SUBMIT ABOUT FAQ
PEOPLE COMPANIES VENUES
LOGIN NEW USER PRODUCTIONS
REVIEWERS SIX DEGREES
A User-Driven Site for Theater in Atlanta, Georgia
Alice in Wonderland
CATEGORY : COMEDY CHILDREN


COMPANY : Kudzu Children's Theater [WEBSITE]
VENUE : Kudzu Playhouse [WEBSITE]
ID# 974

SHOWING : July 08, 2004 - August 07, 2004

[REVIEW THIS PRODUCTION]

PRODUCTION DESCRIPTION


CAST & CREW LIST
Cast Jason Meinhardt
Cast Jeff Adler
Chesshire Cat Melissa Michele Goodfellow
Mad Hatter/Caterpillar/Gryphon/Tweedlede Brian Mann
King of Hearts David Olson
Knave Lindsay Olson
Rabbit and Doormouse Stacey Serowitz
white rabbit and dormouse Stacey Serowitz
Queen of Hearts Makini Slaughter
Click to Submit Cast & Crew Info for this production
REVIEWS

[REVIEW THIS PRODUCTION]

great show! must see!
by babaykakes74
Thursday, August 5, 2004
5.0
i saw this show 2 weekends ago and it was sooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo great it is a must see!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!all the characters were so good and funny and kept me laughing. if i had to pick 1 great thing about it i would not be able to bc it was soooooooooooooo great. I thought these characters the cheshire cat was soooooooooooooo funny and i thought alice was also great!
The director (Jason Meinhardt)did a great job directing the play! Kudos to all for a great show! [POST A COMMENT REGARDING THIS REVIEW]
UMM i'm not quite sure about this play.
by Sheepish
Sunday, July 25, 2004
3.0
I must say that when i watched this show i laughed, but it is definately not the best show kudzu has done. Maybe it was just the script cos i think the cast did a remarkable job. Very funny! Unfortunately there were some characters i couldnt hear. And near the end the show seemed to drag and i got tired. Other than that, dee and dum constantly made me laugh and the queen too. She surprised me sometimes with her anger. I jumped a couple of times. Unfortunately the king was up to my expectations and neither was alice or the cat. The cat wasn't cat-like, which im sure you were going for but the acting could be slightly improved. Alice was ok. She put me off with her *english* accent. Unless it wasn't english. I don't know but it was pretty bad if you ask me. Overall it was good. It could have been picked up and moved along faster but it was good. I congratulate each and every one of you. [POST A COMMENT REGARDING THIS REVIEW]
thanx by quadruple_threat
Sheepish.. so nice that you at least have some positive things to say about a few members in the cast. You words are appreciated!
thanx by quadruple_threat
Sheepish.. so nice that you at least have some positive things to say about a few members in the cast. You words are appreciated!
Spite
by HaloMaker
Saturday, July 17, 2004
NR


