any second. Also, the kids chorus and the rest of the ensemble would often be singing different words during the group numbers. But, as I say, it was opening night, and I’m sure these people know about most of these things and they will get worked out.

Something I consistently wish the Cobb Playhouse would do is announce before the show who is playing what role, for the roles that are double-cast. I had to ask somebody, but the Joseph I saw was Jacob Wood, and he did fine in the role. He was very appealing, had that nice guy look, and realized some of the unlikely comic potential of the character, such as imitating the Pharoah. Sara Holton gives an absolutely electrifying performance as the Narrator, and beams with light and life throughout. Ms. Holton embodies everything that I envision about that character, and is as good a Narrator as I’ve ever seen, if not the best (and I’ve seen this at the Fox before). The only thing is: I wish she hadn’t been so conspicuous about turning on and off her body mic. Alan Stacy – perhaps the theatre’s most frequent flyer – is the most effective I’ve ever seen him, and I saw him play Captain Von Trapp, Daddy Warbucks, and Benny Southstreet. He finds his niche very well in the dual roles of Potiphar and one of the brothers, although he still seems to stumble on the lyrics to the group numbers. Speaking of the brothers, I wish all 11 had been present at all times, or at least during “Grovel, Grovel,” where they sing “we are just 11 brothers” and I only counted 6 of them. If they needed more bodies, maybe they could have considered having the two actors playing Joseph to double as a brother the nights they didn’t appear as Joseph. Just a thought.

Over-directed or not, you’ve got a show that you can be proud of. See it for Rob Hardie and Sara Holton. To the Cobb Playhouse: I wish you well. Contrary to what you might have thought, I’m not looking for you to fail. I never was. You’re not quite there yet, but you are closer than you’ve ever been.
[POST A COMMENT REGARDING THIS REVIEW]
Lights... by wolfcatcher
Oops, my bad, had a dimmer pac blow just moments before curtain and no way to fix it. We got it fixed on saturday though. Thanks for the input. BTW, that's more lighting than any of those spaces have ever had.
Ms. Holton by JasonMeinhardt
Okely...I'm wondering if this is the same Sara Holton I knew a few years ago and had the pleasure of working with. If so, not even seeing this show, I can agree with you whole-heartedly. Of what I recall, she had a magnificent voice and the acting talent to back it up. I didn't know she was still acting and if it is the right Sara, then I am very glad to see she is still working. This is the first positive review for this theater I have seen in a while and definitely makes me want to check it out.
Yes, Jason, It is me! by Kartoffela
Four years of training out in Texas did me some good, or so it would seem. I'm embarassed to post here, below reviews of a show I'm in, because I am so proud of how this production has turned out it is hard to be modest! Thanks to the reviewers for the wonderful comments (I'm blushing). The Joseph cast is very talented, which makes the show a pleasure to perform. Hope to see you out at Cobb soon, Meinhardt!
Okay dokey, Mr. Dokely . . . by M Rydzynski
I have not seen 'Joseph' yet, so I cannot comment on this specific show. I must say, however, that I take issue with Okely Dokely as he implies Cobb has just one good director. Recent productions led by David Kronawitter and Jerry Harlow also deserve praise. Having witnessed a number of sub-standard shows at Cobb last year ('The Wizard of Oz' and 'Grease' both come to mind), I can not dismiss Okely's underlying perspective. And there have been several oh-hum shows too ('Love Letters', 'Guys and Dolls'). Even so, there have been some great ones, and until Okely also attends shows by Cobb's other top directors (I cannot find a review that states that he has); his opinion is half-informed and warrants a retraction.