I have given this show an NR because I am connected to one of the cast members. If you are one of those who feel I shouldn't even comment then do not read the rest of this. But I can not let this go. I believe a Director who uses phrases like "actors with no conviction" appears to lack conviction in teaching and directing young actors himself. I do not believe the real Dominique Serrand would give a review like this but if he has I would like him to meet my little actor and hear how much conviction is in her soul. I would like to speak to this director and I wish he would give us all a chance to to discuss non equity children's theater with him. This could not be a director of children's theater. I will be giving the real Dominique a call and I will be back to let everyone know if this was a legit review. We have gotten way too much negative P.R. and I feel negative press is worse than no press for these actors. If he is Dominique, one would have to take his review with a grain of salt, since it is somewhat of a conflict of interest when he himself is a director of children's theater. The chldren/teens in this play were casted by Jason and he directed them to play their characters exactly the way they played them. To not go overboard with the except for the mad hatter who did play his part out there because he is the mad hatter. Chesire cat played her role like a teasing female cat, and Alice played her role like a child who just dropped into a world of contradictions. They were told not to overact but be themselves and enjoy doing it. I know these kids and they do enjoy it, however, it's easier to get into their parts when their audience is open to the creative changes and shows a little emotion themselves. And most directors know this. I have seen this show a number of times and the children in the camps or thursday and friday have loved it each time. That is the audience that this play is directed for. After the show the children ran up and hugged Alice and chesire cat and got auto graphs of the actors... they loved it. Dominique, why don't you come on a thursday and watch the campers reations and see how the actors relate to them. You did not give the a fair review, I am sure they would like to meet you and hear your constructive critcizm. [POST A COMMENT REGARDING THIS REVIEW]
Reserve tickets by HaloMaker
This is HaloMaker again. I made a number of typo's and also forgot tosuggest to Dominique to reserve his ticket in advance because thursday show are always sell outs and friday is getting close to selling out, too. Alos I titles my review "Spite" and forgot to tie it together with why I chose spite as my title. The bad press has felt like a lot of people out there are full of spite and I do not get why. This is children's theater and non equity , too, so why so much cruelness. I had to type my review very fast because I had earlier tried to send it and it got wiped out twice. Sorry for the mistakes.
Mr. Serrand.... by JasonMeinhardt
Halo, I too, wondered this. I looked Mr. Serrand up and noticed that he is held in quite high regard in the country's theatre community and strongly doubt that a man like that could post a review like this person did or even had TIME to. As for telling the truth as to who he really is, all i have to say is, look up Mr. Serrand's theater that he is artistic director of and notice the running dates of his latest show (which he directed) and you will notice that it opens the same day this person claims to have seen Alice. Most directors I know (especially of Mr. Serrand's stature) usually prefer to be at the opening of their shows. :)
DISASTROUS!! A MUST NOT SEE!! OUCH!! :-(
by feather
Thursday, July 15, 2004
2.0
I just got back from it, and it was DISASTROUS!! I dont know any of hte people in the play, but that doesnt change a thing...hahaha Sadlissa was the dumbist cat i have EVER seen!! and lindsad (she is only in for for 12 weeks, filling in for darkster) was yuckie...lol and sadsee who was hte doormouse and chessire cat is dumb too....(and sadsees bio is the dumbist bio i have ever seen;)) uhhhh....yes....the day i went the audience was dead, which should really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really tell you something!! [POST A COMMENT REGARDING THIS REVIEW]
I will just say this: by Okely Dokely
I wish other theatres would get as much press on this site as Kudzu does.
You have to be kidding.... by JasonMeinhardt
Well, thank you for such an informative review. You obviously know what you're talking about. Especially saying that you know noone in the show and yet it seems as though you know some of these people a little too well. Forgive me if I do not take this review seriously. I wouldn't say anything if it were a true review, but this was just ridiculous, and yes, I will admit, a little humorous. I'm sure the cast won't take this too seriously because I definitely didn't. Good form.
you wasted your time writing this review. by andy
I have to agree with Jason, this was pretty humorous. Don't really know what day you saw this show. I have tried to go twice and they have been more than sold out, not even room for the directors wife. Have you seen alot of dumb cats? Please understand that when you use about 26 really's in your review, you cannot be taken seriously.
Helping gettig your facts straight by Dramabeauty22
Yes I am in the cast, and no I am not going to take this review seriousley at all! One thing I noticed, is that "feather" just took "Heather's" review and changed the names of the people, and the fabulous to disastrous. The second thing I noticed is that "Sadlissa," a.k.a Melissa, was the CHESHIRE CAT, and "Sadsee," a.k.a stacey, was the doormouse and the WHITE RABBIT(not the CHESHIRE CAT), and "lindsad," a.k.a lindsay, is filling in for "Darkster," a.k.a mark, for 2 weekends not 12 weeks! Well, I think thats it, I just wanted to inform you a little bit feather! :) By the way thank you for the laugh!
Interesting by JasonMeinhardt
Good observation. I didn't catch that. That makes me laugh even more. :)
Funny, but ... by Minotaur
Why the zero rating? Why do people have be so cruel on this website? We're talking about kids, for goodness sake.