Michael
the Cobb directors I've seen (other than Rob Hardie) by Okely Dokely
Rob Constantine, John Christian, and Tara Simpson Hodges. I didn't outright dislike the shows that Constantine and Hodges were at the helm of - I thought they had some potential, but Hardie is the only excellent director I've seen. I unfortunately haven't gotten to see any others, but I have seen Mr. Kronawitter act before and he was wonderful. I guess it was just how the mop flops, so to speak, that I saw very limited directors. I certainly wasn't sitting around planning on only seeing the mediocre shows at Cobb.
curious by andy
I have performed in a show with David K. before and he is a wonderful actor, although I can not comment on his directing, I have never seen any production he has directed before. I am curious to see a production at cobb, until now, I have not heard great things, but I am looking foward to seeing for myself!
by JasonMeinhardt
Well, Okely...looks like you ruffled some more feathers. :) I just found it funny that at the end of the comment to you, he said your review and opinion is half-informed when he obviously did not look up past reviews (guys & dolls, etc.) before making his comment. Again, I will back Okely up by saying he has always been fair and justified in his reviews and if I understand his review correctly, I believe he was just saying that this director stood out more and left more of a positive imprint on his mind. I am sure, like most that have read the reviews of past productions, we are very happy that this playhouse has a hit on their hands. Congrats to the cast and I hope I have a chance to see this production and despite being picked on by my fiancee, I am going to say that it would be nice to see Ms. Holton again! :)
Other shows by gwavar
From the admin. guy at Cobb Playhouse, regarding the references to others shows that names "Guys and Dolls" and "Love Letters." The latter was not a CP production, but was produced by Big Top Productions (as were "Verdict" and "A Funny Things Happened on the Way to the Forum.") "Love Letters" may not have been a flashy show, but it was a thoughtful one. At any rate, we don't want to try to steal credit for their work.
Important correction for M. Rydzynski by Alan Stacy
Ahem. Okely is "half-informed", M. Rydzynski?? I'd like to correct an error you made in your comments. Love Letters was NOT a Cobb Playhouse production. L.L. was produced by Big Top Productions, a not-for-profit community theater based in Marietta. Big Top works very hard to separate its identity from C.P.S. The only connection we have to the playhouse is a lease agreement. When you are a new, cashstrapped theater company looking for space you sometimes have to make sacrifices. In this case low rent won out over....well, let's just say we had concerns which were proven correct.


I wonder, did you see Love Letters in person or were you passing on the opinion of a friend? When Big Top puts on a show it's name is plastered everywhere. Every guest is to be greeted with "Welcome to the Big Top". Either way, if you'd like more information on Big Top and it's upcoming season feel free to email info@bigtopproductions.com or give me a call if we're acquainted...even if we're not.


BTW, I agree with you. There have been several top notch directors at C.P.S. David directed me in 12 Angry Men last year. I was very impressed. Other very good directors have had their efforts compromised through no fault of their own. If you're a veteran at C.P.S. you'll know what I mean. Having said that, C.P.S. has been given a golden opportunity in Kennesaw with what appears to be excellent funding by the city. I sincerely hope that history doesn't repeat itself as I have many friends who plan to follow the playhouse to Kennesaw. I do not plan to follow, at least anytime soon, but I truly wish them well.

Lights and over direction by DirectorRob
Thanks for the positive nod. Th light situation has ben taken care of. As for "Over-Direction", though I completely see why you could see it that way, there were a bunch of factors. We were switched half way through production from Main stage to the Arena stage. My goal was to get that interaction and character developement done, but then had to work on blocking adjustments. Many cast members are young and I wish I could have spent more time there. I think if I had been able to stay on my original coarse I could have brought the two elements together and the blend would have been nice. But, alas with the obstacles we faced I am very proud...and your review though positive, gives us yet another bar to try and hit. God knows we love the challenge! And this talented cast and band are more than up for it! Thanks for coming to the show and for being honest in all your reviews.
Apologies.... by JasonMeinhardt
I made a grave mistake. In trying to be funny and sarcastic, I may have offended my fiancee by the "picking on me" line in my previous comment. Since I publicly offended, I am publicly apologizing to her, even though she said it was fine. I, in no way, meant that to be insulting or offensive. Anyway, that being said, back to the subject at hand. Mr. Hardie made some great points and knowing what obstacles he faced, I believe praise is even more warranted. Again, I have not seen this show, but knowing Okely like I do, I trust his judgement and opinions. I am glad someone cleared up the Big Top/Cobb Playhouse/etc. thing. I guess the fact that the theater has changed names so many times, I, like others, were confused. But now, it all makes sense. THank you. :)
Okay, I admit I too am half-informed by M Rydzynski
Sorry for the error, Alan. I am confused. I had thought all troupes at Cobb are related. Are you saying Cobb Players, Big Top, Barn-busters and Little Genera are different companies that share space? Where are you going if not with Cobb? With Big Top? Have you heard of Towne Lake? I saw Rumors there last month and this fledgling theater shows promise.

Michael
To Jason by M Rydzynski
I did read Okely's review of 'Guys and Dolls'. I thought his review was too kind. Or maybe I was there on an off night. (Don’t worry, you were fine Alan.) Anyway, as Okely since replied, its how the mop flops. This was my point.

Michael
Clarification by Alan Stacy
Cobb Playhouse has had many name changes and this has caused confusion with the public. CPS was the umbrella name. Within the organization were five theater troupes of which you named three. Big Top, as I mentioned, is an independant community theater and has struggled with the identity separation issue. Your confusion is understandable, but I wanted to make sure the public knew too.

I was a founding member of BTP in December 2002. I joined the board as VP in September of 2003. Although I performed in Verdict and Love Letters (double cast), my primary responsibility as a board member is the business side of theater. As for performing, I'll go wherever a good opportunity presents itself.

One more thing, I've never had a problem with Okely's criticism of my performances. In every instance he's been factually correct. No one knows better than I do when I make a mistake.
To Michael by JasonMeinhardt
I couldn't agree more with the saying. Are you an actor in the area? I apologize, but haven't heard the name before if you are. I was just curious if I had seen you in anything.
whoa...where to start by Okely Dokely
Jason: yes, I did stir up quite a response once again. It often happens at the most unpredictable times. Remember when I struck a chord with Dedalus in my review of The Scarlet Pimpernel: in concert? Oh, and I have been reprimanded for mentioning that people are pretty/lovely/cute/charming/could melt a cheese sandwhich, etc. in my reviews. She really liked that you publically apologized, so I now publically apologize to my loved one, too. I wonder if she'll get mad if I mention the good-looking guys when I go see LVC at Onstage Atlanta.

To Rob and the lighting guy: thanks for your responses. It helped me to see where you guys were coming from, and why certain stuff happened the way it did.

To Alan: you have been, like, the best sport ever about all this. I know I've picked on you a lot in my past reviews, and I appreciate you not lynching me when I came to see Forum, even though you knew I was Okely Dokely. You were very friendly and cordial, and I thank you.
To Jason by M Rydzynski
I’m a retired federal solicitor and an avid theater and opera patron. I heard about this web page from a playbill. I enjoy comments I find here as the local papers do not adequately cover the community theater scene. Oh no, I do not perform myself. Too scared, to be honest. Not of the audiences, but of the rejection! You people are brave souls. Maybe I will post a review or two someday, but I have neither the proper training nor background. I struggle with dilemma. But I do have opinions (just ask Mr. Dokely!) and plenty of time.

Enough about me. Have I seen you in anything?

Michael
To Michael.... by JasonMeinhardt
I took the liberty of moving this conversation to the forum, since it has gotten off the subject of "Joseph", etc. Hope you will join me there.


[REVIEW THIS PRODUCTION]

CLOSING SOON
Crossing Delancey
by Susan Sandler
Alliance Theatre Company
NOW PLAYING
Another Naughty and Nice Holiday Cabaret
by Lynna Schmidt
Academy Theatre
Cardboard Piano
by Hansol Jung
Actor's Express
Crossing Delancey
by Susan Sandler
Alliance Theatre Company
Midnight at the Masquerade
by The Murder Mystery Company
The Murder Mystery Company in Atlanta
Miss Nelson Is Missing!
by Joan Cushing
Georgia Ensemble Theatre
Murder on 34th Street
Agathas: A Taste of Mystery
The Gift of the Magi 2.0
by N. Emil Thomas
Actors Theatre of Atlanta

©2012 TheaterReview.com. All rights reserved.