~Thom
by andy
Because kids are cruel to other kids, and it is obvious this review was written by a kid
"DISASTROUS" REVIEW!!!!! A MUST NOT READ!!! by Parrott65
I really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really believe this reviewer rides the short bus to school....
Funny by JasonMeinhardt
Nice comment, Parrot. What's sad is that you know this person is probably a kid that we see around the theatre a lot. Makes you feel good, huh?
Bad press is still press by jgreen
I tell you Oakley... It doesn't matter what kind of press it is. Even though you have these people that put "fake" bad reviews up for shows over and over again it raises curiosity. I want to go check this out now and I don't even have kids. It makes you wonder sometimes.
Uncle Boozy to the Rescue by Boozy McLiverdamage
As my Mexican cousing Tecquilla McMontezumasrevengedamage once said, "Hay Dios Mio!" We all know if a show is going to be performed in the ATL, then chances are it might get reviewed, be it a children's show or an adult performance (NO, not that kind of adult...perverts!!). Of course we're free to say what we want, but I have a hard time believeing that a grandparent would get on this sight just to bash a kids show (after all, when would he/she find time to do so in between trips to the bathroom....think about it folks!!!). Also, what's to gain by trashing a kids show? Is it worth ruining a kids first experience because someone has an ax to grind? No one is arguing with your right to say it, might I suggest keeping it more constructive (hey, a critique on a critique!). In fact, I just received the email:

Dear Boozy,

Who has time to sit around their parents basement to bash a kids show?

Signed,

Star Trek fans

Wow, there's a crackback if I've seen one. With people like feather going around a pulling a "you know who," the credibility of this site is sinking fast. We are getting away from the true meaning of this site, which is to share recipes. If you do not have a recipe to share, move on. This site is used for learning and growing and sharing recipes and gossip like little old ladies. Also, my last thought. Let's not give an a** like feather or whomever any more ammo. They have zero credibility (like a certain unnamed a** from a few months ago), so let's not give them any (yours truly included). With that, let the recipe swap begin!

I'm out!

Boozy in Roswell
Feather Cake by Minotaur
This is a delicious, easy to make cake with a lovely texture, best when topped with cream cheese icing.

1/4 cup butter, softened
1/4 cup shortening
1 1/2 cups white sugar
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
3 eggs
2 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 1/2 teaspoons ground nutmeg
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 cup buttermilk

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Grease a 9x13 inch baking dish.

In a large bowl, cream together the butter, shortening, and sugar until light and fluffy. Beat in the eggs one at a time, mixing well after each one. Combine the flour, baking powder, baking soda, nutmeg, and salt; stir into the creamed mixture alternately with the buttermilk until just blended. Pour the batter into the prepared pan.

Bake for 40 minutes in the preheated oven, until the cake springs back when pressed lightly in the center. Cool completely before frosting.

~Thom
........ by heather
Someone on AOL just instant messaged me telling me they thought I put up this review, which first, I didnt even read it until they told me, and 2nd that makes no sense that it could be me, unless u count the name feather, which some people have nicknamed me at kudzu. I doubt I know anyone here though...and I doubt anyone even thought it was me, which makes no sense...soo...yea..ok then...
Pound cake with Rum? Yum... by googly110
If you ask me, it is funny yet immature...I agree with all of you that it is a kid. Anyone from kudzu go to see the show that couldve posted that?

Recipes... I am just going to put in a random one, as I dont know what recipes you may be wanting Boozy!

Brown Sugar-Rum Pound Cakes
1/2 cup chopped pecans
1 1/2 cups butter, softened and divided
1 (16 ounce) package light brown sugar
3/4 cup sugar, divided
4 eggs
2/3 cup milk
1/4 cup dark rum
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
3/4 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
2 tablespoons light rum
2 tablespoons water
Sweetened whipped cream (optional)


Directions:
1 GREASE and flour 2 (6-cup) Bundt pans or 2 (9- x 5-inch) loaf pans, and sprinkle evenly with pecans.
2 BEAT 11/4 cups butter at medium speed with an electric mixer about 2 minutes or until creamy. Gradually add brown sugar and 1/4 cup sugar, beating 5 to 7 minutes. Add eggs, 1 at a time, beating just until yellow disappears.
3 COMBINE milk, dark rum, and vanilla.
4 COMBINE flour, baking powder, and salt; add to butter mixture alternately with milk mixture, beginning and ending with flour mixture. Beat at low speed just until blended after each addition. Pour batter evenly into prepared pans.
5 BAKE at 325 degrees F for 50 to 55 minutes or until a wooden pick inserted in center comes out clean. Cool in pans on wire racks 15 minutes; remove from pans.
6 BRING remaining 1/2 cup sugar, remaining 1/4 cup butter, light rum, and 2 tablespoons water to a boil in a saucepan, and boil, stirring occasionally, 3 minutes. Drizzle over warm cakes, and cool completely on wire racks.

Sounds pretty good to me:)
Enjoyable.
by SCrowder04
Monday, July 12, 2004
5.0
I have to agree with a previous review that this show is not necessarily for younger children. But I am familiar with the original Carroll book(s) and I don't think that younger children would fully understand it either. I enjoyed the version at Kudzu playhouse for a couple of reasons. It didn't sugar coat the underlying theme of the story. Let's all remember what Mr. Carroll was on when he wrote the book. With that said, I loved the choice of music for this production.

My only problem was it was a little disjointed. But I do not believe this is the director's fault. I could be wrong, but I believe that would be with the script. I agree with the other review when it was said the production just stopped abruptly. But I cannot fault anyone but the script's adaptation.

The bottom line is, I had fun, my kids had fun, and it seemed that everyone around me was having fun; especially the kids performing the show. Isn't that what children's theatre is about? I do not agree with commenting on the talent of young actors in this type of open forum. The only two negative reviews rudely, I think, are commenting on the talent of children under the age of 10 (there are a few in this show over the age of 18, I believe, but I am concerned for those younger. The older actors, I am sure, have thicker skin). I am certainly not trying to start more of a fight here, but I think children of this age should be encouraged to keep doing this, to have fun, and to improve. Telling them that they don't belong in a show and that there are more talented kids in Atlanta does nothing but undermine the reason Kudzu puts children into their children's shows. I think the entire cast should be applauded for doing what they do, as should any cast of children performing full length shows for other children. [POST A COMMENT REGARDING THIS REVIEW]
A riddle with little focus
by Dominique Serrand
Monday, July 12, 2004
1.0
Midway through Lewis Carroll's "Through the Looking Glass", the title character cheerily tells Humpty Dumpty, who is sitting on a Dumpster, "It seems to fill my head with ideas, but I don't know what they are."

I second that thought throughout Kudzu's poorly constructed children’s production of "Alice in Wonderland", there is an embedded confession about this simultaneously inspiring and frustrating staging that goes everywhere and nowhere at once.

Director Jason Meinhardt's riddling take on Carroll's classic adventure story is filled with dreamy inventiveness yet awkward stagecraft. Meinhardt attempts to utilize stage tricks and a facile play on language to take us, indeed cleverly, into a richly colored wonderland.

But this production is so stuffed with creative ideas that it lacks focus or even clear direction. It's difficult to know what to make of a jerky staging that leans heavily on stage tricks to the detriment of good storytelling.

Even worse, "Alice" suffers from a poor ensemble with little talent or conviction. Certainly there are more talented kids in Atlanta that this listless, quiet and meek list than those who performed before me this weekend.

Okay, yes. I'll admit "Alice" is packed with flashes of the theatrical genius that has made Meinhardt an important figure at Kudzu over the past few years. But, alas, the production does not breathe well, rushing -- no, panting -- from one wowing moment to the next. When it suddenly ends, it feels like a crash, rather than an awakening from a Wonderland dream. [POST A COMMENT REGARDING THIS REVIEW]
by andy
This is a children's show, meant to entertain children. It is obvious that this is a review posted by an adult considering your vast knowledge of the the thesaurus. Did you bring your kids to this show? We are talking about a kids show people! with child actors. I doubt the majority of these kids have had serious training, so give them a break! As adults, and as an actor myself, we can certainly take criticsm. If we can't then we are in the wrong business. But to ridicule a kid or teenager for their acting, I think they have enough insecurities at that age. As for the negative comments on Mr.Meinhardt's directing, he's a big boy, he can take it.But leave the kids alone. As for Googely's comment, I also do not think children's shows should be up for review. Mrs. Meinhardt
question by andy
One question for Mr. Serrand, haven't you directed Alice in Wonderland yourself?
If so... by JasonMeinhardt
I second that question about you, Mr. Serrand. If you are, indeed, the Dominique Serrand that is Artistic Director of a well known theatre company, then I feel extremely humbled. I appreciate your comments and if you are THE Mr. Serrand, then I welcome any advice, etc. from you. I guess we just got a little upset about thinking that some of these young actors could read these remarks and have negative consequences instead of it encouraging more. I await your answer. :)
For Older kids, but i still sggest going to see it!
by googly110
Sunday, July 11, 2004
4.0
I really did like this show. I would give it a 5, except for that it isnt for younger children. They would enjoy the basic plot, yes, but they dont get any of the adult humour, which makes up most of the play. It is still a childrens show, and I still suggest going to see it, but for children wise, its not the best Kudzu Playhouse has put on. I have become very interested in Kudzu Playhouse, after I saw The Little Mermaid and A Midsummer Night's Dream, and I plan on going to see more shows at Kudzu Playhouse too. The kids in this play were very talented for the most part. (About 1 or 2 kids in the show did over-act, but it didnt effect the show much..Unless you are a theater-lover like I am, you might not notice it!) I do though, have to say they should of casted more kids for this show, as most of the actors had 3 or 4 roles to play, which in my opinion sort of lost the "dream" of the show, if that makes any sense. I still enjoyed it very much, and if anyone from the cast is reading, give yourself a pat on the back for all of your hard work! [POST A COMMENT REGARDING THIS REVIEW]
HILARIOUS!!A MUST SEE!! HAHAHA!!!:-D
by heather
Saturday, July 10, 2004
5.0
I just got back from it, and it was HILARIOUS!! I do know lots of hte people in the play, but that doesnt change a thing...hahaha Melissa was the coolest cat i have EVER seen!! and lindsay (she is only in for for 2 weeks, filling in for mark) was cool...lol and stacey who was hte doormouse and chessire cat is aweosme too....(and staceys bio is the best bio i have ever seen;)) uhhhh....yes....haha though the flour that hte cook kept shaking did get a little annoying, but it added a cool effect....the day i went (today..which is saturday) the audience was dead, and i may of loked wierd craking up the whle show, but the show really is funny...which i have said about a bijillion times...sorry i think i have a diseae where i repeat myself...anyways...aweomse job!!! it was really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really really funny!!


YOU GOTTA SEE IT!!! [POST A COMMENT REGARDING THIS REVIEW]
sry by heather
Sorry about all the typos..i have typing issues as well as a repeating disease
whoops by heather
wait..I meant Stacey ist he coolest white rabbit and Melissa is the coolest chesshie cat! sorry! (there is no other chesshire cat them Melissa...shes too cool to be any other person!)


[REVIEW THIS PRODUCTION]

CLOSING SOON
Into the Woods
by James Lapine (book), Stephen Sondheim (songs)
Act 3 Productions
Laughter on the 23rd Floor
by Neil Simon
Lionheart Theatre Company
Rising Stars
Capitol City Opera Company
NOW PLAYING
Another Naughty and Nice Holiday Cabaret
by Lynna Schmidt
Academy Theatre
Cardboard Piano
by Hansol Jung
Actor's Express
Crossing Delancey
by Susan Sandler
Alliance Theatre Company
Into the Woods
by James Lapine (book), Stephen Sondheim (songs)
Act 3 Productions
Laughter on the 23rd Floor
by Neil Simon
Lionheart Theatre Company
Midnight at the Masquerade
by The Murder Mystery Company
The Murder Mystery Company in Atlanta
Miss Nelson Is Missing!
by Joan Cushing
Georgia Ensemble Theatre
Murder on 34th Street
Agathas: A Taste of Mystery
Rising Stars
Capitol City Opera Company
The Gift of the Magi 2.0
by N. Emil Thomas
Actors Theatre of Atlanta

©2012 TheaterReview.com. All rights reserved.